Small Soldiers Reviews

Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
April 12, 2002
...this smells like a script slapped together around a toy-product launch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
February 14, 2001
Though it starts promisingly, the picture ends as a standoff between the affection Dante and company bring to the project and its increasingly frenetic and tiresome emphasis on what special effects can make its little people do.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
January 1, 2000
As with many films in which special effects are the real stars, the technology here commands more respect and interest than the material otherwise warrants.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
January 1, 2000
I can't think of a Hollywood entertainment I've enjoyed as much all year, and both audiences I saw the movie with seemed delighted as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Scott Rosenberg
Salon.com
January 1, 2000
Fortunately, it's possible to ignore the morals entirely and simply enjoy the filmmakers' skill at creating carefully contained mayhem in a microcosm.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic

USA Today
January 1, 2000
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Bob Graham
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
This live-action, animated feature has all the charm of the entirely animated Toy Story plus an audacity all of its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
January 1, 2000
...wildly entertaining...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
What bothered me most about Small Soldiers is that it didn't tell me where to stand--what attitude to adopt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
As absurd as the premise might seem, Small Soldiers works for two primary reasons: the visual effects ... are entirely convincing and the script ... never takes its tongue out of its cheek.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
July 10, 1998
Full Review | Original Score: C+