8 Diagram Pole Fighter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

8 Diagram Pole Fighter Reviews

Page 1 of 4
DragonEyeMorrison
Super Reviewer
March 3, 2008
Where to begin? Incredible fight scenes, incredible cast, sadly the last film from Alexander Fu Sheng. That last fight scene is the greatest thing since the invention of porn.
Super Reviewer
September 3, 2008
Also called Eight Diagram Pole fighter.
I could go on and on, but to put it simply this delivers on all counts of a great Martial Arts film, especially a Shaw Brothers on.
You have beautiful direction by Lau Kar Leung (Liu Chia-Liang). Great sets. Interesting characters and story. Concentration on weapons and their pay-offs are handled so well. The Subtext. Gordon Liu... Um oh how about action. This sucker delivers some of the most amazing stunts and action scene even commited to celluloid.
It's worth the search you'll have to do to find it.
Super Reviewer
½ July 9, 2008
One of the better Shaw Brothers Kung Fu Movies.
June 29, 2013
84%

Some of the sets are awful and the Santa Claus dressed archers suck, but when it comes to staff fighting, I ain't dickin' around, this takes the cake. A must see for...you know who you are. The climatic battle! Buddha be praised!
½ January 28, 2010
Not as consistently great as something like Five Element Ninjas or 36th Chamber but it is still a minor masterpiece. The final fight is probably the greatest fight sequence I've seen. It is nothing short of amazing.
July 12, 2007
Best martial arts film I've ever seen. It starts with an old man committing suicide by head butting the top of a stone pillar and only gets better from there. See it in a crowded theater if you ever get the chance, it's a religious experience.
January 31, 2009
I watched the final 12 minutes twice. It's the best fight I've seen in any Shaw Brothers movie yet. I like to say call it a kitchen sink fight but in the best way possible. When they bring in the wooden wolf and the Wutai monks who literally start pulling teeth out left and right your mind is just blown. I'm sure no other movie has as much teeth pulling as this.
October 12, 2007
A true display of martial arts skill. Nothing like watching shaolin monks smash the manchus teeth out.
½ April 12, 2016
There's no disguising the obvious sets in this production, but the story is strong and gratifying.
April 14, 2015
Liu goes to a temple again, this one has just one chamber, and it focuses on defanging wolves. Like Legendary Amazons and Saving General Yang, this flick is about the Yang family. Fantastic staff and spear fighting, especially the finale.
½ November 11, 2014
An entertaining and well crafted martial arts film! The final fight alone makes it worth watching!
May 9, 2014
There were some great fight scenes in this movie. The story wasn't bad either, but that I kept expecting the crazy brother to show up at the end. Those teeth knocking out scenes were brutal!
February 22, 2014
The Shaw Brothers cook up the dish of revenge and serve it is cold. The fights in this are the fucking balls and the ending made me want to just shave my head, mark my scalp and become a monk. No need for a dentist in Mount Wutai.
June 29, 2013
84%

Some of the sets are awful and the Santa Claus dressed archers suck, but when it comes to staff fighting, I ain't dickin' around, this takes the cake. A must see for...you know who you are. The climatic battle! Buddha be praised!
January 23, 2013
Fantastic. Could easily be the fourth entry to the 36 Chamber series. just as good.
July 25, 2012
8 Diagram Pole Fighter is notable for having a story that isn't extremely ordinary like most of its peer films even though the story and plot is a bit odd at times. Of course, it is also notable for its superb pole fighting scenes that border on jaw-dropping at times. Gordon Liu is one of the best martial arts actors of all time.
½ June 24, 2012
My personal favorite Shaw Brothers movie. The Tar Tar's pay for their crimes with their blood and with their teeth, and it's satisfying,
½ April 7, 2012
A bloody effing kung fu riot!!
January 14, 2012
8 diagrams worth of awesome! Simply amazing fight scenes.
Page 1 of 4