Opening

20% The Identical Sep 05
20% The Longest Week Sep 05
71% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
72% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.1M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.9M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.6M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.3M
37% The November Man $7.9M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $6.0M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.6M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Saving Sarah Cain Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2011
I wasn't expecting this to be so good. I only saw this because I was curious about films made about the Amish. Maybe it's just me, but this was a tearjerker and a pretty good family film. The acting is not that great of course, but that's mostly forgiving for the heartfelt message this story portrays. I know that is not a film for everyone and some may find it passable because of the subject matter but I really did feel that it was worth watching.
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

March 18, 2009
With a Title like that you would think this is a chick film, but you like me would be wrong. Its pure family. Good Christian Family Film at That. At the age of 14 I had the pleasure of spending the summer living with a Amish Family, some things I saw in this film I don't remember their doing, so I question if all of the movies actions were authentic. The movie has a wonderful ending, bring out the Kleenex. 4 1/2 stars. The youngest of the Amish Actors female gets 5 stars. Get it and add it to your collection.
ashley h

Super Reviewer

August 26, 2007
I thought this was a pretty good movie. Better than your average made for TV movie. I thought it had potential to be a little deeper,but very good none the less.
May 29, 2011
i can see the porn name:shaving sarah cain. ok drama with the amish reminded me of the jennifer jason leigh movie where she hides among orthodox jews
steveschlautman
September 7, 2008
Overall, the single best movie I've ever seen. Has many very good Christian themes and has an excellent storyline.

American movie-goers have high expectations. It's only natural because America has consistently produced some of the best action, drama, comedy, science fiction, you-name-it movies on the face of the planet. And when a good Christian movie comes along, it normally appears as a momentary blip on the radar screen and is never heard of again. Even Christian movie critics are hard on Christian movies in general (like "Saving Sarah Cain"), so they never "get any traction" and seldom ever are big money makers. Christian movies typically don't have big budgets to work with and, consequently, are considered second rate in the eyes of most people. Because, as every one knows, it's simply impossible to make a good movie unless you spend a ton of money on casting, special effects, set design, etc.... right?

Well, "Saving Sarah Cain" proves this premise to be patently false. It is one of the better movies I've seen lately, not because the main actors are likely to win Academy awards (they very likely and rightly will not), but because the story line is so... good... in the moral sense of the word. The way the directors chose to allow the story to unfold was excellent. I didn't see the end coming the way it did. The movie was pleasantly unpredictable. Afer all, predictable = boring.

It is sad that Hollywood doesn't make more movies like this. It's even more sad that movies like this are not more popular to the general movie-going public. If you want a break from all the gun violence, profanity, crime and sexual promiscuity that is typical in most movies these days... try watching "Saving Sarah Cain"...

And let me know what you think of it!
angelfourpaws
May 18, 2008
I Balled!!! That would be sooo hard and confusing for those kids, I mean, espescially in what was considered right and wrong.
February 2, 2008
wow.. well done.. I think it could have used a bit more story, but what was there was touching.. kept me up until 3 am.. which is hard for a drama to do..
Ida K

Super Reviewer

August 19, 2007
I'm fascinated by the Amish culture. This movie was a so-so story about orphaned Amish children having to adapt to our culture.
August 14, 2012
I had low expectations but was pleasantly surprised.
David T.
January 2, 2012
At one point Elliot Gould's character states "A city woman forced to live with and support several Amish children, is there a more perfect plot?"... narcissistic much? I'm pretty sure a group of white people who are not Amish wrote this. christploitation at its finest.
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2011
I wasn't expecting this to be so good. I only saw this because I was curious about films made about the Amish. Maybe it's just me, but this was a tearjerker and a pretty good family film. The acting is not that great of course, but that's mostly forgiving for the heartfelt message this story portrays. I know that is not a film for everyone and some may find it passable because of the subject matter but I really did feel that it was worth watching.
May 15, 2011
Not bad for a lifetime movie.
Face of Canada
November 20, 2010
It's so transparent, it's almost funny. Although Saving Sarah Cain manages to not completely fail, but it doesn't ever get above the bare minimum.
Monsieur Rick
January 21, 2010
Based on the story by The New York Times Best selling novelist Beverly Lewis, Saving Sarah Cain is all about a Portland city gal getting real. Her Pennsylvania Amish sister, who she had fond memories of, dies and on going to the funeral in an Amish community finds herself stuck with her sister's kids.

While the Amish want to keep the kids inside their "family", Sarah Cain thinks she can do it alone and raise the kids.
Bringing them to Portland with her, she comes to see that city life is NOT whats best for the kids.

Their public school life is a less than satisfying experience. The temptations of the "outsiders" world are pretty well shown as fellow students demonstrate their worldly ways.

Without giving away too much of the film, lets just say this is about Sarah Cain's coming of age, realizing the Amish have it right after all.

Elliot Gould does a fine job being the Portland newspaper's boss of Sarah, but he exploits her experiences with the 5 kids so it can go to print. The kids find out their lives have been daily installments in the public domain and all hell breaks loose.

The eldest child, a girl of 16, can become the guardian of the younger childeren, but she has to be 2 more years with Sarah in the city before she has legal guadianship.

2 years, no 2 months in the city public schools are not enough for her. Too many sinful things happen as she find out in various ways.

Leading the charge to get the hell out of Portland, the eldest girl gets everyone back to Pennsylvania's Lancaster County, home of the Amish there.

A pretty good movie, more for television than the big screen, but still worth watching. Produced by Michael Landon, Jr., son of Michael Landon (Bonanza, Little House on the Prarie, etc.).

Several memorable moments especially at the end of the film. Wait for those moments.
jazza923
January 6, 2008
Michael Landon Jr. comes up with yet another one of his sappy,
unlikely and totally predictable movie. The acting by the entire cast,
(save Elliott Gould), is wooden and not at all convincing. Over
sentimental and filled with cliche's. It is supposed to be a "feel good"
movie, but instead it becomes a "feel nauseated" movie. The script is
not written with any feeling of living in the real world. The way people
talk, their situations are completely made up by director Landon's
vision is what real people are like. He apparently has no clue as to
how people are in the real world. Diabetics beware!
This sugar coated concoction could be fatal!
Page 1 of 13
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile