Opening

93% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
86% Get On Up Aug 01
90% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
42% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
62% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 5
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
88% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Twilight Saga: New Moon Reviews

Page 1 of 2694
John M

Super Reviewer

November 28, 2009
First not horrible for what it is. Ive read the books just so i can make educated opinions on these kind of things. You know fangirls cant stand when you crush their movies if you havent seen them.

My favorite character in the book is Alice. And Ashley Greene continues to do a wonderful job in that role in the movies. More Alice please.

Robert Pattinson . . . wow . .lets just say I dont get it. Now that ive seen trailers for his new movie I even more dont get it. His acting seems just very bad. His dialogue and delivery are just painstakingly bad.

Taylor Lautner on the other hand given the same horrible words to speak seems to come across more sincere and more believable. Can you even believe stuff in a movie like this?

All and all seems like they are holding pretty steady to the books. The shapechangers in wolf form look bad ass. The fight scenes do give it a kinda mythical feel. 3 stars for at least staying pretty close to the books and for Ashley Greene :)
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

May 13, 2013
The second chapter of the Twilight saga is no better than its first. New Moon possesses no action, a visually satisfying scenery and a dull performance from the cast. The film drags along with its timely duration and slow pace. 2/5
Phil H

Super Reviewer

December 6, 2009
OK now this franchise just got really silly, the first film was actually OK in a dumb kiddie kind of way but this sequel is just dumber and VERY frustrating. Stewart's character is so annoying as she sulks around missing 'Edward' the vampire and pissing everyone off by trying to kill herself and get attention all the time. She then finds 'Jacob' the werewolf and falls for him but then he gives her the push and she sulks around over him and again tries to kill herself and get attention...this is not a good example to set for young teenage girls but I guess their mums are too busy watching the young topless boys on screen.

The whole film is ridiculous and is almost soft silly MTV porn, the werewolf characters all walk around topless and in shorts all the time which is kinda odd. The wolf CGI looks OK fur wise but then you see their faces and mainly the eyes and it all falls apart. The ending set in Italy is a mess and I couldn't follow what the hell was suppose to be happening, and did I mention 'Bella' flirting with 'Edward' to 'Jacob' every other scene not knowing who she wants *yawn* you just wanna slap her.

Its virtually the same as the first film but with werewolves, more naughty vamps trying to kill 'Cullen' and 'Bella' and a very predictable outcome. I haven't read the books but from other reviews I have read these films don't compare in anyway, shame is the first film was actually not bad as a teen angst vamp flick for the modern age, a kind of 'Lost Boys' crossed with 'Interview' but with a softer edge. This is just a preset, money spinning, CGI rushed 'Harry Potter' type franchise like everything in this day and age, no quality or actual decent acting, its just faceless pretty people who are ten a penny in most films these days and will vanish into obscurity in years to come. There is yet a third outing for this silliness to come despite the outcome of this film (they just love to whack out a preset trilogy for everything huh) and I will watch it simply for my love of anything to do with vamps and lycans, I know what I'm in for.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

January 13, 2010
This second instalment is a pretty terrible sequel, and does not live up to it's predecessor in any way whatsoever. The cinematography is still just as impressive, getting in quite a few intriguing shot positions, but that does not save this hopeless mess at all. It has many flaws, it is not as subtle as the first, the acting is brutally awful, the story is very thrown together, and the conclusion made me want more, but I didn't really care by that point. "New Moon" is extremely cliched with a few cool scenes to get the viewer by. This series is going down the drain, but I will keep giving them a chance to redeem themselves!
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

April 6, 2009
I watched New Moon yesterday and overall I think it's pretty good. Some people are saying there wasn't enough action in it.. well people did you read the book? There wasn't much action in that either.

The movie followed the book fairly well I thought. In fact overall, I was pretty impressed with the movie. The wolves looked cool. I reckon the next movie will be great as it will have more action scenes in it with wolves fighting vampires and so forth.

The acting wasn't so great. The person who played Jacob did a pretty good job, the person who played Laurent did a fairly good job and the person who played Bella did better than last time and was pretty good in this movie. However, the person who played Alice wasn't very spectacular and I don't think they played her character well and as usual I think Robert Pattison can't act.

Other than that I loved the movie. If you can get past the dodgy acting it's good. If you liked the book of New Moon you should like the movie.
Adam K

Super Reviewer

August 13, 2012
It's a more impressive sequel than the original, but 'New Moon' fails to deliver a new dawn for the twilight series. Instead, stuck in first gear, the film coughs and wheezes along to its last breath, before the end credits roll.

Painfully long for its subject matter and tone, the acting abilities of Taylor Lautner must again be questioned. Does he have any beyond being a pretty face which the target audience, pre-pubscent girls can moon over? It seems not. Kristen Stewart in her main role as central character Bella Swan gives a better performance than her male counterpart Robert Pattison, who despite playing a cold, emotionless vampire, could try harder on the emotion front.

The script and story are the worst however. As soon as it begins, the film begins to lose pace, right from the word go. A dull and depressingly long tale is explored through poor cinematography and visuals, spare a few moments. A tale, in which nothing really happens.

It seems the film has been made as a placeholder between the first and the third, and because of this has suffered the tragedy of being a story without a plot.

However, its saving grace is slightly good performances from a few loan faces in certain moments, and despite all the odds, the film is slightly better than its original predecessor.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

May 14, 2012
I wasn't a huge fan of the first film but I thought this one was going to have more of a Vampires vs. Werewolfs theme so I gave it a go. I was disappointed to say the least. Like I said in my review of the first film, I was never in the target audience but even then, I went through teenage angst and went through a 'Goth' stage, I had my heart broken etc etc, but this is depressing even by depressed 13 year old pubescent standards. I've never really got the romantic idea of Vampyrism either, cheer up you miserable buggers, you make hard-core trekkies look cool! Anyway, all that aside, this is a very dull film about a vacuous and particularly annoying girl that I didn't like very much. I really don't understand the fuss over Kristen Stewart, she's gormless personified!
Tyler R

Super Reviewer

May 9, 2012
If you're a Twilight fan and you're reading this, I know what you're going to say:
"Omg, your a hater! Quit being jealous!"
Jealous of what? Nothing about this movie is good. The entire series as a whole just ruins the way we think of vampires. Seriously, what vampire spends his time kissing some ugly, whiny chick rather than sucking her blood? Bela Lugosi is rolling in his grave because of Twilight. Watch the 1931 Dracula movie, it shows what a real vampire is like. If you prefer Twilight to the classic Dracula though, you might have something wrong with you. New moon takes forever for an evident storyline to ensue. Most of it is just Bella whining about how miserable her life is even though starving children in Africa still have no cure for the diseases they've caught. What happens when Edward leaves her? She whines more, then tries to kill herself. As you can tell, she's going to set back woman's rights by about 50 years. So after Jacob "Someone needs to staple a fucking shirt onto me" Black shows up, Bella gets all lovey dovey for him and then we have to sit through Bella making the biggest choice of all: Necrophelia or Beastiality? It's one of those things where you have to wonder how hard Stephenie Meyer was hit in the head while writing this shit. As if the boring plot and crappy dialogue wasn't enough, we have to watch these kids try to act even though I've seen kindergarten plays with better acting. See the face Taylor Lautner is making on the DVD cover? That's the face he makes for the enitre movie. They try and play him off as this tragic character fighting for love even though he's incredibly bland. See the face Kristen Stewart is making on the DVD cover? That's the face she makes her whole life. No emotion, just a dull stare from a dull actress. Not only does the series disgrace vampires, but it also disgraces werewolves. Jacob isn't even a werewolf. Werewolves transform at the full moon whether they like it or not, have no control over who they attack and actually scare people. Jacob has none of these qualities. His character puts more emphasis on taking his shirt off than actually being a wolf. What's Edward up to? He's going to give himself up to a group called the Volturi. They are lead by a guy named Aro, one of the worst villains ever. All he does is put his fingertips together and talk like he's trying to seduce whoever he engages in conversation. Come to think of it, Aro looks kind of like Loki from the Avengers, only Loki is more threatening, has more personality, potrayed by a better actor and doesn't look like he rolled around in a mountain of cocaine. As you can guess, Bella wants to save Edward and the predictability continues. But really, what's wrong with Edward? He doesn't want to hurt Bella at the beginning of the film, so he runs away and leaves her alone with wolf boy and her stereotype of a father? What a dick move. Leaving her is going to hurt more than you can even imagine. Stay with her and work things through like a couple. Quit being a baby, stop whining about how you're going to harm Bella and actually try to show you'll stick with her. Wow, you see what this movie has done to me. I'm giving romantic advice to a vampire. That should never happen. I should be running away from him whilst being terrified about my blood getting sucked out. Instead, I have to teach him how to be a boyfriend...fuck you Twilight.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

June 21, 2009
Cast: Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner, Ashley Greene, Rachelle Lefevre, Billy Burke, Peter Facinelli, Nikki Reed, Kellan Lutz, Jackson Rathbone, Michael Sheen, Dakota Fanning, Edi Gathegi, Graham Greene, Elizabeth Reaser

Director: Chris Weitz

Summary: In this sequel to Twilight directed by Chris Weitz (American Pie), Forks, Wash., resident Bella Swan (Kristen Stewart) is reeling from the departure of her vampire love, Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson), and finds comfort in her friendship with Jacob Black, a werewolf (Taylor Lautner). But before she knows it, she's thrust into a centuries-old conflict, and her desire to be with Edward at any cost leads her to take greater and greater risks.

My Thoughts: "I enjoyed this movie much better then "Twilight". I think Chris did a really good job with this movie at trying to keep it as close to the book as you possibly could. It is a rather slow burning film, but I didn't mind because so is the book. Chris also does a great job at bringing the wolves to life. Those who have read the book will enjoy it, those who haven't will probably think it's slow and mediocre. New Moon was one of the two favorites of mine of the series, so maybe that is why I liked it more."
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

April 19, 2010
I did not find this particularly interesting.
Jens S

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2009
The good news first: the film isn't entirely as lousy as the first part. Of course it's still not very good. The appearance of the werewolves take away some of the cheese the Cullen family has left behind. There are still way too many supposedly deep and emotional dialogs when a look into a good actor's face would have been enough, and still too many unintentionally funny scenes. The werewolf clan is a tad easier to relate to and at least they don't sparkle, but our female protagonist keeps making one questionable decision after the other, making for a very bad example for teenage girls. Again, the author's Mormon propaganda is obvious and in the way of a decent story. The chasing of the vampire lady to Thom Yorke's song and the Italy sequence are actually rather well done, but then all the whining and overacting starts again, each time Pattinson enters the scene. At least you kinda wanna know what happens next in the end.
TheGame90
TheGame90

Super Reviewer

February 6, 2012
I don't wanna like this. But I do. It's just as good as the first one. It's not like I'm some crazy teen who worship the series but you know...it's interesting. And it's well made. She has to pick a side...and here comes a third choice...I don't need your approval

And by the way... Team Jacob 4 Life
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

September 15, 2011
Sequel to Twilight is one of the worst films that I have seen. I grew up watching vampire films, and I could believe the crap I was seeing on-screen. This film along with the first and the rest of the series makes a mockery of the once phenomenal vampire genre. New Moon has everything wrong going for it, bad script, bad acting, bad dialogue and above all, stupid story. Fact is, is that this film is garbage. This is a film that strips away everything that was once mysterious and evil with vampires. The vampire lore has been ridiculed with this crap series. Luckily for me, this was my last viewing of Twilight, as swore that never again I would waste my time watching crap like this. New Moon is a boring film that takes far too long to get to the point, and once it gets there, you realize how bad it is, and if you're unlucky, you didn't drift off in the process, but if you're one of the lucky ones that slept halfway through, don't worry, nothing interesting happens. The Twilight films are also a collection of some of the worst actors working today. Kristen Stewart lacks a personality, and always seems bored in the roles she stars in. New Moon is a snore fest. A boring film that doesn't do anything great to the vampire genre, except slap it in the face in an insulting manner. This film is a bad stain in the vampire genre, and it's definitely worst than the first film. If you love real vampire films, avoid this one at all costs. Luckily the new Fright Night destroys this crap series by a long shot.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2011
Im not a hater, but I know a horrible movie when I see it. The acting in this movie consists of her screaming and whing, and Jacob shirtless, thats not good acting ladies. A werewolf looks more like the ones in Harry Potter 3, not whatever these Indian guys turn into. The plot is so dumb, its just her whining about Edward and Jacob listening to the shit. This movie is awful, it sucked.
Alexander D

Super Reviewer

July 21, 2011
Better than the first; but not by much.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

October 11, 2009
Why Why Why i thought it couldnt possibly get any worse than the first one but it did, its even more pointlessly boring than the first!
Kristen Stewart couldnt even make this barable her constant whinning and depressed mood was just irratating with very little action that they last till the end AGAIN!
the story is just laughable and so desperately boring!
Nothing seemed to be happening that was interesting, most of the time it just seemed like bella talking love to jacob then to edward there was no real point to the story other than her love for edward an that jacob was a werewolf which ws prety obvious from the 1st movie!
I dont know why its so liked its not that great just boring and annoying about hearing about it all the time!
michael e.
michael e.

Super Reviewer

May 1, 2011
this is just slightly worse than the first film.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

December 21, 2009
Hmm it's ok I didn't think it was as good as the first. A lot of drama and not enough action for me. The pace of the film felt too slow and the comparison to Romeo & Juliet is overplayed. Some ok SFX, pity didn't get to see more of the bad vampires. One girls will like more than the guys, especially with all the topless guys showing six-packs! Hope the 3rd is more action packed!
erika250
erika250

Super Reviewer

May 8, 2010
Everything about it was good. This one was better than the first one but not the best one yet.. It had a lot more action to it. I do not like bella in this film because she is not good role model for young girls.
Drew S

Super Reviewer

January 9, 2011
I'm far from a defender of the Twilight series, but I still think the first film isn't quite the cinematic locust-plague that basically everyone else on the Internet decries it as. Bad, certainly, but not without its merits. No, in terms of complete shameless sucking, New Moon handsomely bridges that gap. The advent of Taylor Lautner and the downright pathetic werewolf mythos will be the nail in this series's coffin yet - Lautner is an inexpressive, inarticulate, unthoughtful piece of meat, valued solely for the kind of vapid beauty that makes someone a good cardboard cutout and nothing else. The scene in the movie theater where he snaps at Bella's surrogate boyfriend or whatever is one of the most serious cases of second-hand embarrassment I've ever witnessed. To be fair to him, the scene itself is horribly written and no one emerges unscathed, not the least of whom is Kristen Stewart. The extent of her involvement in this 130-minute affair (too long! too long!) is ponderous lip biting and a brief jog through some street in South America. I don't even know anymore. Pattinson is vacant, pretty business as usual, offering absolutely no depth to a scenario that's already more shallow than it has the right to be. Sure, we understand that you're leaving Bella to protect her or whatever. Can you at least express it through acting if your contrived dialogue won't let you?

The movie itself is completely hideous. Catherine Hardwicke's efforts, though noble and occasionally visually clever, didn't amount to very much, but all of New Moon feels like it's been dropped in a vat of yellow tint. The action has gotten worse, which is in itself a daunting feat, but all Chris Weitz has to offer us is wordy CGI-fests. Perhaps in an attempt to mimic Zack Snyder's patented intensity, tired in its own right, the scenes meant to draw the most attention to themselves are sped up and slowed down at junctures most likely to get our attention. It's most prominent in the final fight where Edward is fighting who-gives-a-fuck, and you can't help but notice the constant slowdown since nothing else of interest is happening on the screen.
Page 1 of 2694
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile