Primer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Primer Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Rumsey Taylor
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
May 24, 2005
One of the best science fiction films I have seen, and certainly as one of the genre's best in recent years.
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
May 21, 2005
Only after watching this film did I realize the even more amazing story.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
May 4, 2005
Unrelentingly boring.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
January 28, 2005
While Primer was not widely distributed and never found an audience, it is among the best speculative films of last year.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
January 9, 2005
You can choose to be fascinated (like I was), or just give up all together. Either way, you gotta admit, these guys have guts.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
December 31, 2004
If you've seen Memento, you've some idea of the ingenuity on display here. For $7,000 dollars, could you make a better big screen film?
| Original Score: A-
Forrest Hartman
Reno Gazette-Journal
December 16, 2004
To enjoy the film you have to be willing to let your brain work overtime during every second of its 77-minute run, and even then you'll miss things.
| Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey Bruner
Des Moines Register
December 10, 2004
Packs more ideas than a hundred big-budget studio films made for a thousand times more money.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Andrew Wright
The Stranger (Seattle, WA)
December 5, 2004
May very well be one of the best American movies of the year, and I'll be damned if I understood more than 40 percent of it.
Full Review
Top Critic
Leah McLaren
Globe and Mail
December 3, 2004
An unapologetically cerebral movie of ideas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
December 3, 2004
It's one thing to admire what writer/director/composer/actor Shane Carruth wrought on his $1.98 digicam budget; it's quite another to have to sit through the mind-numbing results.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
December 3, 2004
The ingenious debut of writer-director Shane Carruth, who assembled the film on his home computer and also plays one of the two leads, is purposely designed to be a little bewildering.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
December 3, 2004
It's a tiny-budget indie film with an interesting sci-fi story premise. Too bad the mystery overwhelms the humanity, so it doesn't quite work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Phoebe Flowers
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
December 2, 2004
Eerily, unswervingly transfixing.
| Original Score: 3/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
November 19, 2004
Even as Primer's plot ends up seeming contrived, that is, arguably, the thematic point: stories are always unstable and untrustworthy.
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
November 17, 2004
A smart, clever time-travel game played on audiences and with them
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 15, 2004
I don't need to be spoon fed, but unlock the kitchen for me, would you? And get a new sound guy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
November 12, 2004
It takes a lot for a movie to surprise today's jaded, seen-it, bought-the- PlayStation-version sci-fi fan. Primer can. Let it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
November 12, 2004
A jigsaw puzzle made of pieces that may or may not fit together, it assumes the intelligence and interest of its audience, a brave move that pays off big.
| Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
November 12, 2004
Carruth challenges us to imagine the impossible, then asks us to consider the moral, ethical and spiritual implications of what we have witnessed, and put those considerations on equal footing with man's desire to go where no man has gone before.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 7