Saint - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Saint Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
½ March 25, 2015
Saint is a new approach to an old formula: Slasher-Horror set around the events of a specific holiday (in this case, Christmas). It's neither the best, nor the worst of the Yuletide bloodbaths, but the only important question is, is it good in and of itself? And the answer is a solid "No". Saint has no scares, laughs or ponders on offer, and though it isn't the very bottom of the barrel, it's not something I could recommend either.
John2223
Super Reviewer
½ September 15, 2011
The story is superficial but the fast pace, gore and the easiness of the movies is compensating this flaw. The special effects might not be amazing, however, considering the small budget the effects we're pretty nice.
"Sint" is a good St. Nicholas horror movie from Netherlands which delivers lots of fun and gore.
½ December 24, 2014
It's a decent tongue-in-cheek Christmas horror/comedy with some witty dialogue and insanity, although it doesn't have quite enough of either to put it over the top.
½ October 13, 2014
Im not sure which country was responsible for this horror flick, but job well done! The special fx and scenic shots are supreme. The plot is great with plenty of room for a sequel. I just hate i saw this with English dubs on Netflix. I will def re-rate this once i can see it in their native tongue and subtitles.
½ December 22, 2013
Fun Dutch take on the Christmas Slasher subgenre. This time, though, instead of a killer Santa, it's a killer Saint Nicholas and the action takes place on St. Nicholas' Day (Dec 5). If you like your Christmas films dark, gory, and sickly funny, this cross-cultural treat is for you.
April 22, 2013
Santa Claus slasher films have become a kind of sub-genre unto themselves,and the Dutch film Sint at least takes that in a slightly different direction by focusing on the European legend of Sinterklaas and Black Peter instead of the American version of the myth. And Sint is an interesting film with some truly bizarre, original, and brutal scenes, but overall it just felt too cheesy and stupid to be really great.
March 5, 2013
It's no big surprise that this movie is absolutely stupid. But, with the exception of the terrible English dub (WHY couldn't they have just used subtitles?), this is actually pretty entertaining despite itself. If you're a fan of things like Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter and horror/comedy, you will probably enjoy this.
January 25, 2013
B+

A very bloody, christmas themed movie where no one is safe(Men, women, and children). The movie is actually pretty scary, and creepy. Has some jump scares too, which I love!
October 12, 2012
Ridiculously terrible, but also awesome. Not a great film, but an interesting and entertaining watch.
January 20, 2016
I had hopes for this one. At one time, Dick Maas was the man behind "The Lift" and "Amsterdamned" ... a promising genre director. A few decades and several bad films later, the promise is gone. Still ... this film was getting some attention and it sounded promising, so why not? Because it's awful, that's why not. After a decent opening that sets up the interesting premise, it devolves into unlikable characters getting unsuspensefully stalked and attacked by bad special effects. Nothing at all to see here ... move along.
Super Reviewer
½ March 25, 2015
Saint is a new approach to an old formula: Slasher-Horror set around the events of a specific holiday (in this case, Christmas). It's neither the best, nor the worst of the Yuletide bloodbaths, but the only important question is, is it good in and of itself? And the answer is a solid "No". Saint has no scares, laughs or ponders on offer, and though it isn't the very bottom of the barrel, it's not something I could recommend either.
½ December 27, 2014
Enjoyable twist on the evil Santa genre that may not be particularly inventive, but manages to escape coming across as gimmicky. Borrows from the genre's American forebears fairly judiciously and is all the better for it.
½ December 24, 2014
It's a decent tongue-in-cheek Christmas horror/comedy with some witty dialogue and insanity, although it doesn't have quite enough of either to put it over the top.
December 21, 2014
Despite the cheesy premise, Saint is a funny and pretty entertaining horror comedy about a bad Santa.
November 4, 2014
a rare foreign(holland) christmas horror movie.well constructed with a low budget.
October 23, 2014
The real story about Saint Nicolas.
½ October 13, 2014
Im not sure which country was responsible for this horror flick, but job well done! The special fx and scenic shots are supreme. The plot is great with plenty of room for a sequel. I just hate i saw this with English dubs on Netflix. I will def re-rate this once i can see it in their native tongue and subtitles.
December 22, 2013
Lots of fun to find In Saint (2010)
½ January 8, 2014
What this foreign film lacks in believable writing, it makes up for in gorgeously horrific visuals. The gore effects are killer. Now, the film is dubbed in English... so it's unclear if the source actors or the english speaking cast are responsible for the lame deliveries that weaken the film by miles. But if you want something fresh.. and foreign... give it a try.
½ December 23, 2013
Not as awful as assumed.
Page 1 of 4