Trekkies Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Super Reviewer
September 6, 2010
This is a very interesting documentary on the work of Star Trek fans, and it feels like it was made more for the fans than documentary lovers. There are a ton of famous Trek actors in this movie who come to talk about the phenomenon of the TV series, and its impact on people's lives all over the world. If, for some reason I can't think of, Star Trek ceased to exist, then this would be the perfect documentary to show future generations what it was all about. I don't like a lot of documentaries, and like others it gets a bit boring at times, but it's the best movie to watch if you want to understand Trekkies.
Super Reviewer
½ August 17, 2013
Trekkies is a well crafted documentary that takes a look at the fan base of the famed TV show Star Trek. Fans of the shows are truly dedicated and follow the series feverishly. The series has been extremely popular for many years, but Trekkies showcases the dedication of the most diehard fans of the show. I really enjoyed the film, and thought it was a great glimpse into the fandom of Star Trek. Obviously some people may find these fans to be quite obsessive and with good reason, but the thing is, is that if you love something and you're interested in the subject, why not devote your time to something positive. Trekkies is a fun documentary, one that documents a truly interesting subject. For Sci Fi fans, this is a must seem, for viewers that are not used to the fandom, well you might want to pass this up. However if you're looking for a well crafted documentary to watch, definitely give Trekkies a viewing. The film is at times imperfect, but it exposes its subject perfectly, and with that being said, you can appreciate the dedication of the fans, even if you think they at times push the limits a bit too far. Trekkies is entertaining for what it is, and it gives you a glimpse into pop culture like you never seen it before. You'll surely enjoy this if you love a good documentary, but if you don't appreciate the Star Trek phenomenon, you may want to pass this up. This film features lots of interviews with fans and actors, and it goes at the heart of the culture of Star Trek. Trekkies is a fun film from start to finish.
Super Reviewer
October 1, 2011
I do love a documentary that focuses on weird and eccentric people. Trekkies looks at the fans of Star Trek. It chooses a small group to follow, from a young SFX whizkid that has gone on to much better things, a woman that insists on being called Commander, a dentist with a decorated surgery and so on. This is all cut together with interviews from some of the stars. Where the film kind of failed was in only showing the most eccentric people, and always surrounded by there memorabilia and/or in costume. I never really got a sense of who these people were without Star Trek. This can sometimes make them seem sad and lonely and often psychologically damaged. Luckily, they are having so much fun that you kind of get swept up by it all. The actors seem to take it too seriously though,recounting stories of how the show has changed or saved peoples' lives, from suicide attempts, to how it liberated black people, to how it helped people get over the deaths of their family etc. It's all a bit much at times and it doesn't really express the kind of fun people are having. Not informative, just a gallery of interesting people.
Super Reviewer
½ March 24, 2011
"There's One Born Every Day"

From a TV series that barely lasted three seasons in the 1960s, "Star Trek" has grown into a multibillion-dollar industry involving several spin-off series, numerous movies, and countless merchandise items. This phenomenon is due to the show's legions of rabidly devoted fans, popularly known as "Trekkies."

A documentary for Trekkies, made by Trekkies, about Trekkies. Trekkies are Star Trek fans, usually very obsessed fans (there is a brief segment on the debate between what are 'Trekkies' and 'Trekkers', but no conclusions are reached). The film, hosted by Crosby (who played Tasha Yar on the Next Generation TV series), who's also a producer, focuses on the whole gamut of far-flung Trek fans, including, famously, the juror who showed up in Trek uniform, and the dentist who converted his office into a Trek starbase. Then there's the guy who recreated a motorized life-support chair (from an early classic Trek episode) and rides around in it on his town's streets, only his head visible poking up from the top. Most of the fans come across as harmless eccentrics who are actually fairly intelligent (the one exception is a guy who, for some reason, seems to be wearing a female wig and lipstick - kinda creepy - I think he thinks he's Troi of the TNG series). The central message conveyed is a hope for a better future, without prejudices or other social problems. It that sense, these fans are, indeed, more advanced than the average citizen, who is still stuck with the 20th-century's petty squabbling and short-sightedness. There are also short interviews with several of the classic and Next Generation cast members,including (poignantly) DeForest Kelley, who died in '99, and Leonard Nimoy (Spock), Jimmy Doohan (Scotty), Walter Koenig (Chekov), Nichelle Nichols (Uhura), Brent Spiner (Data), Michael Dorn (Worf), Jonathan Frakes (Riker) and Kate Mulgrew (Capt.Janeway). Some relate very touching stories about how the show literally changed someone's life for the better, including a suicide prevention by Doohan. It also touches briefly on the fringe element of Trek worship, the pornographic fantasy trade. The end credits contain clips from some stand-up comics doing Trek jokes, which are pretty funny.
Super Reviewer
September 10, 2009
I like watching Star Trek - The Original Series, so I knew I had to watch "Trekkies." It's an interesting movie to watch. Denise Crosby interviews a bunch of people who are major Star Trek fans and they're called Trekkies. It also features interviews with many of the most popular people from all the Star Trek series from the original series to Voyager. You'll recognize a lot of the people such as William Shatner, James Doohan, Leonard Nimoy, and many others.
Parts of the movie are real interesting such as taking a trip to a dentist's office and seeing the whole inside of the building decorated with memorabilia from Star Trek and all the employees wearing a Star Trek uniform. Another good part of the movie is when Leonard Nimoy (Spock from the original series) tells a story about someone tapping him on the shoulder and saying "Hey I know you, you got your ears changed." He turned around and saw that it was John Wayne. This movie features not only in depth interviews with fans and stars from Star Trek, but it also shows footage from conventions and towns that are dedicated to Star Trek.

My only complaint about "Trekkies" is that some of the interviews of hardcore Star Trek fans can get a little repetitive, but it is an interesting movie to watch and I recommend anybody who likes any of the Star Trek series to watch "Trekkies." If you're a Trekky yourself and you go around wearing a uniform or decorate your home with Star Trek stuff, etc. I'd recommend buying the movie. Myself, I'm just a casual Star Trek watcher and I wouldn't ever wear a uniform or anything like that, so I guess I'm not a Trekkie. NOTE: That was my Amazon review from the year 2001.
Super Reviewer
January 11, 2009
Hilarious! Live long and prosper.
Super Reviewer
November 20, 2008
A good doc that really makes you look at your obsessions to make sure that you don't look like the people featured on this movie.
Super Reviewer
½ October 25, 2007
"Peter, this is the WORST possible time you could have called me! Okay, talk to you later." Laughing at nerds is funny.
Super Reviewer
July 26, 2007
Fascinating stuff.
It's great to see the extent of Star Trek Fandom. I wish they'd do a similar video essay on Doctor Who fans.
Super Reviewer
March 5, 2006
This movie will make you feel good about yourself and life. Just be glad you arent them.
Super Reviewer
½ May 14, 2009
For a low budget documentary about the weirdest people on the planet it's actually pretty interesting. The film is remarkably objective, it could easily mock these people, but I guess the filmmakers knew that the audience would be doing that for them. I wanted more of the creepy stories from the actors about what happens when these people talk to them, because there does seem to be an endless amount. Still the movie boggles your mind, I mean these people are ridiculous! They see no problems with the way they act and I guess they have the right to be as strange as they want. Go ahead, wear the uniforms in public I don't care. But that guy, the one guy who had his ears permanently surgically altered to look like Spock's needs serious help and should be put in a mad house.
Super Reviewer
½ June 18, 2009
I found it to be an insightful documentary into the fandom of Star Trek. You laugh at some fans and but others just seem obsessed or mental. It's a recommended watch for any fan.
Super Reviewer
½ January 7, 2007
I am a geek. I felt a lot like the Fonz after watching this movie. I am not sure if that is better or worse.
½ September 5, 2013
A really amusing documentary highlighting one of the more fanatical fan bases in pop culture. It's interesting to get a glimpse into their world from a distance.
½ September 21, 2011
Both hilarious and frightening, this documentary shows you the world of those Trek fans that are REALLY into Trek. For all I've seen of Trek (and its a lot...i must admit), this movie truly makes me appreciate just how bad I really could be...I may be a Trek fan, but I'm not even on the same planet as these folks. An extra half a star just for making me feel better about myself.
½ August 17, 2011
This might sound like a dick-ish 'review', but I honestly love this one for the idea that I might not be the biggest dork on the face of the earth for my various hobbies and interests.

The documentary is populated with a truly bizarre smattering of individuals, all of whom have found a place to belong via the very things that make them different from most of the world, which is also a nice message.

But really, there but for the grace of God...

September 13, 2009
Awesome!! It's goofy, hilarious, frightening and even touching at points. James Doohan is a great guy.
July 18, 2008
i hate star trek but this film is more about embracing a sickness of unity and geekiness that is hard to believe. not too mention these people weren't acting!
June 7, 2008
What a great movie putting obsession on display for all to see. I especially like the guy who wears his Star Trek uniform to the supermarket.
½ December 4, 2007
A great documentary that shows how crazy some people are when it comes to being STAR TREK fans. So sad...and yet so funny at times. Definitely worth checking out.
Page 1 of 16