Pieces Reviews

Page 1 of 19
Super Reviewer
½ April 26, 2008
You do not have to go to Texas for a chainsaw massacre. From the producer of Last House on The Left and Friday the 13th comes the sickest and most violent of ll th 80's slasher movies. A psychopathic killer collects body parts from his nubile co-ed victims to create the likeness of his mother who he savagely murdered with an axe when he was ten years old.

Mil Gritos Tiene La Noche also known as Pieces is one of my favourites slasher films of all time...it has chainsaw violence, absurd scenes, nudity, and a bizarre ending. Oh and also has the best tagline "Pieces..it's exactly what you think it is". The best chainsaw flick since the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre.
Super Reviewer
June 16, 2012
When the film begins, with the mother yelling insanely at the young boy for doing a puzzle of a nude girl, you expect a dull Psycho copycat movie, and then he brings in an axe and hacks her to pieces. There is a lot of fantastic gore in this movie. Maybe the characters and dialogue aren't so great, but it makes you laugh, so the movie isn't just gore. I really enjoyed this, and I recommend it to grindhouse and foreign horror fans.
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
January 9, 2011
Gory ridiculous fun! Some parts are just hilariously bad, but that all adds to the fun-factor. The murders are really quite graphic so gorehounds will definitely be satisfied with what is shown. A guilty pleasure for many out there - go see it for yourself!
Super Reviewer
½ December 7, 2009
Really bad. some of the most unbelievable dialogue you'll hear in a dumb slasher film.

"The most beautiful thing in this world is smoking pot and fucking on a water bed, man!"

"Oh dear god, what a mess! something obviously got butchered here.... well, i guess we better search the place!"

"Ken, buddy, where have you been? i've been lookin' all oooover! lookin' ALL. OVER."

"While we were trying to figure out how to stop that awful sound, the laughing bastard was killing her! and he was laughing at us. the bastard. BAS-TARD... BASTARD!! BAAASTAAARDD!!!"

"C'mon, Mary, try to walk. here, i'll help ya. thats it, thats it. now the other foot. soon you'll be ready for the marathon!"
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
December 22, 2010
A contender for the greatest 80's slasher movie. This one is just flat out brilliant in its awfulness.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
½ July 21, 2010
Pieces is truly a grisly delightful horror film. A depraved film from start to finish this film doesn't have any artistic value whatsoever. But whatever it is thats why it's so fucking great. This is a terrific horror film. A phenomenal example of the of Exploitation cinema has to offer, Pieces definitely is a one of a kind gore fest that truly delivers what it says it does. A film thats very depraved, Pieces is one of the best of it's kind; a film that empowers itself by it's controversy; Pieces remains A delightful neglected treat from early 80's Horror Sleaze. If you're a gore hound that likes films like The Toolbox Murders, then this film is for you.
Super Reviewer
March 3, 2010
One of the greatest "so bad it's good" movies. This has everything you would want from a bloodbath slasher. I love the over-acting and completely ridiculous nature of the killer. It's like Norman Bates on acid. The gore and nudity is extremely over the top, the plot makes no sense at time, and it's nowhere near intelligent. However, I really like the way it's shot. It really captures the 80s nicely.
cancercapricorn2002
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2007
The basic plot of this Spanish entry in the slice 'n' dice craze of the 70's and 80's has a sadistic, maniacal fiend carving up cute co-eds - mostly with a chainsaw - for the purpose of using their body parts to create a human jigsaw puzzle. An inept pair of detectives (Christopher George and Frank Brana) send an undercover cop (Georges' wife Lynda Day George) in as a tennis instructor in addition to recruiting the services of supposedly studly student Kendall (Ian Sera). But they are no match for this particular psycho!

Shamelessly crass, sleazy, and lovably disgusting, extremely gory horror movie is so bad its good. Yes, it's that kind of film. Dialog and acting are pretty bad, all right, and the music downright silly at times. Then again, none of us watch this sort of film hoping for Oscar worthy material. It's just plain old blood-squirting-everywhere 100% pure fun. Plus, we get such hysterical show-stopping scenes such as a kung fu instructor popping in for no good reason just because the producer of this film was also making those kinds of films at the time. Bonus: the politically incorrect humor has the guy blaming his attack on "bad chop suey". This writing is priceless! Hulking Paul L. Smith (of "Midnight Express" and "Popeye" fame) is a highly amusing presence as the campus gardener, who fights it out with the cops - again, for no good reason. I also can't let this review go by without a mention of the funniest utterances of the word "bastard" in motion picture history.

This is like I said just so-bad-it's-good or so-ridiculous-it's-fantastic depending on your point of view. It's recommended for gore hounds everywhere who are looking for a film that they can't possibly take seriously.
Ryan M
Super Reviewer
½ March 21, 2012
*** out of ****

The posters and advertisements for Juan Piquer Simon's "Pieces" claim that you don't have to go to Texas for a chainsaw massacre; and so you don't. Most of the film takes place at a New England college campus; where a chainsaw-wielding psychopath is joyously slicing and dicing his way through pretty men and women, although preferably and mostly the latter. What you get is a cross-breed of slasher and detective narrative clichés; something that's not so much a story but more like an experience. But then again, anyone watching this film will most likely leave all complaints at the door, ready to just go along for the ride; because that's really all this movie is. It's a sleazy, morally and artistically irredeemable celebration of exploitation and schlock. It's cheesy, unnecessary, vile, and gross; but when you frequent the Grindhouse side of cinema, those are merely charms and simple pleasures. To others, they'd be good reason to stay far away.

Beloved by some, and surely despised by a good many; "Pieces" has been re-issued and restored by Grindhouse Releasing, and if you happen to get the chance, it can be found on DVD (courtesy of both Grindhouse and Box Office Spectaculars). All-in-all, I'm pretty glad they brought this long-lost exploitation/sleaze classic back from the dead. It belongs in the collection of most avid horror fans, and it deserves to be seen; perhaps there's still an audience out there that we're not aware of, because they have yet to discover this violent, gruesome gem. It's not the most populace pleasing film out there, but it's unique and easy-going enough. I was very entertained by it, and while it's not my favorite Grindhouse film, it's still pretty solid for what it is. Keyword: what it is.

So yeah, the madness all begins back in 1941 when a young child is piecing together a puzzle that his mother finds crude and inappropriate; thus causing her to throw a big fit, threatening to burn anything else in the kid's room that she deems unsuitable for his age group. Angered, he chops her up with an axe. The police arrive shortly thereafter and discover the horrific remains of the incident. Fast-forward about forty years later, and we've got the college campus; with a killer on the loose, hacking his way through the students, not much unlike what the kid did to his poor (and unnecessarily frustrated at the time) mother. There's a plethora of characters, although they're all so unnecessary; any one of them could be the killer, but the film throws so many red herrings and false alarms in our face that we stop caring about the little implications of the story. All you need to know is that the identity of the killer is terribly (or rather, terrifically) obvious from the start.

"Pieces" would not be an entertaining film if it weren't so goddamn bad. It's a movie of corny dialogue, terrible dubbing, mediocre performances and even worse emotional reactions, poor plotting, and uninvolving character development. So basically, it's a critic's worst nightmare. However, if you can distance yourself from the said flaws, it's the kind of crappy movie that's so bad it's kind of good, or even great. It does indeed only get one thing right (the gore effects, which are outstanding), but if you're as twisted as me, that's essentially enough to satisfy. You get what you want out of the thing.

My favorite aspect of the film was the murder sequences. High on gore and low on logic; there are some fantastic kills to be found here, if you find yourself able to survive through the thick much that is the story and the dialogue first. A nude beauty meets her end by the swimming pool, a young woman sun tanning gets way more than a tan, a kindly lady gets slaughtered in an elevator, and yes, some girl even gets the bottom half of her body sawed off; creating one of the most famous - or infamous - stills from the entire movie. Such scenes (and more) are absolute gold, the key to the film's almost accidental success. In fact, the mad concoction of blood, gore, and boobs makes the film what it is; one big guilty pleasure. A lot of the scenes are so down-right ridiculous that they're memorable; in particular, there's a great one where an Asian dude lunges from the darkness of the night and does some random Kung Fu, in the presence of one of the lead female characters. Such a scene is painfully funny, and so randomly and immediately endearing that I can't help but praise its oddity.

Bottom line: bad movie, but a good, good time. Kick back, relax, drink the beer, and you'll probably enjoy this one as much as I did. Like a lot of exploitation flicks from the 70's and 80's time period, there aren't any brains in this slasher flick - nor is there any suspense - but there's a lot of blood and guts, and that's where it counts. It's sick, warped, and grotesque; but also kind of memorable. I'm glad that films like this exist to prove that sometimes, there's little to no shame in liking something that's ultimately just really, really bad. If I had any sense, I'd hate this movie; but instead, I'm giving it three stars because the fact of the matter is that I had a good time watching it, and yeah, I'd buy it and watch it again. I don't expect it gets old very fast.
Super Reviewer
½ October 22, 2011
Awesome cult slasher cheese. This starts with a young boy killing his mother and managing to get away with it and by the end of that scene you know the Pieces is going to be great! Fast forward several years later and pretty young girls are being hacked up on a college campus and there seem to be a few people in the frame. Loaded with dodgy dialogue, dodgy acting, great gore and sexy women, Pieces is everything you'd want from an 80's slasher film. The thing is, as far as slasher films go, its a decent film with its whodunit type twist keeping you ticking along. Theres also some unintentional, what the fuck type moments to which add to the fun. If your into cult horror and fancy a laugh then Pieces has it all!
Super Reviewer
½ July 9, 2011
The acting wasn't the best, gore was obviously fake, melodramatic, predictable ending. Watch out for the random Bruce Lee look-a-like
shitfaced8
Super Reviewer
February 4, 2011
Pretty damn good who dun it 80's slasher flick, centering around a group of horny college students and an ominous black glove maniac with a chainsaw (since chainsaws are obviously the most inconspicous murder weapon available.) Sometimes he uses a knife, but he doesn't seem to have as much fun with that, even going out of his way to blare marching band music over the schools PA system to accomodate his chainsaw for the next murder. This movie is pretty ridiculous for a number of reasons (not the least of which the fact that it features a kung fu master randomly trying to beat up an undercover female cop for no fucking reason, and then laughing about it afterwords blaming it on some chop suey he ate earlier.... WHAT THE FUCK?!?!?!) This film also features an incredibly hilarious and totally pointless surprise at the ending which almost caused me to fall out of my chair. This film definently is one of those movies that is so bad and pointless that it is absoutely brilliant. Must see for champions of cheesy 80's splatter flicks.
roseypie
Super Reviewer
½ March 16, 2009
Seeing this movie reminded me of the movies Texas Chainsaw Massacre (which it blatantly commercializes on its taglines) and Amy for the cut-up body parts. I had a hilarious time watching it, to think that it was supposed to be a horror/crime flick. Elements of the film just makes it so laughable to watch, typical of the 80's slasher genre, where there is horrible acting from almost everyone in the cast and combined with uppity, rather than suspenseful musical score. I guess what will make it appealing to horror fans is that the death scenes are very graphic and bloody-messy and of course, there's always that topless lady to mutilate.
nickymo89
Super Reviewer
½ July 28, 2007
Typical slasher movie with ok gore. Reminds me of some other movies in plot.
Super Reviewer
½ January 29, 2007
I love pieces to pieces. With crazed kung fu teachers, crotch-grabbing corpses, chainsaw massacres and Bluto, if you don't like this film you should really take a long, hard look in the mirror. And try not to spit in disgust at your reflection.
May 15, 2009
Frequently nude coeds, over the top bloodshed and a killer lurking about a college campus: we must be watching an 80's horror film.

The ridiculously hard to catch killer, lugging an ENORMOUS chainsaw around a college, casually carving up girls to collect whatever pieces he needs for a pet project - this film is a lot of fun and well worth a look for the awful dubbing and dialog alone.

Recommended.
November 12, 2013
Incredibly gory, much more than expected, but any of the powerful disgust brought about by the butchery evaporates in a stupid story, wooden acting, and an overall lack of force. Like many cult exploitation movies from Europe, it has a great score and atmosphere and plenty of imaginatively staged massacres, but precious little in the way of filmmaking or storytelling savvy.
April 8, 2013
"Pieces" has the notorious reputation for being the most bloody and violent slasher from the golden age of the genre (late70s through the early 80s). I can attest to that as it is certainly the goriest and most brutal slasher I have ever seen from the era. From it's poster artwork featuring a chainsaw and a stitched together dead body to it's fitting tagline "it's exactly what you think it is", the filmmakers knew exactly the film they were trying to make and they succeed making one of my biggest guilty pleasures I own in my large DVD collection.

The film opens in the 1940s (though many of props say otherwise) with a boy chopping up his mother with an axe after she discovers his porno picture puzzle. Flash-forward to the 1980's and brutal killings with a chainsaw start occurring on a college campus which for some reason seem to dumbfound detective Christopher George. Red herrings are aplenty (like groundskeeper Paul "Bluto" Smith and dean Edmund Perdom) as our useless college student and undercover tennis pro try to solve the case before the killer completes his pieced together human jigsaw puzzle.

Schlock producer Dick Randall set out to make the most violent, intentionally offensive slasher ever made and he succeeded in every way imaginable. These killings are so over-the-top that they become unintentionally funny, adding to the sheer fun nature of the film. The most brutal scenes include a bathroom dismemberment and waterbed killing with a kitchen knife. Why a kitchen knife? Maybe just to switch things up a bit though it does seem a step down the ladder from a mighty chainsaw.

The plot and dialogue is a complete mess no doubt due to English not being Spanish director / screenwriter Juan Piquer Simon's first language. We get tons of unintentional laughs as characters say the most absurd things at the worst situations, like our cop wanting to know someone's opinion if a chainsaw was the murder weapon. What, you mean that large bloody chainsaw sitting next to a pile of body parts... uh... yea I'd say so!

Three other things that give me a good chuckle is that 1) the killer is shown in shadow form and with his hat he looks just like the old radio show hero, 2) the outrageous WTF ending and 3) a psychotic Chinese kung fu expert that almost kills our dull college guy playing detective. Seriously this scene comes out of fucking no where! Well there is an explanation... sort of. Producer Dick Randall traveled all over the world to make movies and one of his stops was in Hong Kong to make a number of Bruceploitation efforts including "The Clones of Bruce Lee" and in order to generate some free advertisement for his other productions, he forced the director to throw one of the Bruce Lee clones in the film. Bruceploitation and slasher films go together as good as blood, milk and sky!

"Pieces" is sleazy, degrading, but damn if it ain't entertaining! It's definitely not for all tastes but for fans of grindhouse type cinema that prefer their slashers to go-over-the-top and overflow the blood gates with gore than this is a must. A great film to get together with friends and watching them squirm and yell "oh my god!".... and that's why it's one of my all time favorite guilty pleasures!
September 27, 2012
On a second viewing, this time with a full theater audience, PIECES holds up as a peerless example of so-wrong-it's-right grindhouse filmmaking. The screams of delight and disbelief just keep coming. Peals of laughter will punctuate slack suspense, unmotivated cat scares of the most absurd variety, and some of the most gruesome murders ever put on film. Laughably distorts Freud through the most sex-negative lens imaginable. Full of paper-thin characters who are emotionally incoherent. One of the best things I've ever seen. If it plays near you, go, go, go you bastard.
Page 1 of 19