• PG-13, 1 hr. 10 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Louis C.K.
    In Theaters:
    Jun 29, 2001 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 27, 2001
  • Paramount Pictures

Movies Like Pootie Tang

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
38% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
36% The November Man $7.7M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

25% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Pootie Tang Reviews

Page 1 of 59
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 20, 2013
Pootie Tang is really stupid and not very good. It's amateur at best, and yet.....it's really not that bad. Some of the directing/editing is brilliant (see the showdown scene). It is full of funny people and for the most part they are funny but the film isn't funny. I know, I know, that makes no sense at all. I guess it's got good people but a very bad script. Every single time I saw Wanda Sykes dancing in the street I laughed and that was about two thirds of the entire film! It's not very good but I will defend it to the end.
Michael G

Super Reviewer

November 20, 2006
Pootie Tang is quite possibly one of the dumbest movies I've ever seen. I'm talking dumb as a bowl of mice dumb and I laughed my ass off at this movie. I would've loved to see a raunchier R-rated version but watching Wanda Sykes dance (and just Wanda Sykes in general) more than made up for that. Pootie Tang also cements my belief that Louis C.K. is a genius. It's a quick watch. Just see it.
Tim B

Super Reviewer

February 3, 2010
Why haven't I reviewed this movie yet? I've seen years ago, and it still makes me smile when I think of it. Looking through other Flixter reviews, it seems people love this movie, but are afraid to give it a good rating. "Stupid..." they rant, ..."but can't help but laugh". I'm sorry, but if a comedy makes you laugh, doesn't that make it good? Cast off your fears of social persecution! Embrace Pootie Tang!
flixsterman
flixsterman

Super Reviewer

January 6, 2009
This movie is stupid, ridiculous and completely moronic. ...and yet, I find myself laughing hysterically every time I see it. Why God, why?!?!?
Keysha H

Super Reviewer

August 31, 2007
I know..I know..Sah dah tay! But it is really funny.
CloudStrife84
CloudStrife84

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2007
Turned it off after 30 min, couldn't bear it anymore. So bad it hurts.
Christopher B

Super Reviewer

January 30, 2010
Sa Da Tay!
Jimm C

Super Reviewer

March 30, 2009
Silly but entertaining, same humor style as "the Airplane series" but not quite as silly. Maybe it's just a "Pootie Thang"
October 31, 2011
I had to give this a look because of the Louis CK involvement, as I'd only seen portions of it before and found the weird gibberish language very off-putting and annoying.

Watched in its entirety, the film is amusing from time to time, though I still never fully warmed to the goofy slang thing, it just bugs me after awhile.

It's an okay watch, but I doubt I'd go back any time soon.
theorosa
May 27, 2011
"Just 'cause a girl like to dress fancy and stand on the street corner near some whores, you automatically think she's hookin'?"
tmannamt
January 2, 2011
LOL. The more you realize how undeniably bad this movie wants to be, the more you see it's genius. It's a great movie to see how anybody can be a star for just about anything these days. This was a very funny movie, but most people will beg to differ if they can't get pass the silliness hahah.
July 19, 2009
This is the film were I was introduced to the actress Kristen Bell(Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Fanboys, and Veronica Mars).
December 25, 2008
This movie is just some serious ridiculousness. About the most unlikely man to be a hero and sex symbol, but is. Speaks jibberish, and whoops up on hilarious bad guys with a belt. Definitely worth a watch if you're in a silly mood.
weav0041
July 21, 2008
All copies of this movie should be burned and, any public showing of this flicks should be seen as an attack on our way of life.
July 13, 2008
Cult favorite of comedy geeks. Louis CK disowned it when my brother and I met him after he did a show at CMU. We all secretly love it. Chris Rock is awesome in it
joycemccall78
December 13, 2007
it's a supid movie, but if you need a pick me up then this is the movie for you. it's so dumb that you'll laugh.
October 3, 2007
"I'm going to sine your pitty on the runny kine!" Omg! This shit was crazy! I laughed so much...wow..utter nonsense in a good way!
September 21, 2007
Oh my god, how was this so bad. Out of all his characters from the Chris Rock show to make a movie about, why. (David Cross as the fake Pootie was mildly funny).
April 26, 2007
The biggest of my dirty pleasures. I could watch this movie repeatedly and each time think it was one of the greatest movies I have seen.
blacksheep64
April 17, 2007
Does this movie really need a comment? Ok to the 6 other people who sat through this, our meetings are on Tuesdays right? The one for PTSD?
Page 1 of 59
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile