Waxwork - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Waxwork Reviews

Page 1 of 13
WrenchLT
Super Reviewer
½ December 9, 2011
Entertaining comic horror which see's six young friends lured to a mysterious waxwork museum where the owner has plans to make them part of the exhibit. It's a little silly but a good fun ride all the same. You have a good range of classic monsters on show from Vampires, Zombies and Werewolves and a decent amount of gore too. It all has a rushed feel to it and the editing is very choppy but that just keeps the excitement flowing!
Super Reviewer
½ November 5, 2008
Cheesy and campy, but great fun. Lots of eye candy for both sexes too. As long as you don't take it that seriously, then you probably won't be disappointed.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
October 31, 2008
An evil waxwork proprietor uses his occult powers to send teenagers into a lame nightmare worlds inhabited by famous film monsters, which will somehow enable him to take over the world. Competent production values and a tiny bit of humor can't save the tepid teen terror tableaux.
puffchunk
Super Reviewer
½ October 25, 2007
Well, not the best film around. But it was kinda fun none the less.
Super Reviewer
July 8, 2007
A superb 80's Wax Museum horror film which does everything right. It's a great introduction with a group of kids being given mysterious invitations to a Midnight opening of a new Wax museum at a big old house. It then goes where I didn't expect, and introduces science fiction twists of time portals, which were a totally cool idea. I liked the different zones portrayed. There was good gore. The climactic battle in the museum at the end of the movie was well done. Very interesting movie.
thefog1331
Super Reviewer
July 16, 2007
Great classic cheese. It's tongue-in-cheek horror but it never gets to the point where the makers bash you over the head with it. See the unrated version only or don't bother.
Super Reviewer
October 15, 2006
Horrible effects, a lame ill concieved story, and no nudity. The only thing this has going for it is a handsome country Dracula and a bad ending that mimics the Haunting.
iLeo
Super Reviewer
½ November 5, 2007
A good film.
nickymo89
Super Reviewer
August 10, 2007
Always found this 80's spinoff of House of Wax fun. So cheesy but hey... it's got time portals! lol
½ March 6, 2013
The guy from Gremlins and his friends wind up going to a wax museum of monsters where the figures come to life and wind up dragging the teens into the scene. Thought this was creepy as a kid but saw some of it not too long ago and it didn't really hold up. Still it is kind of inventive but doesn't really pull off the scares or suspense.
½ January 12, 2013
What starts out as a typical 80s college-age kids comedy, quickly becomes a gory horror story. A waxwork opens in a neighborhood (zoning laws?) and some oh-so-cool college kids decide to pay the place a visit one night. Not all return so a police officer investigates. Not happy with the lack of progress in the investigation, a couple of the kids head back to museum to snoop around. Once one crosses the threshold of the display you enter its horrifying reality. Very good, all the elements I love in a film!
September 23, 2012
Great 80's style horror film, good acting and interesting take on putting the college students into the world of the horror monsters.
June 14, 2012
boring movie, i sat through it for 20 minutes.. the scene where the guy gets sucked into the forest from the waxwork thing was stupid. it was like jumanji (for kids) , when i watch horror i expect it. this was dumb
December 10, 2011
watched this last night with Kryssie. Not sure what she thought of it but its still one of my favorites.
July 10, 2011
This is classic 80s horror--in that it was neither scary nor had any likeable characters. The premise is pretty cool at first and then you find out it isn't what it should be. Given all that, it's so damn stupid I had to give it 3 stars.
May 28, 2011
A horror anthology placed in the framework of 4 college students taken in by a neighborhood wax museum that opens at midnight. Werewolves, vampires, mummies... This movie tries to be every movie at once which is very confusing. The wax sculptures have the ability to transport the guests to other dimensions which can lead to their demise. The story that's supposed to anchor the whole thing is flimsy at best, and it just ends up being a loose pretext to showcase a bunch of homages to classic films that don't hold up under the film's obviously limited budget. There's some decent gore (particularly the werewolf segment) and entertainment to be had for those in search of meaningless fluff, but the lack of focus may turn more discerning viewers away.
½ October 19, 2010
I wasn't expecting the levels of comedy that this has, so my initial viewing was a little rocky at first, but the overall tone of the film grew on me a bit by the time credits rolled.

Fun 80's stuff, I think that it'll gain points upon subsequent viewings.

Worth a rental.
½ October 24, 2009
This cheesy monster flick is high on fun and gore, but low on plot. Thankfully a lot of the shortcomings are made up for by an genuinely stellar cast of both young actors (Zach Galligan, Deborah Foreman, Michelle Johnson, and Dana Ashbrook), and genre vets (David Warner, Patrick Macnee, John Rhys-Davies). All in all, this is a good popcorn flick, and well worth a watch.
August 22, 2009
Unsuspecting victims are lured into wax museum displays that subsequently come to life. A fun, campy shout out to classic monster movies.
Page 1 of 13