• PG-13, 2 hr. 5 min.
  • Drama, Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Chris Columbus
    In Theaters:
    Dec 25, 1998 Wide
    On DVD:
    May 22, 2001
  • TriStar Pictures

Opening

20% The Identical Sep 05
20% The Longest Week Sep 05
71% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
72% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.1M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.9M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.6M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.3M
37% The November Man $7.9M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $6.0M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.6M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Stepmom Reviews

Page 1 of 312
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
Heartbreaking yet very heartwarming!
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2006
I'm not a huge fan of this type of stuff, but I found it not only tolerable, but actually fairly enjoyable. I think what made the movie work were the solid cast , and their decent performances. It's been a while since I saw this, so maybe a re-watch is in order to see if it still holds up.
kelliemcmahan
kelliemcmahan

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2010
My alltime favorite movie, can recite the lines!
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

December 9, 2009
Julia Roberts and Susan Sarandon were absolute great in this Movie. One of the Movie that leaves a tiny bit of it in your memories.
Jason O

Super Reviewer

September 10, 2009
A journalist named Isabel (Julia Roberts) falls in love with Luke (Ed Harris). They have a great relationship, but everything's not nearly as easy going between Isabel and Luke's two children and their real mom. Jackie (Susan Sarandon), the real mom, isn't ready to accept having another mother figure in the lives of her kids. Isabel also has a lot of problems dealing with the daughter because she doesn't want another mom. Isabel, Jackie, Luke, and the kids must find a way to work things out between all of them or else they might not ever be one good happy family.
Although "Stepmom" probably isn't one of the movies that you will hear the critics rave about a lot, it is one of the best movies of its kind without a doubt, at least in my opinion it is. I've been through a divorce and I've had to accept a new step-parent that I still haven't accepted even today, so I could really relate to the drama in this movie. I know that that's why I liked it so much and why it's one of the best movies I've ever seen, but I don't see why anyone who can't relate to it like I did wouldn't like "Stepmom" just as much.

"Stepmom" is a realistic approach to a change in the family. It has great family moments, mean-spirited drama that deals with jealousy and having trouble accepting new people, and a lot of emotional parts. All the ingredients in "Stepmom" make for one of the best family drama movies ever made, but what REALLY makes it an unforgettable movie is the great acting. All the main characters in the movie do a great job of acting including Julia Roberts, Ed Harris, the two kids, and especially Susan Sarandon. To go along with the great directing and the acting, "Stepmom" also has a great score and some good songs such as "Ain't No Mountain High Enough."

If you buy any family dramas, I would recommend getting "Stepmom" before any of the others. There are a lot of great family drama movies out there, but of the ones I've seen, none of them top "Stepmom." NOTE: That was my Amazon review from the year 2001.
Coxxie M

Super Reviewer

June 5, 2009
i dont remember this due to seeing it when i was 8. But my 8-year-old self would think this sucks.
Alice S

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2009
So wonderful! It's got sass and class, angst and remorse, fantasy and tragedy.
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 13, 2007
Susan is a terminally ill mother with two kids and an ex-husband who has met a young Julia. Such a tear jerker. Rivalry then respect.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 4, 2007
i loved it really good heartwarmingly sad but funny film
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

March 9, 2007
I just gonna say WOW for this movie... A beautiful portrait of broken family from Chris Columbus... It's just great... The cast... They were brilliant... Especially Susan Sarandon, she's portrait like a true mother who got a cancer.. So sad... Almost makes me cry... Julia Roberts shows great act too and so does Ed Harris... But they two just like a 'beginner' in front of Susan Sarandon... She's the central attention for this movie... And the two kids, played brilliantly by Jena Malone and Liam Aiken... They two shows a nature act like a kid in the broken home condition... They're shows that they have futures in Hollywood... A great movie with great cast... I just loved it the first time I see it...
Julie B

Super Reviewer

April 30, 2008
Sunday-night-movie-of-the-week.
jagfire
jagfire

Super Reviewer

August 23, 2007
The mom dies at the end.
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

July 13, 2007
Great. It is sad when Susan's character passes away but Julia Roberts plays her character well enough to keep you watching.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

May 21, 2007
Good, but fluffy little tale concerns Julia Roberts's efforts to win the respect, if not actual affection, of her fiance's two children, who's much rather stay with divorced mom Susan Sarandon.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

April 10, 2007
one of the most god awful movies ever made. my teeth hurt just remembering it!
Jason S

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2006
Sad flick.
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

February 3, 2007
Amazing acting by Roberts and Sarandon.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

August 19, 2010
In this maudlin, melodramatic fantasy, we have five main characters: The stepmom (Julia Roberts), the mom (Susan Sarandon), the dad (Ed Harris), and two kids. Harris is a successful middle-aged lawyer who divorces his wife and is now living with much younger beauty with his two kids. The tension is palpable; between husband and ex-wife, between kids and girlfriend, and especially between ex-wife and girlfriend. When it comes to parenting, Roberts is highly inexperienced, so it's not easy for her to look after the kids when she is left to do so, and her job sometimes gets in the way. In addition to that, the kids don't like their step-mom. Sarandon, who played the dying mother, was so overbearing, demanding, petty and bitchy both before and after she was diagnosed with cancer so it is hard to feel any sympathy towards her. The events of the last third of the film are intended, I assume, to turn around our perception of these characters and somehow make them more endearing. Well, for me, it just didn't work. Although the acting was at least competent, the apparent moral of the story of absolute forgiveness under adversity was just not plausible.
ashley h

Super Reviewer

June 28, 2007
A tad unrealistic,but if people put their kids first instead of their own ego's this move might be more commonplace,there's hope. A great film
Jason S

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2006
It falls away in the finale a little, but Stepmom is one of those heartwarming films that you just love and remains with you. Great stuff.
Page 1 of 312
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile