Romulus, My Father Reviews

Top Critic

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
Bob Mondello
NPR.org
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
February 29, 2008
For all its sad moments, Romulus, My Father is a love story between father and son kept aloft by unalloyed admiration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
February 29, 2008
For all that it's well made and expertly acted, the film keeps its audience at arm's length, letting viewers observe without offering an emotional portal of entrance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Peter Hartlaub
San Francisco Chronicle
February 29, 2008
It's not clear what we're supposed to take away from the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
February 29, 2008
The darkness of the story is counterbalanced by some of the most radiantly beautiful cinematography I've seen in a long time.
Top Critic
Tim Grierson
L.A. Weekly
February 28, 2008
Romulus, My Father is a stacked deck determined to make you feel bad, but it rarely makes you feel anything else.
Top Critic
Russell Edwards
Variety
June 11, 2007
Helming bow by Oz thesp Richard Roxburgh predictably leaves actors plenty of room, but the literary tone and episodic structure rob the pic of dramatic momentum.