Revolutionary Road Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
There is not a shred of hope, light or even life in Mendes' fourth film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jason Best
Movie Talk
September 7, 2013
Revolutionary Road's portrait of a disintegrating marriage is so unflinching, so unsentimental, and so bleak, that you really need to be in a buoyant emotional state to get through the movie.
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
Most of the way, the film feels more like a documentary about the couple than a corrosive study of either of them.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 16, 2011
These people are not tragic, they're not even pathetic - they're fountains of soap-opera profundities.
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
From the director of American Beauty comes another empty, fake-meaningful tale of how rotten it is in the suburbs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Kelemen
Las Vegas CityLife
January 26, 2011
... far beyond deconstructing the man in the gray flannel suit. ... [writer Richard Yates] explored ways we acquire and define our identities from people we love, and how we set our lives on self-deceptive and self-destructive courses.
R. L. Shaffer
IGN DVD
October 20, 2010
Revolutionary Road offers nothing you can't see on TV, with more compelling narratives and better performances (save for Michael Shannon).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
August 23, 2010
Mendes has made a troubling film that wrestles with big themes and touchy subjects, even if it is set in an overly familiar milieu.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 10, 2010
The characters in this film are weak-willed, pathetic losers. I just couldn't muster much sympathy for the characters that couldn't burst out of the cages of their own design.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sonny Bunch
Washington Times
August 30, 2009
Revolutionary Road is content to stick with hoary cliches about the emptiness of middle-class bourgeois life.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Middlebrow self-consciousness
Anders Wotzke
Moviedex
August 1, 2009
It's hard to shake the feeling that this is merely a lesser rehash of Mendes' more accomplished film American Beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dragan Antulov
Index.hr
July 15, 2009
jo%u0161 jedan primjer u dana%u0161njem Hollywoodu sve iritantnijeg %u017Eanra "dajte mi Oscar" filmov
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Felix Gonzalez Jr.
DVD Review
June 3, 2009
It plays like Douglas Sirk without the irony.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
May 27, 2009
...more of a sedate lecture on values than a revealing or entertaining look at life and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
April 21, 2009
Can't tell whether Mendes speaks through his characters or speaks about them
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum
March 21, 2009
Similar yet better domestic dramas that come to mind for comparison purposes include "In the Bedroom," "Little Children" and "American Beauty."
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Maitland McDonagh
Miss FlickChick
March 2, 2009
Chilly and academic, thoroughly admirable but one step removed from the very real angst of a movie like The Man in the Grey Flannel Suit (1956).
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
March 1, 2009
Suburban malaise has seldom been better looking or better acted.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
February 11, 2009
[Solid] performances took me over some of the bumps of the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 11