Outrageous Fortune - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Outrageous Fortune Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Super Reviewer
September 6, 2010
Extremely funny! Middler and Long are a great duo in this movie, and I just loved the story, it's fantastic. I love this movie, and I highly recommend it.
Super Reviewer
February 1, 2010
A fairly good comedy has a few laughs.
Super Reviewer
January 7, 2010
Hadn't seen this since I was a kid, barely remembered it. Pretty funny, if unlikely movie. In the 80s, you really to suspend your disbelief in order to watch something like this. lol
Super Reviewer
½ July 29, 2007
Bette and Shelley fall for the same guy, who has been dating them both. Good cast.
Super Reviewer
May 17, 2007
One of those really dumb 80s comedies where they obviously cast Long and Midler first, and then worried about the script afterward. Some of the bickering is mildly amusing, but there are much better uses of your time.
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2007
Prissy Shelley Long and foul-mouthed Bette Midler discover they have some things in common: they don't like each other, they both shared the same foreign-spy lover and they're both funny.
Super Reviewer
½ December 25, 2007
Super Reviewer
½ April 11, 2007
Bette Midler's funniest movie. She and Shelley Long are two actresses who somehow get involved in spies and goverment conspiracies. It's an unbelivable situation but funny as hell. Bette and Shelley make a great team and I was suprised they didn't make anymore films together. A really good comedy that lets the Divine Miss M do her thing.

Lauren: "Because everything that comes out of your mouth is pornographic."
Sandy: "That is a fucking lie."
½ March 5, 2015
This is going to be an extremely subjective review... This film brought me to another time and place... Another universe. I felt like I was watching this film with Courtney. I got the sense she would've been as amused as I was watching it... And for those 100 or so minutes there I was again laying on the couch, her lying against me. I truly ended up laughing much more than I ever expected to. Sure, the film is dated and nonsensical... complete with a style of acting that has fallen far out of vogue... Racial sensitivities galore (that we rightfully evolved from)... But no one else is telling stories like this anymore. Writing classes teach against many scenes in this film, but somehow it works as a nice throwback. But again, for me personally, it reminded me of better days and better lives. What could've been? Maybe what should have been...
½ May 22, 2007
Kind of funny film but it ruined it for me when George Carlin played the "hippie indian" and he said "genuine indian shit". Isn't racism funny?!
May 17, 2007
I think I started watching this once, but got annoyed by Midler's bitching and Long's blonde moments and turned it off.
April 27, 2007
I was nearly a third of the way through this movie before I decided it was not a spoof on another film. I found it funny, and with Bette Midler, Shelley Long and George Carlin in the film, it was doomed to be funny. Good flick for the whole family.
February 3, 2007
This movie was HILARIOUS! I like the part when they're at the police station and Bette Midler makes the Needle Nick comment LOL
October 13, 2015
A stellar cast delivers on material that easily could have fallen flat in less capable hands. The plot is mostly absurd but with talent like Bette Midler, Shelley Long and Peter Coyote involved it is able to rise up and make one hell of a funny buddy comedy. George Carlin gives a memorable performance as well.
April 9, 2015
These two work pretty well together even if the laughs are intermittent but really funny.
March 28, 2015
One of my favorite comedies ever! Bette and Shelley make an extremely funny duo in this well scripted comedy
½ August 23, 2012
I can't imagine that Bette Midler and Shelley Long did not get along at all during this film. They fake chemistry well, I must saw one of my favorite movies of the 80's.
A good laugh... .. I can't imagine what there is not to like about this movie. Solid 9 out of 10.
November 28, 2011
great movie, i watched it because i love shelley long, ever since Troop Beverly Hills, what a great 80's comedy.
December 9, 2010
One of my guilty pleasures.
June 22, 2007
Bette Midler and Shelley Long play two total opposites who hate each other. When they discover they both have the same boyfriend, they set out to find him, with just about everyone in pursuit of them. Basic comedy starts off good, but gets silly and uninteresting as movie progresses. Midler and Long have decent chemistry, but it is not enough to make this film real success.
Page 1 of 9