Vince Vaughn's Wild West Comedy Show: 30 Days & 30 Nights - Hollywood to the Heartland Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Super Reviewer
½ December 1, 2008
While its not nearly as funny as The Comedians of comedy it still gets the job done. Just dont expect Patton or Galifanakis with these standard up and comers.
Super Reviewer
½ January 20, 2008
John Favreau: Anyone could have played your part in Swingers.
[looks to Justin Long]
John Favreau: I could have gotten Herbie the Love Bug over there to play your role.

A documentary following a comedy show put together by Vince Vaughn. Vaughn has assembled a crew of four comedians he is friends with, and takes them on a trip for 30 shows in 30 consecutive nights. He also has some guests that include John Favreau, Justin Long, Dwight Yoakam, and Kier O'Donnell.

While it may be billed as a big comedy movie, there is actually more footage of behind the scenes stuff than actual comics on stage. I found it interesting to see how comics handle different aspects of the stand up life.

The comics themselves are pretty good, some better than others, none really amazing to me or unfunny. Moments involving Vaughn emceeing the show and poking fun at his own fame is some of the more entertaining material.

As mentioned, the behind the scenes stuff takes up most of the film, and while it does make aspects interesting, it would have been nice to actually see at least one full stand up segment.

A good enough documentary, grounded in the lives of stand up comic lives.

John Caparulo: Why didn't I pick you some flowers? Because it's December, there are no fuckin' flowers. I can get you a pine cone...
Super Reviewer
February 7, 2008
More engaging as a look at the pressures stand-ups find themselves under.
mattsigur1
Super Reviewer
August 26, 2010
Kinda cool to watch vaughn put together a tour, but these comics aren't that great.
lizzardb72688
Super Reviewer
August 2, 2008
It was neat to see both sides of comedians... I just wished they'd shown more jokes... a few were pretty funny.
keith222
Super Reviewer
½ June 21, 2008
The comics had a couple funny jokes, but nothing that had me thinking these guys were geniuses. Overall though I was never bored watching it, and enjoyed the behnd the scene stuff of the show.
½ December 26, 2009
No barrel-riding. No shameless exploitation of Native Americans. Just a bunch of guidos with mildly funny stand-up routines. Buffalo Bill's left nut would have owned this "wild west".
February 13, 2008
Fun stuff with Vaughn and friends on tour with a comedy show, interspersed with stuff in between sets giving background on the performers themselves.

I really enjoyed the comedy bits, as well as the behind the scenes stuff, which is backed by lots of old country music; always a big selling point for me.

If you're a fan of the people involved, this is well worth a look.

Check it out.
½ April 3, 2009
The stand up comedy is decently funny for the most part: not bad, not great. It was nice to see they did a show to help the Hurricane Katrina victims. However, the rest of the documentary portion was rather boring. There's really nothing "Wild West" about the show, except some country music being played and touring in places like Nashville. Overall, it's a rather mediocre show, which is probably why I was able to watch it instantly for free on Netflix.
½ February 9, 2008
This was a really funny Documentary/Stand-Up tour that Vince Vaughn created. It had some comedians I had never heard of before but they were funny. I wish it would of had a little more stand-up but I'm sure it was pretty hard to combine the stand-up and the documentary and fit it into the length of a movie. I wish I could have seen it live. I didn't know until they had already finished making the movie that they came through my town of Nashville. It would have been cool to see live but it was cool on dvd as well. It's worth a watch if you like stand-up comedy.
August 5, 2008
"You're the gay guy from Wedding Crashers?!... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!!!!!"



"Monkey eat peanut.
Monkey shit out peanut.
...Try it."
June 18, 2008
On September 12, 2005 in Hollywood, California, Vince Vaughn took the stage at the Music Box Theater in Hollywood, California and began a comedy tour featuring four stand-up comedians. In the spirit of the old west variety shows, Vaughn played host to the ensemble of comedians and performed improvisational sketches with surprise celebrity and musical guests. The film chronicles the journey of Vaughn and the comedians as travel over 6,000 miles and perform 30 shows in 30 consecutive nights in cities across the nation. Through on-stage performances and behind-the-scenes interviews, the grass roots documentary breaks down each comedian's life-altering experiences and the personal and professional challenges that unite four comics, one movie star and fans from Hollywood to the Heartland. He selects comics Ahmed Ahmed, John Caparulo, Bret Ernst, and Sebastian Maniscalco for the journey. Some shows also feature appearance by Jon Favreau, Justin Long, and Keir O'Donnell, who appeared with Vaughn in Wedding Crashers. The film combines footages from the live shows with behind-the-scenes moments showing the pressure on the group to travel cross-county in a short amount of time. We see life on the tour bus, and the historic spots which the comedians visit along the way. The sharpest performer is Sebastian Maniscalco, who, we learn late in the film, isn't even a full-time comic. He pays his bills by waiting tables. Foul-mouthed and bitter John Caparulo reminds me of a young Larry the Cable Guy. The fellas are awfully in tune with their comedic skills, but the gags tend to follow more pedestrian topics such as drinking, vomiting, and porn. There's a substantial amount of stand-up to enjoy, and even some improvisational performances with Vaughn and special guests Justin Long, Jon Favreau, Peter Billingsley, Keir O'Donnell, and Dwight Yoakam. However, the real heart of the film lies with the four comics, who explain their life stories to the camera, mixed with goofy childhood photos and interviews with family members to shed a little light on their impulses and personalities away from the stage. Certainly this extends "Wild West" past a reasonable running time, but the detours do accomplish one goal rather impressively: the selling of the unfamiliar comedians.
June 10, 2008
When I first saw the trailer for this during the writer's strike I thought that it was just a way for Vince Vaughn to keep busy until people started writing again. I love stand up though, so I wanted to see it and I'm glad I did. Not only was it funny, but you could really tell what a project of love and friendship this was for him and how close everyone in the show was.

If you enjoy stand-up, I think you'll like it.
June 6, 2008
Funny! Vince even had Ralphie the "You'll shoot your eye out kid on there!" Pretty good comedians with a little of their life stories!
June 6, 2008
It was good but I wished it showed more of the actual show and not just them on the road. Jersey, Bret Ernst, in my opinion is the funniest. I laughed the hardest during his roller skating routine.
½ August 28, 2012
I wish the comedians were funnier.
September 12, 2011
I appreciate that this was not all laughs. It actually doesn't focus on the comedians' acts so much as on their different styles and how they are extensions of their vastly different personalities. These four guys actually are not the kind of comedians I'd go out of my way to see, yet I found myself over the course of the film being drawn into their stories. I was even laughing at some of their bits by the end, but that might just be because they were more inspired bits. The profanity is out of hand in some parts, but this is an interesting documentary on the lives of stand-up comics.
July 23, 2010
vince vaughn's wild west comedy show is a documentary that really is hit or miss, but mostly hit. i liked the entire concept of the film and how it takes us on an adventure with the entire crew for 30 days and 30 nights. vince vaughn introduces us to some really fresh and new comics that bring in a ton of laughs from start to finish. the problem with this film is that things don't really change, its all of the same throughout the entire film, but most of the jokes are hilarious. it tries to bring emotion into the film but you really can't take it seriously.
½ March 27, 2010
after seeing this, I never, ever, want to see Vince Vaughn - or any of his buddies - live on stage doing standup.... ever. the comedy was horrible in this film, and the only real good joke is how bad they all were. when it gets into their lives and what kind of people they are, I found myself not caring.
Page 1 of 14