When We Leave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When We Leave Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
The movie is suffocated by its own grim determinism.
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
April 15, 2011
...an old-fashioned melodrama with all the heightened emotions and focus on the struggles of an almost saintly heroine that you would expect from a work in that genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
April 15, 2011
"When We Leave" has a predetermined arc that almost chokes its life, but for frustrated witnesses to this passion play, Kekilli offers redemption.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
March 31, 2011
A powerhouse melodrama that feels didactic and manipulative even as it rips your heart out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey Gantz
Boston Phoenix
March 31, 2011
What elevates When We Leave is the three-dimensional acting and the larger context.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
March 25, 2011
It's grueling, but Kekilli is fantastic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Nusair
About.com
March 19, 2011
...a routine, interminably paced drama...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
March 18, 2011
The personal and the political are represented here. When We Leave is distinguished by strong performances, especially from Kekilli.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
James Adams
Globe and Mail
March 18, 2011
The whole sad enterprise is watchable because of Kekilli.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
March 18, 2011
Anyone can make a movie about a woman suffering under the restrictions of a fundamentalist mentality; the trick is making one that doesn't fall back on stereotypes and simplistic finger-wagging.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
March 17, 2011
Unfortunately, Aladag was not as nuanced in her approach as her star.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
March 3, 2011
There are some intense, moving sequences, but too much emotional badgering and a general shortage of finesse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
March 3, 2011
It's so melodramatic, with such crudely drawn, oversimplified characters and hackneyed situations, that it drains its own pond.
Kimberly Gadette
Indie Movies Online
February 25, 2011
Script problems aside, the fact that newcomer Feo Aladag has created such a strong-hearted drama, getting our attention and making us care, opening our eyes to such a senseless crime, is no small feat.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Mark Jenkins
Washington Post
February 18, 2011
Aside from its conclusion, "When We Leave'' is credible and well-observed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Marcy Dermansky
About.com
February 6, 2011
Until the final scene, Feo Aladag's When We Leave is an effective melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Joseph Jon Lanthier
Slant Magazine
February 2, 2011
The clunky denouement reveals that When We Leave is far less than its socio-political relevance would suggest.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
January 28, 2011
An intense and soul-stirring German film about misogyny, tradition, reconciliation, and one Turkish woman's quest for independence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
January 28, 2011
There are times when the tension lags badly and the story loses its way as Umay spins between her worlds. Still, it's a worthy start, and Aladag's distinctive voice helps the film survive any dismay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
January 28, 2011
Kekilli delivers a perfectly tuned performance. Too bad the script is often clunky and melodramatic, as the first-time director, Vienna-born Feo Aladag, tries to manipulate viewers' emotions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 2