Opening

43% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
41% If I Stay Aug 22
18% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
8% Are You Here Aug 22
96% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
15% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
32% The Giver $12.3M
20% Into The Storm $7.9M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
65% Lucy $5.5M
39% Step Up: All In $2.7M
61% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
86% The Congress Aug 29
67% Life Of Crime Aug 29

Premieres Tonight

33% BoJack Horseman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Waxwork Reviews

Page 1 of 13
WrenchLT
WrenchLT

Super Reviewer

December 9, 2011
Entertaining comic horror which see's six young friends lured to a mysterious waxwork museum where the owner has plans to make them part of the exhibit. It's a little silly but a good fun ride all the same. You have a good range of classic monsters on show from Vampires, Zombies and Werewolves and a decent amount of gore too. It all has a rushed feel to it and the editing is very choppy but that just keeps the excitement flowing!
Kylie B

Super Reviewer

November 5, 2008
Cheesy and campy, but great fun. Lots of eye candy for both sexes too. As long as you don't take it that seriously, then you probably won't be disappointed.
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

October 31, 2008
An evil waxwork proprietor uses his occult powers to send teenagers into a lame nightmare worlds inhabited by famous film monsters, which will somehow enable him to take over the world. Competent production values and a tiny bit of humor can't save the tepid teen terror tableaux.
puffchunk
puffchunk

Super Reviewer

October 25, 2007
Well, not the best film around. But it was kinda fun none the less.
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

July 8, 2007
A superb 80's Wax Museum horror film which does everything right. It's a great introduction with a group of kids being given mysterious invitations to a Midnight opening of a new Wax museum at a big old house. It then goes where I didn't expect, and introduces science fiction twists of time portals, which were a totally cool idea. I liked the different zones portrayed. There was good gore. The climactic battle in the museum at the end of the movie was well done. Very interesting movie.
thefog1331
thefog1331

Super Reviewer

July 16, 2007
Great classic cheese. It's tongue-in-cheek horror but it never gets to the point where the makers bash you over the head with it. See the unrated version only or don't bother.
Dr Blood  

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2007
A good idea but it should have been played more for laughs than it was. Some of the acting is terrible.
James A

Super Reviewer

October 15, 2006
Horrible effects, a lame ill concieved story, and no nudity. The only thing this has going for it is a handsome country Dracula and a bad ending that mimics the Haunting.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

November 5, 2007
A good film.
nickymo89
nickymo89

Super Reviewer

August 10, 2007
Always found this 80's spinoff of House of Wax fun. So cheesy but hey... it's got time portals! lol
rodjeckrich
March 6, 2013
The guy from Gremlins and his friends wind up going to a wax museum of monsters where the figures come to life and wind up dragging the teens into the scene. Thought this was creepy as a kid but saw some of it not too long ago and it didn't really hold up. Still it is kind of inventive but doesn't really pull off the scares or suspense.
January 12, 2013
What starts out as a typical 80s college-age kids comedy, quickly becomes a gory horror story. A waxwork opens in a neighborhood (zoning laws?) and some oh-so-cool college kids decide to pay the place a visit one night. Not all return so a police officer investigates. Not happy with the lack of progress in the investigation, a couple of the kids head back to museum to snoop around. Once one crosses the threshold of the display you enter its horrifying reality. Very good, all the elements I love in a film!
September 23, 2012
Great 80's style horror film, good acting and interesting take on putting the college students into the world of the horror monsters.
June 14, 2012
boring movie, i sat through it for 20 minutes.. the scene where the guy gets sucked into the forest from the waxwork thing was stupid. it was like jumanji (for kids) , when i watch horror i expect it. this was dumb
December 10, 2011
watched this last night with Kryssie. Not sure what she thought of it but its still one of my favorites.
jscottcorley
July 10, 2011
This is classic 80s horror--in that it was neither scary nor had any likeable characters. The premise is pretty cool at first and then you find out it isn't what it should be. Given all that, it's so damn stupid I had to give it 3 stars.
May 28, 2011
A horror anthology placed in the framework of 4 college students taken in by a neighborhood wax museum that opens at midnight. Werewolves, vampires, mummies... This movie tries to be every movie at once which is very confusing. The wax sculptures have the ability to transport the guests to other dimensions which can lead to their demise. The story that's supposed to anchor the whole thing is flimsy at best, and it just ends up being a loose pretext to showcase a bunch of homages to classic films that don't hold up under the film's obviously limited budget. There's some decent gore (particularly the werewolf segment) and entertainment to be had for those in search of meaningless fluff, but the lack of focus may turn more discerning viewers away.
October 19, 2010
I wasn't expecting the levels of comedy that this has, so my initial viewing was a little rocky at first, but the overall tone of the film grew on me a bit by the time credits rolled.

Fun 80's stuff, I think that it'll gain points upon subsequent viewings.

Worth a rental.
Page 1 of 13
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile