Would You Rather - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Would You Rather Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Super Reviewer
½ November 13, 2015
It is almost funny how Jeffrey Combs, eternal cult star of trashy B movies, seems to be the only one having a lot of fun pretty much like his character while everyone else - all other characters and us viewers - are forced to partake in this pointless torture porn derivative of Saw.
Super Reviewer
½ September 16, 2014
Forget the mainstream critics reviews.This movie will mostly be enjoyable to horror fans. Not to bash the critics, but don't they read the movie description before watching, like: "She arrives to find herself ... forced to play a sadistic game of Would You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive." That line should either turn them off completely, or at least force them to review it from a fan's perspective.

The movie has a great premise AND original story with fine acting to boot (rare in a B-movie). Budget limits are effectively managed so that you barely notice the low budget impact. In fact, because some of the more horrific scenes are not shown they are more cringe-worthy as your mind gets to fill in the details.

But the standout is Jeffrey Combs of Reanimator/From Beyond fame that plays the host of the WORST DINNER PARTY GAME EVER! He balances his sociopathic morality with a genteel propriety that makes his character stand out from the disposable extras.

The twist ending is predictable and you wish the more dastardly character deaths were more horrific, but overall it is a very entertaining horror flick. The late, excellent Roger Ebert, would hate this movie, but I would never use his review for a horror movie. The average soul just wants to be entertained, and this flick, if you can handle a razor blade near the eye, does just that.
Super Reviewer
November 19, 2013
Seems that I have seen this premise before, but this had a little bit of a twist to it. Other than that, not the most original of movies....
Super Reviewer
August 6, 2013
This is not a movie to watch with the kids! lol Good horror/thriller/gross out movie.
Super Reviewer
July 14, 2013
To a degree i enjoyed this movie! I enjoyed the concept and the brutalness of this movie and i enjoyed the ending, there was just something the didnt scream amazing! Its a good moral dilema and questions everything about what you would do!
Super Reviewer
March 2, 2013
three stars
Super Reviewer
May 31, 2013
Very cool, has a SAW like storyline but with a really good twist.
Super Reviewer
February 20, 2013
A really good independent Horror film is worth it's weight in gold. Finding that diamond in the rough makes the hours of sitting through low budget garbage, well worth it. For me, Would You Rather is that diamond, as it is one of the most imaginative Horror films to come along in years. Shepard Lambrick (Jeffrey Combs) is an eccentric millionaire, who wants to help people that are down on their luck, except there's a catch. With a large sum of money at stake, Lambrick invites several down on their luck people to his mansion, where they must play a game in order to win, a deviously twisted game. Would you rather stab yourself or a complete stranger? Would you rather take a razor blade to your eyeball or cut off your own finger? These are some of the challenges involved in this game, which sees the winner go home rich and the losers in worse shape then when they started. Jeffrey Combs of Star Trek fame stars and was absolutely the perfect choice to play the sadistic millionaire. In all his roles he has this crazy twisted side, behind the mask of a very likeable guy. In this film he is paired with the beautiful Brittany Snow, who is there to help her sick brother. As it turns out, she is the logical one, who tries to match wits with Lambrick, making for some terrific dialogue. Would You Rather is creepy and graphic, just when you think you have it all figured out, the story takes a twist, and you're back into the satanic paradise. This film is everything I look for in Horror and will definitely be included in my 2015 Halloween Horrorfest, and it should absolutely be considered for yours.
Super Reviewer
June 8, 2014
Unoriginal and rather unpleasant; it has some surprisingly familiar faces in the cast and an interesting music score, and the occasional nice shot, but the twists are spectacularly obvious and the seriousness of it all becomes deadening. Some humour would have helped.
Super Reviewer
½ June 12, 2014
This reminded me a lot of the Saw series. There were portions that were predictable, but overall, I thought it was a good movie. Very creepy and disturbing.
Super Reviewer
April 27, 2014
An interesting idea, Would You Rather, based around an old school truth or dare style game but this time with deadly consequences and a big cash prize for the winner. Jeffrey Combs enjoying his role as the rich, possibly kind but ultimately sadistic businessman who invites some randoms who are having a hard time round to his house. What the guests don't know is that the Would You Rather game involves them and pain. Maybe death.
An interesting premise but with plot holes all over the place, and the wimping out of what could be decent moments of gore as well as a bit of an annoying ending, not even former porn queen Sasha Grey can stop this becoming a piss poor take on torture porn that could've been so much better with its morality subtext peaking some interest. I'd rather rip out my eyes and shove them in my ears than have to sit through this again. A shame.
Super Reviewer
½ May 21, 2013
It's a better than average horror thriller thanks to the ensemble. Although a little disappointing at the end, it still managed to be quite psychologically challenging.
June 21, 2015
It's great to see Jeffrey Combs (Re-Animator) back in action with that evil smirk and menacing chuckle but this loses its way pretty quickly. The ending is particularly false. It's been accurately described as "Dinner For Schmucks" meets "Saw" but it's lesser than both.
½ June 20, 2015
A dinner party for the hopeless leads to a dangerous game of death... or something. A group is offered a deal to get fat paid and all they have to do is play a game of "would you rather". Would you rather kiss Jeff or Betty? Soon the choices start to get more and more difficult.

It could have been better. The choices could have been more thought out, but it was interesting.
½ February 26, 2014
I'm a fan of this scale of horror films, low budget, but still very respectable looking and a decent story, plus this has some pretty big actors to boot, hell June Squibb is in it and she just got nominated for an oscar, even though it may sound like a saw ripoff, it's still got good ideas and i was very engrossed throughout, once it starts it never really lets up, combs and snow are really good, and adult film star sasha grey proves she can do other roles well besides porn, def recommend for horror fans
July 26, 2013
A twisted, brutal thriller, Would You Rather brings together a series of guests who must decide between self-mutilation and torture of others. Its essential ethical quandary gets methodically elevated to truly sadistic proportions as we watch the various characters reveal their true selves through their actions.
½ November 15, 2013
This was a pretty solid little indy flick. Jeffrey Combs is always a blast. Worth a redbox checkout/netflix/whatever.
½ April 18, 2013
Really good!! I enjoyed this very much. Brittany Snow did great! Great plot and great acting..Fantastic cast! Crazy ending but overall the movie was engaging and entertaining.
March 24, 2013
Basically, torture porn and "Ten Little Indians" go on a fancy dinner date. It is fairly original with some interesting characters, but there's also more than a few eyeroll events and no real surprises from the script.
February 17, 2013
This psychological thriller has its flaws for sure, but I found it tense and compelling, and I was taken aback by a couple of unexpected plot turns.
Page 1 of 16