Undercover Brother - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Undercover Brother Reviews

Page 1 of 90
Clintus M.
Super Reviewer
½ October 11, 2012
Literally too funky to be believed, Undercover Brother is an over-the-top hilarious spoof of Blaxploitation and spy films. Not since "I'm Gonna Git You Sucka" have I seen a send-up like this. There are shades of Shaft, Superfly, Huggy Bear, and more, along with James Bond-ish spectre-type "the man" to boot. Its loads better and hipper than Austin Powers: Goldmember.You'll laugh out loud over and over.

Eddie Griffin is outstanding as the title character, and smart brother, conspiracy brother (Dave Chappelle), Sistah Girl, and White She-Devil will leave you in stitches. I didn't like Neil Patrick Harris' character, a lame white boy, much, but loved over the top nemesis Chris Kattan. Billy Dee Williams and James Brown add credibility to this hilarious parody. Its politically incorrect in the extreme so don't get offended by the catfight scene and other, just have fun. Final Advice: Long live the BROTHERHOOD, and stay away from the fried chicken!
Super Reviewer
July 20, 2011
Undercover Brother: You mess with the 'fro, you got to go.

It's an understatement to say that I'm disappointed with Undercover Brother. I had fun for about 20 minutes and then it gets old and it gets old quickly. That would be because it's a one-joke comedy and you can only hear a joke so many times before it's not funny anymore. The movie was way to mild also. If your going to go for a Blaxploitation type movie; then go for it. This being PG-13 destroys it in my eyes. This type of movie can't survive without without tons of violence, nudity, and profanity. That's just how it is.

The movie does have some bright spots. It features a really good soundtrack. Eddie Griffin isn't horrible in the lead role, but Dave Chappelle and Neil Patrick Harris are the two actors to watch in this one. Denise Richards, while attractive, annoys the hell out of me no matter what she's in. I can't stand her.

Basically Undercover Brother doesn't entertain me throughout. Yeah it's going to be stupid and I'm fine with that. But what it shouldn't be is dull and boring. After awhile it does become dull and it does become somewhat boring. It just can't maintain the laughs and that will kill a comedy every time.
Super Reviewer
July 4, 2010
this movie is hilarious. I love how racist it is. a great comedy. B+
Super Reviewer
½ February 15, 2010
I loved how funny this movie was. I could watch this movie everday if I had to!
Super Reviewer
½ December 24, 2007
This is a classic!
Super Reviewer
March 24, 2008
Nothing really to the movie but I love the music and the cheesy concept, very funky and entertaining.
Super Reviewer
½ June 12, 2006
Like the first Austin Powers, this movie works because it is a parody. A very funny one at that. Eddie Griffin not being annoying. Dave Chappelle yelling, Denise Richards as the black man's kryptonite, and Billy Dee Williams. Also, Chris Kattan doing the best he has. Good stuff.
Super Reviewer
½ August 14, 2011
t's an impressive attempt at blaxploitation, I'll give it that. But it's the same jokes that have been passed around for decades. You've seen this all before. And trust me, it doesn't get any funnier.
Super Reviewer
May 11, 2011
A very funny spoof of blaxploitation films. Eddie Griffin plays Undercover Brother, a black crusader stuck in the seventies (his hero is Jim Kelly) brought into a secret brotherhood (known as `The B.R.O.T.H.E.R.H.O.O.D.') organized to fight the evil white majority--led by `The Man,' a mythological white dude who supposedly spearheads a conspiracy to keep the black man down. (I had no idea mayonnaise was a white thing). The Undercover Brother is given the task of trying to stop "The Man" from brainwashing a black general (Billy Dee Williams) who is running for president to instead open a fried chicken franchise.

In addition to Griffin, `Undercover Brother' features Chris Kattan, Denise Richards, David Chappelle, Aunjanue Ellis, Neil Patrick Harris, Chi McBride, Billy Dee Williams and even the legendary James Brown playing himself. Hats off to Chappelle as the militant headstrong Conspiracy Brother who steals the show with every outrageous vent of his angry spleen; the sexy duplicity of babelicious Denise Richards as Penelope Snow (aka White She-Devil) - 'the black man's Kryptonite' - whose hellacious curves and pouty demeanor is knowingly spoofed to full effect. Elllis equally hot as the ass-kicking Sista Girl; Neil Patrick Harris is the clueless Caucasian intern Lance and Gary Anthony Williams is excellent as Smart Brother.

Be sure to watch it toward the end as Undercover Brother has a dance off against the nefarious Mr. Feather (an over-the-top Chris Kattan) to Michael Jackson's Beat It and of course Denise Richards is sizzling in tight white leather. The guys would love the catfight shower scene between her and Sista Girl.
Super Reviewer
August 6, 2007
Absolutely funny movie!
Super Reviewer
½ November 29, 2011
It's an impressive attempt at blaxploitation, I'll give it that. But it's just the same jokes that have been passed around for decades. You've seen this all before and trust me, it doesn't get any funnier.
Super Reviewer
½ November 23, 2011
I find this film being extremely racist but utterly funny!!!!!!!!!! Never laughed so much in my life, especially the catfight scene turn into porn scene was amazing
Super Reviewer
June 16, 2009
Dave Chappelle gives a win performance.
Super Reviewer
½ May 21, 2008
Maybe it was because I was in middle school when I saw this, but this movie made me laugh quite a bit. Eddie Griffin is the only brother that acts like brother without coming off as annoying. You KNOW what I mean. Anyways, this movie albeit a film full of cheap pops was good in the sense that it wasn't a spoof, and it had originality. i'm not into the who whitey is the devil, black people have it hard, type of comedy that is always in films kinda like this, anything from Dave Chapelle or the Wayans, but at least this movie had my kind of sense of humor... for the most part haha. I vaugely remember it but I know that this is my kind of comedy, stupid, but stupid ridiculous, not stupid retarded lol. It's definitely worth at least viewing once (unless you're a certain harpist, then I forbid you to watch this movie!) but it for sure will deliver you some laughs. What, I think this was Chris Kattan's last movie before he fell off the face of the earth? His only good one anyways. Undercover Brother is one of those movies that may seem like a parody, what with all the urban type movies out there, but really it's overall a god theme, funny dialouge(very important), and overall just fun without having to much expensive on any race. You know, maybe it's not even good actually. Like I said, it's been forever since I've seen this movie, haha. Oh well. That bag of chips scene still gets me everytime LOL.
Super Reviewer
December 25, 2007
Super Reviewer
May 11, 2007
pathetic but what would u expect.
February 13, 2010
A lame Austin Powers rip-off. This movie is really stupid and really annoying. (First viewing - Teen years)
June 2, 2013
It was okay. It wasn't as funny as I hoped it would be. It kind of reminded me of Austin Powers but Austin Powers was funnier.
January 10, 2013
love this movie, its great for a cheap laugh when there is nothing better to do. Neil Patrick Harris is a funny addition to the already funny cast. Lastly let me tell you about the word good...
Super Reviewer
February 1, 2011
A very funny movie that made me laugh out loud.Some parts will make you go are you serious? or I can't believe he just said that! Like I said it's a very funny movie but I don't think it's good enough that you'll want to watch it a 2nd time or a movie that you'd want to go out & buy
Page 1 of 90