We Were Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Soldiers Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
One of the most violent movies ever released.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Emanuel Levy
December 22, 2006
The war genre, vigorously energized with Saving Private Ryan and Black Hawk Down, takes several steps backward with this old-fashioned moralistic saga, a tribute not only to the soldiers in combat in Vietnam but also to the homefront.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
December 6, 2004
I was impressed by Wallace's emphasis of Moore's faith, but the violence struck me as excessive, taking valuable time that could have been used to develop characters.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
January 7, 2004
... A fitting tribute to all the men and women who have fought and died for their country -- and for each other.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph
October 19, 2003
Gibson wears a rictus of distaste which seems more suggestive of dodgy on-set catering than the horrors of combat.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
July 25, 2003
Mais uma patriotada que mostra os americanos matando milhares de vietcongues, mas sendo mais 'humanos' que os inimigos.
| Original Score: 3/5
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
...A gripping, fast-moving film that will be added to the short list of quality movies focused on the U.S. conflict in Vietnam.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrew Manning
Radio Free Entertainment
January 13, 2003
Almost always competent, but never brilliant. Its textbook approach to moviemaking is so common in Hollywood war films that it can't be called new or enlightening.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Josh Gilchrist
Billings Outpost (Montana)
December 19, 2002
I didn't mind the film's sentimental view of GIs. It's stuff like this that gets me crying, especially in times of combat like now. I wasn't the only one wiping tears away. It's hard not to when you're proud to be an American.
David Grove
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
This is a good film; strong, honest, strikingly photographed (by Dean Semler) and appropriately devastating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
James Rocchi
November 7, 2002
Mel Gibson's Vietnam drama breaks under the weight of its contradictions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mark Palermo
Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
August 26, 2002
Not that anything's inherently wrong with a patriotic war movie, but there's a distastefulness in the film's simpleton view of mass suffering.
Full Review
Jon Niccum
Lawrence Journal-World
August 22, 2002
It's refreshing to see a pre-acid rock movie about Vietnam.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 7, 2002
Presenta los hechos de una manera que recuerda a lo peor de la derecha republicana, asemejándose a la patética y triste época del senador McCarthy y su 'cacería de brujas'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
July 20, 2002
Probably the best thing you can say about We Were Soldiers is that it does justice to an awful conflict.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Paul Salfen
July 9, 2002
Another in a long line of ultra-violent war movies, this one is not quite what it could have been as a film, but the story and theme make up for it.
Full Review
Luis Martinez
June 28, 2002
We were soldiers es la voz de los soldados muertos que reclaman el haber sido enviados a defender un país, para luego ser simplemente dejados atrás.
| Original Score: 8.5/10
June 7, 2002
This is an incredible story badly told.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
June 5, 2002
The first war picture in recent memory that owes more to John Ford than to Sony PlayStation.
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 3, 2002
plays like an unbalanced mixture of graphic combat footage and almost saccharine domestic interludes that are pure Hollywood.
Page 1 of 9