Trust the Man Reviews

Page 1 of 45
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
July 14, 2011
Two couples encounter various difficulties with commitment and fidelity.
It takes an awful long time for this film to get started; it should be used in film classes to show how not to do exposition. During the first act of the film, I wasn't sure how I was supposed to feel about these characters -- whether they were to be taken seriously or merely seen as farcical caricatures. But once the film establishes the various problems affecting these relationships, I think it's fairly entertaining. Even Julianne Moore, whom I hate, is tolerable. I especially liked the scene in which dinner guests overhear Elaine bragging about her new beau's manhood to her old beau. And there's a great two-shot in the third act of David Duchovny and Billy Crudup in tuxedos looking as though they're ready for anything but nonetheless clueless.
The ending is, of course, cliche, and some of the supporting characters are too over-the-top to be believed (I'm looking at you Goren [Glenn Fitzgerald] and Dante [James LeGros]), but overall, though I have no idea why it's called Trust the Man, Trust the Man delivers a few laughs for the light-hearted fare it eventually attempts to be.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
January 25, 2007
i laughed like three times at this flick. the rest of it was nearly unbearable. it began well, for about 5 minutes, then turned into a pointless film full of unlikeable characters, then the end felt like some horrible teen comedy starring adults. truly pointless.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ August 4, 2007
Julianne Moore is good but the movie is just sort of blah.
Super Reviewer
April 20, 2008
This movie follows two couples in Manhattan go through some turmoil. Do they stay with their significant others, or do they test the waters? I guess you have to live in NYC to get all the parking humour.
Super Reviewer
December 6, 2007
Again, a movie that I liked a lot more than I thought I might have. Although, it profoundly bugs me when people in movies just don't know how to talk to each other, a problem that plagued the folks in this one. David Cuchovny is fantastic in comedies, and really clicks with Julianne Moore onscreen. (If you liked them in this, you should get a load of Evolution.) Billy Crudup and Maggie Gyllenhaal were a little less endearing, but it was a very funny and very human movie all around. Its quirkiness and down to earth quality save it when it isn't being funny. Great little flick.
Super Reviewer
August 29, 2006
This is a movie that you could be a lot better than it is. But before you dismiss it as another piece of crap, you realize that it isn't meant to be taken so seriously. You see the movie for what it is: a romantic comedy about upscale New Yorkers who have difficulty coping with their love lives. Sure, the premise may lack orginality, but the actors bring heart and depth to characters that would, otherwise, be considered shallow, selfish and superficial. David Duchovny and Julianne Moore (my favorite) star as a sex-starved-stay-at-home-dad and a pre-meno-pausal actress, respectively. Their marriage is in shambles and needs a face lift (to which Moore's character suggests injecting with Botox). Maggie Gyllenhaal and Billy Crudup co-star as the younger couple with similar problems. Crudup plays the insecure, conflict-avoiding slacker who isn't ready to commit to Gyllenhaal's demands for a family of their own. The plot is somewhat predictable and is sprinkled with cheese here and there. But depending on your tastes in dairy products, that could be a good thing. The melo-dramatic storyline is offset by some pretty hilarious pranks (inluding Duchovny's subtle humor and sexual antics) and juxtaposed with some crass humor that are likely to summon some chuckles and even some whole-hearted belly laughs. The movie is smarter than it seems; has an amazing cast and oozes with good intention. Trust me on that!
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
August 28, 2006
[font=Century Gothic]In "Trust the Man", Tom(David Duchovny) is a former advertising man, now playing househusband for his two young children and actress wife, Rebecca(Julianne Moore), who is about to star in a play at Lincoln Center. Her younger brother, Tobey(Billy Crudup), is a sportswriter who would rather watch ESPN than his girlfriend of seven years, Elaine(Maggie Gyllenhaal), an editor who simultaneously wants to be a children's author and suffers from a serious case of baby fever.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"Trust the Man" is an occasionally funny but very predictable movie that is helped out enormously by its first-rate cast(yes, yes, even Duchovny). Billy Crudup stands out as a particularly dim bulb. The movie is not long on plot, and is made up mostly of set pieces, some working better than others. And it is nice to see a film where a man stays home to take of the children.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]Note: Bart Freundlich also directed Billy Crudup, Julianne Moore and James LeGros in "World Traveler." Julianne Moore and David Duchovny also starred together in "Evolution."[/font]
Super Reviewer
½ February 1, 2008
Awkward movie...
Super Reviewer
½ August 10, 2007
There is nothing genuine about any of these characters.
iLeo
Super Reviewer
March 26, 2007
Hmmmmmm......I thought I just rated this movie. Oh well! Great cast. Good music. Interesting insight into the lifestyle and boundaries in: relationships, family, and the aspect of friendships. Great movie. A must-see.
FanGirl
Super Reviewer
February 10, 2007
It's alright until you hit the really sappy ending.
September 3, 2013
If it wasn't for the fact that I really like several of the actors, I probably wouldn't have stuck this out. The character study is good, but there's just not a lot of point. While the acting is really pretty impressive, I really wish the actors had been given more to do. I guess if nothing else, it serves to make you feel better about yourself because it can't possibly be as screwed up as these people are.
½ February 1, 2012
It was worth a try. Yet there were so many stars that i recognise and yet nothing just didn't fall into place like it should. Some of the story just seemed rushed and the characters weren't really worked on as well as they should. The only oine that had the best work was Ducovany's role and he seemed to be the only decent one throughout. I like everyone else but they just didn't seem completely there. Maybe there were scenes that were delted that added to everything but in the end it was just another hollywood'ized romance.
November 15, 2008
I'm a big fan of David Duchovny, which is why I saw this (and I'm a sucker for romantic comedies). Good enough. I enjoyed Billy Crudup. After watching, I was compelled to text my husband to tell him I was missing him (we were in the midst of a little tiff). For that...an extra star.
½ July 25, 2008
Adjusting to being a stay-at-home dad is not as easy as expected for Tom (David Duchovny, Full Frontal), and his frustrations are beginning to manifest themselves in his relationship with actress wife Rebecca (Julianne Moore, Boogie Nights). He's not getting the sex he wants, and she's feeling more and more distant. Meanwhile, Tom's best friend (and Rebecca's brother) Tobey (Billy Crudup, Almost Famous) is doing his best to remain carefree and unencumbered, despite growing pressure from his long-time girlfriend Elaine (Maggie Gyllenhaal, World Trade Center) to commit to the relationship and start a family. The four each navigate their personal crises, and try to accommodate each other's flaws while trying to stay together. The movie is attempting to compare and contrast male/female relationships, communication styles, and priorities, and it does so by exploring stereotypical problems with a fresh twist. Duchovny's character is feeling under-sexed. Unusually begins to wonder if he could be a sex addict or worse, as the audience can see much of his discontent stems from initial boredom at becoming a house husband. Crudup's character is reluctant to commit, again a familiar trope for men in the movies. But rather than write this off as typical maleness, other issues such as a fear of death are explored. On the female side, Moore plays a successful film actress looking for fulfillment in the theatre, setting her off-balance enough to contribute indirectly to the diminishment of her marriage, while Gyllenhaal's writer seems to have a strong sense of the direction in which she wants her life to go, only to find deeply-rooted uncertainty beneath the surface informing some questionable choices. Duchovny and Moore have an easy chemistry in playing a convincing married couple with unspoken history and lasting affection for one another that's never completely eclipsed by the tensions in their relationship.
July 15, 2008
I heart David Duchovny, he?s so shweet, lol. This was a silly romantic comedy, and I probably wouldn?t have watched it, let alone added it to my movies I own if he wasn?t in it. I can definitely see a resemblance between this movie and his newest tv show. What is it with him and porn?
5 outta 5, surprisingly good, for one of those girly movies.
½ March 4, 2008
I heard a lot of bad things about this movie and I have to admit it is not usually the kind of movie that I get into. It drags a little in places, which drives me nuts but it was funny, sweet and kinda refreshing....
January 11, 2008
I saw a good chunck of this film and it is one of those films that is based in the possible. There are things in the movie that probably every couple could see in at least one of their relationships at one time or another.
March 2, 2007
I really didn't like any of the characters.. The cast was incredible.. and I think they are all great actors.. but this one fell flat for me..
September 2, 2007
Cute movie, well acted. I enjoyed it, but it wasn't what I thought it was going to be. It's definitely worth watching.
Page 1 of 45