Stephen King's 'Sleepwalkers' Reviews

Page 1 of 29
Super Reviewer
½ June 14, 2011
Sleepwalkers is a borderline average Stephen King horror film about shape shifting vampires. The film is fairly cheesy with average acting and doesn't try to do anything effective, new or thoroughly original. The film feels lazy and there is a sense that it could have been done much better. The idea explored in Sleepwalkers is interesting, and it could have been something truly terrific, but King doesn't try to make it interesting enough to blow you away. The ideas feel like they're scrapping the bottom of the barrel and there isn't really anything going on here thats really exciting. The film is cheesy fun, but it never goes beyond anything spectacular, good or truly original. Sleepwalkers has moderate chills, but considering that this was written by Stephen King, you'd expect something better, right? Well, the result with Sleepwalkers is a film that is entertaining and fun, but lacks the fire to make it truly an exciting and memorable horror film. Sleepwalkers is worth watching, but keep your hopes at a low to medium level so you don't disappointed. The premise of the film is interesting, but Stephen King could have done a few rewrites of the script before turning it in. The film feels like it was a filmed using a first draft of script. Sleepwalkers is a moderately fun film, but nothing to really write home about.
Super Reviewer
½ September 6, 2010
A strange, unsettling vampiric type family horror story from Stephen King, it's really different, and I really liked it. I'd like to see it again before I write anymore about it, though, I saw it a long time ago.
Super Reviewer
February 28, 2011
Good bloody fun from start to finish. It's a fairly short film that doesn't out-stay its welcome or take itself too seriously. The keen-eyed horror fans will enjoy spotting the numerous cameos. I was also pleasantly surprised to hear my favourite Enya song as the films theme. Very entertaining stuff!
Super Reviewer
March 23, 2008
Finally saw this again after many years.

A mother and son move from town to town seeking virgins and trying to hide their true identities. The son is a teen who does the job of finidng a young woman he can bring home to mother for dinner. Interesting, weird, and old school.
Super Reviewer
December 22, 2009
This Movie is very weird. Nudity pure what didnt actually bother me but the plot was so really poor and the acting weak. Maybe someday someone has the idea to make better remake with better actors!
Super Reviewer
August 6, 2009
a gay cop tries to have sex with a teenager and when he rips his hand off the cop just runs through the woods (not in pain, but ashamed) apologizing for tring to bone him while missing a hand. so yea just let that soak in a little. then see if you still want to watch it.
Super Reviewer
½ July 27, 2009
This is a true so-bad-it's-good movie. It's right up there with Death Race 2000 and Nine Songs (only joking, I think) as one of the great after-pub films. To its credit it doesn't try to be meaningful or intelligent, but concentrates on the more important business of killing off the characters (mainly the rural cops) in imaginative ways. There's a longer-than-usual cameo by Stephen King, and Clive Barker and Tobe Hooper also make appearances. The real heroes, though, are the cats. They are consistently more resourceful than the human characters and, unlike the cops, have mastered the important skill of entering and leaving buildings. The climax is a riot of silliness. Great fun!
Super Reviewer
½ February 27, 2009
A modern day monster flick that isn't too bad. It's not all that great either.
Super Reviewer
½ April 26, 2007
Not the best King film, but it's actually the only Garris' directed one that I enjoy.
Super Reviewer
½ May 28, 2007
Yet another half-arsed Stephen King adaptation, this time scripted by King himself so he has no-one else to blame. Despite the presence of the lovely Madchen Amick, it's nonsensical, cheesy and just plain awful.
Super Reviewer
April 6, 2007
Enjoyable, though the effects look a little clumsy now. Why is it that villans must make cheesy one-liners?
Super Reviewer
½ September 24, 2006
The scariest Stephen King film ever made! DVD is much better with uncut scenes than the cinema.
Super Reviewer
November 5, 2007
Cheesy in a likeable kind of way
Super Reviewer
½ August 30, 2011
Horror based on Stephen Kings book. Cat lovers may find themselves a bit distubed at the beginning as we see a house surrounded by hung cats. Later, we find the reason behind this is a couple of shapeshifters, a young man and middle aged woman, who move from place to place, finding human prey. When pretty student Madchen Amick(who previously played a fit waitress in Twin Peaks) falls for the young man, unaware of his shapeshifting ways, it seems shes in for a whole world of shit. This isn't bad considering I never have high expectations of Stephen King adaptations but this has a few unintentionally funny moments, especially towards the end, a couple of questionable moments(how can they make a car invisible?Or change its make?!) and cameo's from Tobe Hooper, Clive Barker, John Landis, Joe Dante and King himself so this is worth a look for horror fans despite not being anything special.
Super Reviewer
March 3, 2008
stephen king adaptation that i really liked
Super Reviewer
½ July 27, 2007
Good but weird film. Typical King to be honest.
Super Reviewer
June 21, 2007
The film's opening (with Enya's "Boadicea" playing over the credits) promised an atmospheric horror film drenched in loneliness, akin to Paul Shrader's remake of "The Cat People". The film, alas, opts to delve in the realm of cheese. It is one big joke of a movie, a complete and utter mess.

The atmosphere promised to us so cruelly by Enya's only good (and damn good it is) track is only matched by small sequences (Brady's poem, the cats gathering outside the house, "Boadicea" once again playing over the end credits) as the rest of the film is too preoccupies with its jokes, make-up and cameos. Mick Garris is, once again, directing at the peak of his abilities, making the whole thing look and feel like a made-for-tv production.

On the subject of cameos it must be said that during Stephen King's long and illustrious carreer his teeth have not gotten any smaller, and he has not learned how to deliver a line that was not cringe inducing in its awfulness. The lone exception might be his role in Creepshow, his performance in which took on a sort of epic badness that kept it watcheable.

Alice Kriege is great in her role (as always, and gorgeous, as always) but no one else is up to the task. With this script, I can't blame them. The film is watchrable because it is harmless. It is not offensive, has a good soundtrack ("Sleepwalk" by Santos and Johnny also makes an appearance) and won't kill you. Make no mistake about it, however. It is no damn good.
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2007
i have always been a fan of stephen king's novels but this one definitely is not one of my favorites. the special effects were bad and the acting was even worse.
Super Reviewer
March 8, 2007
not good
December 17, 2011
If memory serves right, this is a very dopey film from Stephen King. The film involves a rather incestuous mother and son that go around town to town sucking the soul from young beautiful virgins. Wow, right? Well, these are your average weirdo mom and son team because they are sleepwalkers or a mythical creature that look like, but absolutely hate cats. There are number of horror filmmakers and writers in Sleepwalkers, but there is a lack of intelligence. Oh, there is room for a lot of bad acting. Sleepwalkers have some fun moments along with a wonderful and villainous performance from Alice Krige, but this is best left with a sleeping cell in hopes of never waking up. Oh and one more comment, death by Korn?
Page 1 of 29