Our Song - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Our Song Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Renee Schonfeld
Common Sense Media
July 2, 2013
Honest, positive look at urban teens with mature themes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Betsy Bozdech
September 1, 2006
At times, Our Song feels like a documentary, never once seeming forced or far-fetched.
| Original Score: 3/4
John Esther
Pasadena Weekly
December 13, 2002
Jim McKay's "Our Song" is a bittersweet reverberation to the brittleness of friendship.
Full Review
Heather Wadowski
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
It's a film that tries so hard at being lifelike that it forgets to be entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
January 6, 2002
It's an astonishing movie, with a real-life feel.
| Original Score: 5/5
Ted Murphy
December 21, 2001
While there are some minor flaws in "Our Song," it is a rich work that introduces three extraordinary young talents and marks a maturation in filmmaker [Jim] McKay.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
October 16, 2001
A humbling, poignant alternative to the movies about teenagers we usually see. This one isn't about a party. It's about life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
September 21, 2001
Captures the ups-and-downs in the lives of three New York high school girls with surprising delicacy and honesty.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Philip Wuntch
Dallas Morning News
September 20, 2001
It says something positive about human resilience under duress.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
September 14, 2001
A truly fresh performance can do wonders for a movie, and Our Song has three of them.
Steve Schneider
Orlando Weekly
September 13, 2001
Slow, talky and ultimately ambiguous, the film remains watchable thanks to the effectiveness of its three leads.
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
September 13, 2001
Anyone who understands the subtle shadings of friendship will appreciate Our Song's realistic slice of teen life.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
September 13, 2001
That rare thing, an American movie that looks at teenagers' life with sensitivity and empathy and humanity.
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
September 7, 2001
Beautifully illuminates that poised-on-the-edge period of adolescence and the sad weight of leaving childhood behind.
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
September 6, 2001
It's not clear who is telling whose story, but it's obvious this song belongs to them all.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
August 30, 2001
After watching Our Song, we leave with a very potent sense that these characters have become so real, they continue living beyond the close of the movie.
| Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
August 21, 2001
The power of Our Song finally comes through in its dozens of mesmerizing moments.
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
August 21, 2001
Confirms [McKay's] gift for catching ordinary folk in authentic terms on film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Rod Armstrong
August 15, 2001
An honest and compelling movie about the friendship between three girls in a high school band.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
August 10, 2001
We come to care about the characters, and at the end we appreciate having had the opportunity to see the world through their eyes.
Page 1 of 3