Whispers in the Dark - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Whispers in the Dark Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ July 3, 2008
Some nice twists.
January 17, 2012
I think "Whispers in the Dark" would like to think of itself as a sexy counterpart to "Basic Instinct", but the two films actually have very little in common. In fact, if anything, this film plays more like a late night Cinemax After Dark feature with a decent cast and better production values.
The "erotic" dialoge comes off as funny rather than sexy, and the story is seriously muddled. It's hard to take any of this seriously, and the plot is filled with cliches and great stretches of credibility. The plot twist at the end is surprising, but mostly because it's so farfetched and implausible that is virtually impossible to see coming. I would have liked to have been at the screenwriters meeting when the straws were drawn to determine who the killer would be. It feels that random.
The film is also horribly miscast, whether it be Jill Clayburgh fatally underused in her small part or a ridiculous performance by Alan Alda that inspires more laughs than the crappy writing. But the worst offender of all is star Annabella Sciorra in the lead role. She's not a bad actress, as she proved in last year's terrific "Jungle Fever", but she's all wrong for this part. She's not tough enough to pull this off, and it's also kind of silly that the film has her psychiatrist character running to HER psychiatrist after every session. A Linda Fiorentino might have pulled this off, but the character is still underwritten and unfocused.
It makes a valiant effort, but "Whispers in the Dark" doesn't quite succeed as a new camp classic. As it stands now, it's just ridiculous.
½ January 16, 2007
Very interesting film. I used to watch it all the time when I was younger but now that I'm looking at it I realize a young kid shouldn't have been watching a movie like this. It was almost like a Soap Opera though. That's probably why I liked it when I was younger cause I used to always watch Soap Operas. Now that I think of it it kind of reminds me of a Lifetime Movie.lol.
February 23, 2010
I loved how cheesy and bad this movie is. The script is basically on par with something like Basic Instinct, there is intrigue, murder, sex, and a whole lot of out-of-left-field plot twists. The problem with this one is that it's not nearly exaggerated enough. Basic Instinct has incredible cinematography and all the performances are really over the top, which makes that movie a blast to watch. Here, everything is played relatively straight, although John Leguizamo tries his best to add some camp-factor. The only one who really comes out well is Alan Alda, but that's because he can't be bad ever. It's worth it just to see the big reveal in the end, and there's boobies in it, so one star for Alan Alda, a half for boobies, and another half for amazingly ridiculous big end reveal.
½ September 27, 2007
Starts off muddled as it focuses on exploitative themes rather than developing a solid foundation for the murder mystery that is soon to develop... After forty minutes of rather aimless direction it at finally begins to gain some clarity as it shifts its focus to the narrative at last, forsaking the unnecessary kinky and schlocky scenes in its opening reels. The mystery actually proves to be somewhat engrossing as it provides ample suspects and a few red herrings to lead you off the track... The revelation isn't all that surprising (any mystery buff can easily guess it) and the ending is very much over-the-top (completely out of context with the rest of the film) but overall it's a decent murder mystery.
April 27, 2015
I can't explain how awesomely SUSPENSEFUL, this movie is! 5stars!!
April 15, 2015
The plot is a little worn, but the portrayals of psychiatrist and clients is entertaining.
½ April 6, 2015
Silly thriller that is part porno and all to obvious.
½ November 4, 2013
Monday, November 4, 2013

(1992) Whispers In The Dark
ADULT MYSTERY THRILLER

Great first hour but after the first so-called murder happen, it goes to ridiculous territory. Shrink Ann ( Annabella Sciorra) with only two patients start to get turned on with her female patient eve played by Deborah Unger verbal expression of sadomasicist or that she start to get consistent dreams about them. She expresses this issue with former colleague Doug played by Alan Alda. Anthony LaPaglia also stars as Homicide investigator cop Larry Morgenstern is a really big joke since he's taking liberties that is not proper police protocol. This movie is not even erotic as it's adult stuff is only verbally described with some hard to make out and dark re-enactments. Jill Clayburgh also stars as Leo's wife, and John Leguizamo plays one her dysfunctional patients as John.

1 star out of 4
April 4, 2013
A psychiatrist gets turned on by one of her patients' erotic fantasies and soon finds herself in a crazed murder mystery. The overall cast stinks with Unger's performance the only thing worth recommending. A shame since the premise and twists are entertaining in a so-bad-it's-good kind of way.
January 17, 2012
I think "Whispers in the Dark" would like to think of itself as a sexy counterpart to "Basic Instinct", but the two films actually have very little in common. In fact, if anything, this film plays more like a late night Cinemax After Dark feature with a decent cast and better production values.
The "erotic" dialoge comes off as funny rather than sexy, and the story is seriously muddled. It's hard to take any of this seriously, and the plot is filled with cliches and great stretches of credibility. The plot twist at the end is surprising, but mostly because it's so farfetched and implausible that is virtually impossible to see coming. I would have liked to have been at the screenwriters meeting when the straws were drawn to determine who the killer would be. It feels that random.
The film is also horribly miscast, whether it be Jill Clayburgh fatally underused in her small part or a ridiculous performance by Alan Alda that inspires more laughs than the crappy writing. But the worst offender of all is star Annabella Sciorra in the lead role. She's not a bad actress, as she proved in last year's terrific "Jungle Fever", but she's all wrong for this part. She's not tough enough to pull this off, and it's also kind of silly that the film has her psychiatrist character running to HER psychiatrist after every session. A Linda Fiorentino might have pulled this off, but the character is still underwritten and unfocused.
It makes a valiant effort, but "Whispers in the Dark" doesn't quite succeed as a new camp classic. As it stands now, it's just ridiculous.
December 22, 2011
Weak Predictable Disjointed Film
½ January 16, 2007
Very interesting film. I used to watch it all the time when I was younger but now that I'm looking at it I realize a young kid shouldn't have been watching a movie like this. It was almost like a Soap Opera though. That's probably why I liked it when I was younger cause I used to always watch Soap Operas. Now that I think of it it kind of reminds me of a Lifetime Movie.lol.
February 23, 2010
I loved how cheesy and bad this movie is. The script is basically on par with something like Basic Instinct, there is intrigue, murder, sex, and a whole lot of out-of-left-field plot twists. The problem with this one is that it's not nearly exaggerated enough. Basic Instinct has incredible cinematography and all the performances are really over the top, which makes that movie a blast to watch. Here, everything is played relatively straight, although John Leguizamo tries his best to add some camp-factor. The only one who really comes out well is Alan Alda, but that's because he can't be bad ever. It's worth it just to see the big reveal in the end, and there's boobies in it, so one star for Alan Alda, a half for boobies, and another half for amazingly ridiculous big end reveal.
October 4, 2009
4 of 5 stars for the suspense movie Whispers of the Dark. One of the hallmarks of a great suspense movie is that you don't see "who" is behind the events until the critical moment. This movie meets that standard! Lots of odd suspenseful things happening with the finger of blame going in one direction, but, surprise, its another character AND you don't get this news until the last concluding scenes.

THe story is about a lady shrink and a couple of her patiences. The lady patience has the hots for the lady shrink doctor. Next we learn that our lady shrink has a new boyfrend who happens to be the x-boyfriend of our lady patience. Throw in a couple of murders a few extra characters and things look pretty grim until we find out who really has the hots for our lady shrink.

A very good suspense movie. Alot of adult themes and nudity. It will keep you guessing. Oh, to the credit of the writer/director, they wrap the story quickly and end without alot of extra junk. I do recommend this movie!
May 18, 2009
Film that attempts to recover the elements as similar of "Basic Instinct" , but with result risíveis laughable.
½ March 26, 2009
With a twist movie ..great !!
March 15, 2009
A sexploitation movie crossed with a pop-psychology thriller. Its like a scaled-down, more sober version of Basic Instinct. This is the movie to rent when you're tired of watching "good cinema". Annabella Sciorra is extremely poised and attractive in this film.

Dont judge this movie by the IMDb rating. Please, do rent it. This is truly so bad its good. It has THE most bizarre and improbable twist ending I've seen in some time. You'll either have your jaw drop down, or you'll start blinking in shock, or you'll just burst out laughing.
February 1, 2009
Pretty good thriller in which a female patient (Deborah Ungar) of psychiatrist Annabella Sciorra is murdered and the list of suspects include another patient of Sciorra who is a tortured artist who is into S&M, a too-good-to-be-true former boyfriend of Ungars (played by Sheridan) who becomes interested in Sciorra, and a cop who is very eager to close the book on this case. And what about always-the-good-guy Alan Alda as Sciorra's psychiatrist mentor?
January 3, 2009
Alan Alda blew my mind in this movie
Page 1 of 2