Opening

—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
33% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
80% The Congress Aug 29
72% Life Of Crime Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
39% If I Stay $15.7M
19% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

—— The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

The Passion of the Christ Reviews

Page 1 of 1287
Christian C

Super Reviewer

October 27, 2012
Unnecessary and gimicky. Is speaking throughout the movie in Latin and Aramaic somehow supposed to make the viewer feel closer to Christ? I wouldn't expect much more from a director with a bias against the people depicted in the film.
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

July 26, 2012
Criative and the best work by Mel Gibson in direction. We could see that the actors, and Gibson and Fitzgerald are a moving and an unique portrait of Jesus Christ. I understand and support the criative expression of filmmakers, after all, it's the seventh art, I also understand, what Gibson try recreate and show to the audience. But when, he show Passion's message, all the gore violence obscure Jesus' last hours and Mel's attempt of evangelize flaw. The Passion of the Christ, it's one of the most controversal and hard-to-watch movie that I ever saw. Rotten.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

March 25, 2012
Passion of the Christ is actually an average film with good acting. I enjoyed the film, but didn't think it was a masterpiece. Jim Caviezel portrays Jesus Christ, and gives us a great performance. However the film is very violent as it shows the final hours in the life of Jesus Christ.. Compared to Gibson's Braveheart, The Passion of the Christ, this film is not as great as that one. Passion of the Christ plays out like a two hours torture flick more than anything. The film doesn't offer anything new in terms of telling is Jesus Christ's final hours, as we've all heard what happened a million time over. The cast do a great job, and the film is harrowing and difficult to watch. I liked the film, but I don't see it as a flawless film like so many people have seen this. The Passion of the Christ is a good film, but I felt that it was a hard film to watch because of the graphic violence. Despite my opinions on this film, I thought this was a well acted and directed film. For those looking for a good historical film, then this is your film. Passion of the Christ is a hard film to watch that is brilliantly acted, but as a whole, it didn't really stand out as an epic film. The film is worth watching, but like I previously stated, is one that will make you feel uncomfortable due to how violent it is. Not one of Mel Gibson's best films, but definitely not his worst, Passion of the Christ is a film that will have an effect on you no matter what religious convictions you have.
Albert K

Super Reviewer

September 18, 2010
Though I understand that "The Passion of the Christ" isn't exactly an accessible movie that delves into the reasons why Jesus endured what He went through, it convincingly shocks many audience members out of, what we conceive to be, a tired old repetitive story. This is the story of the Lord, Jesus Christ, who endured one of the worst and most excruciating pain for mankind in order for us to be back with God. Mel Gibson thrusts the audience to true authentic realization of what Jesus went through. What I particularly liked about the movie were glimpses of events before the crucifixion that showed Jesus' character. It's cool to see Him in live-action form that is backed up by Scripture.
Joe M

Super Reviewer

January 5, 2012
Every christian in america was guilted into loving this movie. In reality it's nothing more than a well made slasher movie that focuses on all the wrong aspects of the story and leaves the audience feeling pressured that if they don't say they loved this movie then they hate Jesus.
Zach B

Super Reviewer

October 21, 2011
Before I deal with the hate mail I will get for giving this film such a low rating, I want to explain that this has nothing to do with me not being religious. In fact, one of the reasons why I watched this film is because I do have respect for religion due to how it has convinced so many people to follow it's teachings and ways of life. The most beloved and controversial religion is Catholicism and it is all due to the man that this film is about: Jesus Christ. Jesus was a man who preached about world peace, love for everyone, and to fight and die for what you believed in. If you are going to make a film about Jesus, you make a film ABOUT what he was/ is (depending on what you believe) all about. Not about his death. Yes, his death was important due to that is what freed us from the chains of sin, but you just don't make a film about that. The reason why is because you go from making a film about his pain into a torture porn version of the story of Jesus that, is just not that good.
As I have said, I am not that big on religion in terms of what I believe in. Yes, I did for about most of my childhood go to a Christian school where I had the story of Jesus shoved down my throat, so I am aware of the story. Back in 2004 when I first heard of this film, I was a bit skeptic because I did not want to even know about a film that glorified (or, in this case, gorified) Jesus. Well, a few years later in 2011 I decided to sit down and give this film a chance. I have seen many grotesque and violent films, but this is a film that has destroyed any message it tried to have and has turned it into a celebration of extreme horror and torture porn films.
Mel Gibson is, without a doubt, a talented actor but a terrible director. I understand that he is a devout Catholic and believer of God (and has been known to make that public). For his love and belief in religion, I praise him for that. But, it is hard to do in this film when he clearly has the focus on the torture and nothing else. He has said that the point of this film was to show people what Jesus went through during each of the fourteen stages so that people will know what he died for. Now, that is a decent idea for a plot of a film if only we were able to focus less on the brutality and more on the meaning. Mel, you had great intentions, but you destroyed them with the desire to show blood, guts, and gore.
Well, that is all I really have to say about this film overall. It basically had it's heart in the right place along with having acting that is superb and make-up artists that makes everything real to the eyes, plus sounds that will make you feel like you were there, but it just fails so much as the graphic violence over shadows the true meaning of the film. I say that if you are interested in the story of Jesus and if you are interested in what he died for, watch Martin Scorsese's The Last Temptation of Christ and not this film. Or, just read the Gospels. But leave this film alone.
Eric A

Super Reviewer

September 30, 2011
Okay first of all, let me just say that I feel weird for reviewing this movie and giving it stars. Putting love and emotion for Jesus Christ aside and looking at the film for its technical aspects.....it is very powerful. The acting, sets, and camera angles capture the audience and grips them throughout the entire film. As sad as this film is, the events and the content of the film are historically correct, and Mel Gibson did an impressive job documenting those events.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2006
As a movie, this basically fails. It's ridiculously violent religious torture porn that willl seem pointless to those not into or familair with Christianity. In the right context though this film isn't too bad. It's not a materpiece, but as an "experience" it is a success.

I think it is overrated, even though it is powerful. Like I mentioned though, this is for a limited audience. It could be used as a conversion tool, but I don't know how effective or convincing it would be, as this movie isn't innocent of charges of brutality and anti-semitism.

I do have a lot of respect for this though, mainly because it strives to show just how horrible and excruciating crucifixion is, and because they had the balls to have the whole thing be in Aramaic and Latin. That's just awesome, and deserves lots of kudos. It's also pretty realsitic in terms of physical, historical, and religious accuracy. It's not completely perfect in those regards, but it's not a work of total fiction and fantasy either.

Caviezel has a tough role here, and he does a good job. It's not just screaming either. He's great at radiating personality, kindness, and turmoil. The other performances are also pretty good, but this is basically a one-person show.

The camera work is really good, the locations and sets are terrific, and the effects are just outstanding. I'm amazed that Tom Savini didn't work on this, that's how realistic and effective the make up and gore is.

Over the years I've gotten desensitized to brutality and gore, and have increased my tolerance for it, and, even though I was able to watch this without getting dizzy or faint, I'm not gonna lie and say that it didn't give me a headache or that I wasn't biting my lip at times. In context, this is basically the most violent film I've ever seen. Mainly due to the realism and emotional impact. This could basically pass for a horror film. Thank God that the Saw and Hostel films don't really make you care about the characters, cuz they'd probably be even more unwatchable.

Say what you want about Gibson being all kinds of fucked up, but the man knows how to tell a good story and get a point across, even if subtlety is nowhere to be found.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

March 12, 2011
As a Catholic, I cried and shuttered as I watched Jesus 's suffering. The acting in this film is so amazing and unbearable to witness. The plot is based off the bible, and what detail does it bring to the big screen. The production must've been huge, cause its great. Its horrifying to witness, and sadly its all true.
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

July 19, 2007
At one hand I can understand many didnt like itbecause of the Violence. I think sometimes some people take some Movies too serious and personal, especially the ones based on Religions.
I think this Movie was okay and it was a great Idea of Mel Gibson to make a Movie with the last 12? hours of Christi.
At the other hand I just dont understand why many people were so offended by the Movie?


A film detailing the final hours and crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
it wasn't in English and was acted by people who looked like they could have come from that part of the world

I happened to read a review where a flixster user wrote about the Actors. Just to clear it up so far my knowledge, many Directors cast European Actors for Epic mini Series, Documentaries or Movies.

The Reason::
When this Latin and Aramaic language film was announced, Mel Gibson stated that his intent was to release it without subtitles, letting the performances speak for themselves. However, subtitles were added later. Also, he stated that regardless of the cost of the project, that this would be "good for the soul".

At last no one is forced to watch it


Trivia:
1.Because of their experiences during film production, many of the cast and filming crew converted to Catholicism after the completion of the film. Among those who converted was an atheist who played Judas Iscariot.
Movie Monster
Movie Monster

Super Reviewer

August 23, 2010
To many, The Passion of the Christ is a hard movie to find enjoyable due to its extremely graphic violence. Apart from that, the film is well acted and directed. Jim Caviezel's performance as Jesus Christ is amazing and belivable. Also the women who played Mary and Mary Magdelin were fantastic! A masterpiece.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 23, 2010
A-
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

July 23, 2010
I could go on for hours about this film but I'm not going to, truth is I didn't enjoy it enough to! Whether you believe it or not, the story leading to Christ's Crucifixion is an interesting one and although Mel Gibson's version is more realistic than other version, and by realistic I mean graphic, he doesn't explore the story enough. It should be called the suffering of the Christ. I know that that is basically the point, Christ suffered for our sins etc, but there is much more to the story that wasn't explored. Apart from Caviezel and Shopov, the acting was fairly over the top and the inclusion of the Turin shroud was cringe-worthy. All that said, Caviezel and Shopov's performances were very good in my opinion, the graphic detail was important and thank god (excuse the pun) it wasn't in English and was acted by people who looked like they could have come from that part of the world (And no, Christ would not have been white but he wouldn't have been black either!). All in all, not terrible but hardly the greatest story ever told!
KJ P

Super Reviewer

January 19, 2010
Amazing! But is way too graphic. It could have done without so much violence!
Conner R

Super Reviewer

December 6, 2009
Even though it somewhat fails on its internal message, Passion of the Christ is an amazingly brutal torture film. It is essentially two hours of one man being worn down and beaten away bit by bit. Mel Gibson did as well as he could with what he had.
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

October 22, 2009
Sick, fanatic, anti-semitic Mel Gibson ought to have realized something before making this disgusting, blood-drenched depiction of the Calvary and nailing ham-Jesus in the cross: cinema is NOT church. (ZERO STARS)
Jason O

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2009
Read a lot of comments that they let Jesus suffer too much...I bet he suffered even more when this really happened...very touching and eye-opening film of our lord, Jesus Christ.
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2009
one of the most hard-hitting films of the yearr, passion will make any Christian cry and make others think twice about religion.
Page 1 of 1287
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile