Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
71% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Spaceballs Reviews

Page 1 of 979
Christian C

Super Reviewer

May 23, 2013
Moments of real humor, but it relies to heavily on the cornball schtick.
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

May 11, 2011
It's just great. The unique movie which you see John Candy, Rick Moranis, Mel Brooks and John Hurt! A great Star Wars spoof.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

October 1, 2010
Not quite as great as I wanted it to be, but Mel Brooks directs the hell out of this hilarious comedy in ways that are not seen very much in film these days. The spoofing of Star Trek and other classic Sci-Fi films is absolutely genius, but I felt like the creators could have added a few more smart gags than they did. The film is a little too self-aware, but it's well directed, well shot, and well acted. "Spaceballs" is definitely a one-off film, but I really enjoyed it while watching it! Great fun!
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

January 11, 2007
I think like a lot of people, I saw Mel Brooks' space opera spoof classic Spaceballs at a young age. Of course, anything to do with Star Wars at that age captured my imagination, but this was a fun movie on its own. To this day, it still holds just as much appeal as it did back then, perhaps even more so. Now, as an adult, I get all of the jokes and I appreciate the fantastic ensemble cast. For me the best scenes in the movie involve Rick Moranis, in particular when he's acting out his evil plans by playing with dolls of the characters in the movie, including his own. It's so bizarre and absolutely hilarious at the same time. Of course, my favorite line in the movie is "Funny, she doesn't look Druish," as I'm sure it is with a lot of folks. Anyways, I'll stop rambling now, just enough to say that this a personal favorite of mine that never gets old. Pure comfort food cinema at its comedic finest.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2007
Probably the last modern Brooks spoof before he lost his touch. There is another excellent cast here, the usual brooks gang, the highlight has to be Moranis as 'Dark Helmet', this guy totally runs the show and the laughs in this film with his sidekick George Wyner as 'Col. Sanders'.

But lets not forget Brooks and his great little tash LOL he looks naked without it as he normally has one. Lets face it the villains in this are leagues better than the heroes, early role for Pullman and regular comedy spot for Candy. The effects are actually pretty good as well, mainly 'Pizza the Hut' and 'spaceball 1'. To be honest this is a flick that I would love to see a sequel for.
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2009
Mel Brooks, what have you done. Full review later.
Alexander D

Super Reviewer

June 14, 2011
Dark Helmet: "What's the matter, Colonel Sandurz? Chicken??????"
I've seen this at least five times, and by now, I'm positive it will forever remain the most hysterical STAR WARS parody. It's highly underrated, with a mixed or average score of 46 on Metacritic, and a rotten score of 54% on Rotten Tomatoes, and really, it's so much worth your time. Dark Helmet, portrayed by Rick Moranis, from his ludicrous entrance in the beginning, is the best example that can come to mind for a great lampooning of Darth Vader, and he is my favorite character in this whole movie, as he always makes the funniest quips that sounds like things Darth Vader would say (i.e. "WHAT? You went over my helmet????"; "Agh, I can't breathe in this thing!" [referring to his helmet]). If you want a good STAR WARS parody, and you just bought FAMILY GUY: BLUE HARVEST, throw that one away and watch this, because Seth MacFarlane is no match for Mel Brooks.
Dark Helmet: [after reading that the self-destruct button is broken] "Out of order!? Even in the FUTURE, nothing works!"
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

August 18, 2011
Spaceballs is a funny movie, and I enjoyed it, but I don't consider it a perfect spoof of Star wars.
CloudStrife84
CloudStrife84

Super Reviewer

April 8, 2007
My favourite Mel Brooks film. A hilariously witty Star Wars spoof, that includes some of the funniest lines ever written for comedy. I loved it as a kid and even more so now. It's just sad they don't make them this great anymore.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2011
Mel Brook's Spaceballs is a very funny Star Wars spoof. Not only is the film a Star Wars spoof, but it manages to poke fun at many other films too. Notably, Alien, Indiana Jones and The Temple Of Doom and Planet Of The Apes. Mel Brooks is a terrific comedic director, and if you've seen his previous works such as Bazing Saddles and Young Franstein; then you know what to expect. Brook's flair for creating effective humour is present throughout and the jokes are funny in the typical Mel Brooks way. The cast that Brooks has assembled a fine cast of comedians here. John Candy, Rick Moranis, Bill Pullman all deliver something comical and enjoyable on screen. Spaceballs is an enjoyable film that should be seen with friends and it provides the viewer with two hours of good, funny entertainment. If you've seen the films it parodies, then it's a lot more fun of course. Spaceballs is a good comedy with plenty of laughs The acting is fairly good, and Spaceballs is one of the best spoof films aside from Airplane! The gags are over the top at times and fun. Mel Brooks' script and directing are terrific, and Spaceballs is a very original spoof film that doesn't get enough credit. Spaceballs has all the usual Mel Brooks trademarks, zany characters, an over the top story and of course good comedy. Spaceballs is terrific parody film and is, along with Airplane! my favorite parody film.
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 6, 2010
This movie is so hilarious, it's one of Brooks' best spoof movies. It is a bit ridiculous at times, but that just adds to the hilarity. I love this movie.
MeetMeinMontauk
MeetMeinMontauk

Super Reviewer

May 24, 2009
My favorite Mel Brooks film I think. Hysterical.
AC rating: Well, Brooks isn't the greatest commentator in the world, but he does mention some aspect of the producing side of a film production. And that you don't get very much in audio commentary.
erika250
erika250

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2010
found it to be so dumb.
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

April 21, 2007
Once upon a time warp in deep space, the struggle between the nice & the rotten goes on...
IntheBasket
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 30, 2009
What I despise about Spaceballs is the pathetic nature of it. It is trying to simply suck all of the money it can from Star Wars while defaming it and making fun of its characters and plot. Some spoof movies can be decent, but this was just one long joke that got old extremely fast.
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

March 24, 2007
Spaceballs-The Review:Spaceballs has got to be one of Mel Brooks' finest movie parodies.At a tad short, but appropriate 90 minutes, Spaceballs consistently entertains with its quirky and slapstick comedy. What makes this picture funny is the fact that it isn't all about sex jokes or mimicking other films over and over, although there is some of that in here. And yes, this is a parody of Star Wars."LUDICROUS SPEED! GO!" Th............1987............P!"Well, are we stopped?" "We're stopped, Sir." "Good. Well why don't we take a five minute break?"Sorry, let's try that again in regular speed. The effects are a bit cheesy, however they are tolerable for a 1987 comedy. The dialogue and comedic antics are also highly memorable. This is what makes this film a classic. "Stop this thing! I order you, STOP!"There are many recognizable faces in this picture, including Rick Moranis, Bill Pullman, Daphne Zuniga, John Candy, and Mel Brooks, who casts himself in 2 roles. John Hurt even steps in for an Alien cameo.Fans of comedic parodies will want to check out and then pick up a copy of this. Heck, the instant cassette was out before the film was finished. "May the schwartz be with you!"
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 17, 2009
A typical Brooks spoof, I loved it as a child but I don't enjoy it as much now as an adult! That?s saying something as I'm a very childish adult! It's silly but fun.
Aaron N

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2006
Dark Helmet: Before you die there is something you should know about us, Lone Star.
Lone Starr: What?
Dark Helmet: I am your father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate.
Lone Starr: What's that make us?
Dark Helmet: Absolutely nothing!

I love Spaceballs. Its not a great movie in terms of being a solid parody over a pop culture spoof, but its damn hilarious, even over 20 years later, and Mel Brooks has constructed a wonderful spoof film directed mainly at Star Wars, among other sci fi properties. This is the kind of film that those damn "Date/Epic" movie guys wish they could do, something that is funny and not lazy.

Colonel Sandurz: Prepare ship for light speed.
Dark Helmet: No, no, no, light speed is too slow.
Colonel Sandurz: Light speed, too slow?
Dark Helmet: Yes, we're gonna have to go right to ludicrous speed.

It is a true Star Wars parody in terms of story. The evil Spaceballs, led by Dark Helmet, Rick Moranis, and President Skroob, played by Mel Brooks, have attempted to kidnap Druish Princess Vespa, played by Daphne Zuniga, in order to force planet Druidia to give up their air supply. It is up to Capt. Lone Star, played by Bill Pullman and Barf, a half man/half dog played by John Candy, to save her. This leads to various escapades by the different characters, including travel to a planet where the great Yogurt, also played by Brooks, can teach Lone Star the power of the Schwartz.

Dark Helmet: So, Lone Star, now you see that evil will always triumph because good is dumb.

As I've said, I love this movie. I've watched it a ridiculous number of times. Its very quotable, and has a great cast that delivers. From the way the film breaks the forth wall to the wonderful production design that perfectly captures the tone of its spoof while being somewhat creative in its own right.

Yogurt: Merchandising, merchandising, where the real money from the movie is made. Spaceballs-the T-shirt, Spaceballs-the Coloring Book, Spaceballs-the Lunch box, Spaceballs-the Breakfast Cereal, Spaceballs-the Flame Thrower.
[turns it on]
Yogurt: The kids love this one.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 8, 2007
gotta love john candy in a terrible dog costume. another great mel brooks spoof comedy that creates awkward and hilarious moments.
Page 1 of 979
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile