Snowbeast Reviews

Page 1 of 4
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
½ June 25, 2014
A bigfoot-like creature lightly terrorizes the ski slopes in this non-thriller originally made for TV. If you like watching people ski around looking for a monster that almost never appears, this is a great movie!
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
November 11, 2011
Another in a long line of Jaws echoes, this is probably more apparent in its borrowing than the others. Snowbeast is a made for TV movie about a ski lodge who's guests are under attack by a killer Yeti, or Bigfoot as they call it. Like the American International pictures like it, it isn't very good. However, there are a couple of positives to it. It's filmed very well with lots of very beautiful environment shots and the cast is pretty good. Other than that, it's just your standard 70's cornball fest with lots of bad action, questionable plot and nothing much fun to it. Worth a watch but not a repeat.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
½ February 2, 2008
From the Mill Creek Drive-In Movie 50 Pack, My guess is, this was made for TV and Never Saw the Drive In Screen. A Big foot Type Creature, that you will see more often in the wild then you will in this movie. Did this really excite anyone back in 72???? If not in the 50 Movie Drive In Pack, it would have never made my collection, not even worth a rent.
½ August 29, 2011
Corny '70s fun with a Yeti/Bigfoot/what have you menacing skiers and vacationers in a resort. Bo Svenson is on hand to be I his typical bad ass self and the Yeti lurks more than it does anything else, but what can you really expect from a made for TV movie form this era?

Worth a peep, but know what you're getting yourself into.
½ February 27, 2011
Bad. Bad bad bad. "Jaws" with snow. Half of the film is footage of people skiing, making it more of an advertisement for Crested Butte interspersed with scenes of bland animal attacks. The love triangle of the gold medalist skier, his wife, and the lodge owner is about as interesting as a storyline in a porno.
August 17, 2014
An abominable snowman is pissed so many skiers are on his mountain. A popular ski resort is hosing a series of games, so the yeti decides to eat some of the participants. While some warn of a killer sasquatch, the owner of the resort and Sheriff are reluctant to make everyone leave. Once it becomes apparent the bigfoot isnt going anywhere, some skiers band together to kill themselves a wild beast. A made-for-TV film obviously made as art of the "killer animals" craze of the llate 1970s spawned by Jaws.
November 12, 2012
It took the seasons going by for me to realize that this is simply Jaws in Bigfoot form. People often complained that the shark looked fake, well at least they actually showed the monster!
½ October 3, 2012
Mill Creek's 50 Movie Pack: Chilling Classics Reviews
SNOWBEAST (TV MOVIE) [1977]: A made for US T.V movie that was made to cash in upon with America's renewed obsession with the legend of Bigfoot in the 1970's. SNOWBEAST is a run of the mill Yeti/Abominable Snowman/ Bigfoot film of the 1970's that is not accidently influenced by Steven Spielberg's JAWS [1975]. Due to its Made- For-TV realise all the kills that take place are done by the screen turning red (which made it easy to slip in advertisements for the Broadcasters).

Plot: Sees a small Colorado Town during its winter festival being terrorised by an unknown killer. The culprit turns out to be Bigfoot, a not so happy mythical ape creature. So it's up to a small band of people to go out and to kill it.

Thoughts: With a narrative & POV shots that are a direct rip-off form JAWS it's lucky that the subject material was about Bigfoot, one might mistake the film for not having a great white shark. Now how could I not like this tacky TV movie? My rating for SNOWBEAST is a solid 50%.
November 9, 2011
Skiing. Yetis.Obviously this is a video game movie of SkiFree. And like most video game movies, it sucks. I also got this in a Mill Creek pack, but mine was the "Chiller" pack. Whoever said "Jaws with snow" is close. First person Yeti-cam, main character wants to close down the park after a gruesome death. Higher authority says no in the name of profit, and wont cave after more deaths until they see it first hand. i can see the resemblance. Just replace "it wasn't a shark, it was a boat rudder" with "it wasn't a yeti, it was an avalanche."
½ April 30, 2010
this film screams 'terrible'. it also screams cheap, slipshod and below minimums. but having said that, i still liked it. in fact i probably liked it because of all the aforemention qualities. one things for sure, the acting was as good at it gets or at least as good it can get with that stellar troop of thespians.
it's just a good old fashioned, piece of junk horror flick that i find fun to watch.
½ February 10, 2010
I'd recommend this to scare the heck out of your kids because thats what happened to me when i saw it on TV. as far as the acting goes its worth it just to watch how bad it can be (utube some of the scenes, you won't be disappointed) Yeti Vision is amazing! Yvette Mimieux's snow suit ain't bad either
May 26, 2008
So very bad. The usage of Yeti-cam was just kinda sad. Overall I was routing for the Yeti, and was disapointed he didn't slaughter the principal actors. This made for TV horror special has been forgotten for good reason. Run don't walk away from this stinker.
March 16, 2007
Stupid abominable snowman film, cheaply made, not in the least bit convincing. The acting isn't bad and thank goodness it wasn't overlong, other than that it doesn't have much to offer. What on earth was Sylvia Sidney thinking when she did this film?!
October 20, 2006
Here's another film rating.
May 23, 2006
Snowbeast
Starring: Robert Logan, Syliva Sidney, Bo Svenson,and Yvette Mimieux
Director: Herb Wallenford


As a small ski resort prepares to celebrate its 50th winter carnival, a violent Sasquatch-like creature descends from the mountain top to snack on the skiers.

"Snowbeast" is a perfectly average monster movie--with a vibe that's a cross between "Jaws" and a disaster movie--that suffers from an excess of padding (there are waaaay too many montage shots of characters zooming downhill on skis or trudging through the frozen winter forest in search of Big Foot tracks. The acting and camera work is okay, but much of the dialogue leaves alot to be desired.

This is another of those flicks that you'll find in countless different DVD multi-packs, and it might be worth getting if it's balanced out with something else, but "Snowbeast" is just a slightly below-average 1970s TV chiller that isn't worth getting by itself.
Page 1 of 4