Movies Like The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep

Opening

17% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
53% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
73% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep Reviews

Page 1 of 203
Alexander D

Super Reviewer

October 7, 2011
Lackluster
Luke B

Super Reviewer

July 22, 2011
A real family that deals with friendships in a realistic fashion. The Water Horse isn't just a cute little creature. It starts off that way, with a number of comical scenes involving a baby monster. It soon turns a lot darker, where the monster is truly a wild creature and capable of great harm. The film holds up as we wonder if the friendship between Angus and monster will hold up. A lot of the film was rather slow, as it took a while to get anywhere. We are given some repetitive scenes, such as baths for the monster, and at least 2 chases involving the monster and dog. I also wasn't a fan of the movie being told as a story. It gave off a creepy vibe from Brian Cox, like he just sits in the pub all day rambling on. The CGI creature is very consistent, and the action scenes do have some dread to them. A nice watch for families, that doesn't patronize nor embarrass.
michael e.
michael e.

Super Reviewer

January 29, 2011
it was a wonderful film, with great story, effects, characters, and drama.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

February 4, 2010
Great kids classic that I will remember for a long time! I saw it for 2 dollars at some cheap holiday special screening, but I would have paid full price for this wonderful film!
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

December 7, 2009
Scottish Legends are the best ones. In a Scottish Legend you ll find everything. A love story, a Nessie, a Ghosts..etc just about everything.
It was a sweet Movie.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

May 28, 2008
Lovely film for the younger viewer about a possible Nessie. Sure its a kind of 'Free Willy' set in Scotland with a monster instead of a killer whale, and the final sequence is basically a rather obvious rip from the final sequence in Free Willy haha but it is a decent film with a good heart.
the effects are good,especially the baby nessie,looks very lifelike....as it grows up i didnt agree with the design of the creature....looks alittle bit too babyish but it is for kids i suppose.
great cast,great surroundings and as its set during WW1 u do get a nice old fashioned disney feel about the whole thing,like films of old,sweet.
very nice film,worth seeing.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

May 2, 2008
Sweet fantasy with a much higher quality cast than usually found in this sort of film.
maxthesax
maxthesax

Super Reviewer

November 5, 2008
I feel compelled to compare this film to Pan's Laborynth as both are fantasies, set during wartime, and coming of age stories. In the case of Pan (see my earlier review), the action was being driven by the same set piece over and over again; the evil captain and his manipulations, terrorizing the townspeople and the little girl in particular.

The waterhorse is similar but a bit more varied in its "villian", using the glory hungry captain, but equally using the "hunter" of the troops as well as a bulldog named "Churchill".

Both films had the "eye of the child" point of view, which adds to a sense of wonder more in Waterhorse than I felt in Pan's. Both films made excellent use of CGI, as the Waterhorse's growth seemed seemless.

The failing of Waterhorse is that the stiff upper lip attitude of the mother didn't reveal enough of her trying to come to grips with the loss of her husband. If this had been brought more to the fore earlier, then the speach made by the handyman about giving the son a chance to be closer to his mother would have been more poignant.

Pan's of course is the darker film, as the Captain in its tale was truly evil, whereas in Waterhorse the "evil" was more simple charactor failings; hubris, greed, envy. So for all that, while it seems the lighter of the two, it is the more intimate.

I also enjoyed the "storytelling" aspect by Brian Cox, with that gleam in his eye, as well as the beginning scene showing a timeless town that could indeed be any age, except for the modern car that then drives down the cobblestoned street. This scene is repeated at the end of the film as another generation of Waterhorse is set to begin; but as the old saw says, "that's a tale for another time".
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

September 21, 2007
Breathtakingly beautiful.
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

January 2, 2008
Just some story about some tale about a water horse in Loch Ness, Scotland... The movie itself was good by keeping the cast from the British side, they didn't have an American man because it will kill the movie... The effects for Crusoe, the water horse, was great... It was looks like really live in this world... And it's not a bad story at all for kids, but they need a parenting guide from their parents of course for some scenes...
Roy G

Super Reviewer

April 9, 2008
... we are able to sit back and enjoy the fun without ever losing sight of the sadness underneath.
MissMorganLeee
MissMorganLeee

Super Reviewer

June 13, 2008
SOOOOO ADORABLE!!!!
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2008
Kids or Chick Flix, Nothing More. Not in My collection sorry.
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

April 23, 2008
The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep does a nice job at creating a family fantasy film out of the Loch Ness Monster.The story for this movie is quite slow and is a bit bland at times, although you do get the Water Horse creature (AKA Crusoe) within the first 15 minutes of the film. There is a military side to the story, which in turn makes this film more dark and a little less family friendly as the trailers make it look. This is a little disappointing story wise, but it does make for a nice dramatic ending. Another nice aspect of the story is that there are multiple elements. Most of the film takes place around World War II time, but there are segments from a present day storyteller, and past segments right before the current World War II setting. These deal with the father-son relationship of the main character, Angus. On another note, the mini side story of the fisherman is hilarious.The CG is great. Crusoe is adorable and the ladies will love it. Although Crusoe grows up quite quickly and the cuteness factor goes away, the CG improves and makes up for it. The latter scenes with the adult Crusoe include some nice cinematic shots as well.The acting is good and the fact that the actors are from the UK is a definite plus. Other than the main characters of Angus and Crusoe, the character development is a little weak. Angus' sister, played by Priyanka Xi, suffers a lot from this as well as too little airtime.All in all, this is worth the watch. It is a good family film with a dramatic ending and interesting concept.
Chris G

Super Reviewer

April 19, 2008
Descent family fair about the legend of Loch Ness.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

April 17, 2008
It was a good movie but a lil bit boring from my perspective. A lonely boy discovers a mysterious egg that hatches a sea creature of Scottish legend.
thefog1331
thefog1331

Super Reviewer

April 14, 2008
Although he was refering to a different movie I have to borrow a quote from my favorite Dr. who so eloquently stated, "Good, clean family fun...if you're into that s***."
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

March 30, 2008
it was ok reli
CloudStrife84
CloudStrife84

Super Reviewer

March 16, 2008
Very enjoyable and beautifully shot family film, that altough falling short of standing out in a crowd, certainly had me well-entertained for two solid hours. I also loved the fact that the story was set during World War II, which for me gave it a significant boost in appealingness. Furthermore, the movie had surprisingly good SFX. The Loch Ness monster looked incredibly life-like, so kudos to the animators for a job well done.
Rico Z

Super Reviewer

January 14, 2008
On the surface, The Water Horse may seem like trite, sentimental Disney-like crap along the lines of Free Willy or Homeward Bound. But this movie really surprised me with its depth and utter charm and heart without the schmaltz of a lesser film.

I think the trick is that this film is, not only set, but is produced in Europe. They somehow have an affinity for making superior films where American cinema would opt for formula and safe gimmicks.

Sure, this movie has its share of gag-inducing "boy-meets-creature-and-become-inseperable" moments; but the film doesn't dwell on the emotion too much.

The film is boued by solid performances by Emily Watson as a heartbroken widow; Ben Chaplin as a war hero; and David Morrissey as a domineering general whose heart is ultimately in the right place. Alex Etel is also great as the young boy whose father-figure complex is a tough subject for such a young actor to take on. His subtlety during flashback scenes is amazing and he captures the longing a child might feel for a long-lost parent.

But the star in this sweet creature-feature is the water horse himself. Named Crusoe, his development is amazing to watch (from egg-hatched, to cute mongrel, to regal king of his domain in the loch.

The CGI is pretty good for a movie with this small a budget. The interaction between young Angus (Etel) and Crusoe is seamless and, although not perfect, is good enough to create the illusion and possibly make you believe that this story could have possibly taken place in our reality.

There is a pretty brilliant subplot that involves impending attack from Nazi forces via submarines. This storyline really lends itself to the plot of the movie beautifully and, without it, the movie would drag and have nowhere to go but out to sea.

All in all, the film was pretty enjoyable. It has its share of touching, "aww" moments mixed with great visuals, a solid period piece tone and rock-solid acting.

Ultimately, the film's lesson is that of being happy with what you've got and stop longing for what you've lost. There is always beauty in pain and something precious and new always hatches from the shell of something that's been lost forever. [10JAN08]
Page 1 of 203
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile