Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
52% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
84% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
72% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1
24% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
59% Red Band Society: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Would You Rather Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Mark B

Super Reviewer

September 16, 2014
Forget the mainstream critics reviews.This movie will mostly be enjoyable to horror fans. Not to bash the critics, but don't they read the movie description before watching, like: "She arrives to find herself ... forced to play a sadistic game of Would You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive." That line should either turn them off completely, or at least force them to review it from a fan's perspective.

The movie has a great premise AND original story with fine acting to boot (rare in a B-movie). Budget limits are effectively managed so that you barely notice the low budget impact. In fact, because some of the more horrific scenes are not shown they are more cringe-worthy as your mind gets to fill in the details.

But the standout is Jeffrey Combs of Reanimator/From Beyond fame that plays the host of the WORST DINNER PARTY GAME EVER! He balances his sociopathic morality with a genteel propriety that makes his character stand out from the disposable extras.

The twist ending is predictable and you wish the more dastardly character deaths were more horrific, but overall it is a very entertaining horror flick. The late, excellent Roger Ebert, would hate this movie, but I would never use his review for a horror movie. The average soul just wants to be entertained, and this flick, if you can handle a razor blade near the eye, does just that.
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

November 19, 2013
Seems that I have seen this premise before, but this had a little bit of a twist to it. Other than that, not the most original of movies....
Thomas J

Super Reviewer

August 6, 2013
This is not a movie to watch with the kids! lol Good horror/thriller/gross out movie.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

July 14, 2013
To a degree i enjoyed this movie! I enjoyed the concept and the brutalness of this movie and i enjoyed the ending, there was just something the didnt scream amazing! Its a good moral dilema and questions everything about what you would do!
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

March 2, 2013
three stars
Shawn M

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2013
Very cool, has a SAW like storyline but with a really good twist.
Daniel P

Super Reviewer

June 8, 2014
Unoriginal and rather unpleasant; it has some surprisingly familiar faces in the cast and an interesting music score, and the occasional nice shot, but the twists are spectacularly obvious and the seriousness of it all becomes deadening. Some humour would have helped.
Erin C

Super Reviewer

June 12, 2014
This reminded me a lot of the Saw series. There were portions that were predictable, but overall, I thought it was a good movie. Very creepy and disturbing.
Adam M

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2014
An interesting idea, Would You Rather, based around an old school truth or dare style game but this time with deadly consequences and a big cash prize for the winner. Jeffrey Combs enjoying his role as the rich, possibly kind but ultimately sadistic businessman who invites some randoms who are having a hard time round to his house. What the guests don't know is that the Would You Rather game involves them and pain. Maybe death.
An interesting premise but with plot holes all over the place, and the wimping out of what could be decent moments of gore as well as a bit of an annoying ending, not even former porn queen Sasha Grey can stop this becoming a piss poor take on torture porn that could've been so much better with its morality subtext peaking some interest. I'd rather rip out my eyes and shove them in my ears than have to sit through this again. A shame.
Sylvester K

Super Reviewer

May 21, 2013
It's a better than average horror thriller thanks to the ensemble. Although a little disappointing at the end, it still managed to be quite psychologically challenging.
February 26, 2014
I'm a fan of this scale of horror films, low budget, but still very respectable looking and a decent story, plus this has some pretty big actors to boot, hell June Squibb is in it and she just got nominated for an oscar, even though it may sound like a saw ripoff, it's still got good ideas and i was very engrossed throughout, once it starts it never really lets up, combs and snow are really good, and adult film star sasha grey proves she can do other roles well besides porn, def recommend for horror fans
July 26, 2013
A twisted, brutal thriller, Would You Rather brings together a series of guests who must decide between self-mutilation and torture of others. Its essential ethical quandary gets methodically elevated to truly sadistic proportions as we watch the various characters reveal their true selves through their actions.
November 15, 2013
This was a pretty solid little indy flick. Jeffrey Combs is always a blast. Worth a redbox checkout/netflix/whatever.
muveeKween
April 18, 2013
Really good!! I enjoyed this very much. Brittany Snow did great! Great plot and great acting..Fantastic cast! Crazy ending but overall the movie was engaging and entertaining.
March 24, 2013
Basically, torture porn and "Ten Little Indians" go on a fancy dinner date. It is fairly original with some interesting characters, but there's also more than a few eyeroll events and no real surprises from the script.
GabrielKnight
February 17, 2013
This psychological thriller has its flaws for sure, but I found it tense and compelling, and I was taken aback by a couple of unexpected plot turns.
February 13, 2013
Horror fans rejoice! This is a clever and nasty little exercise featuring the brilliant Jeffrey Combs (Reanimator, From Beyond) and the lovely Brittany Snow (Pitch Perfect). While some of the "torture" elements have been done before, Would You Rather puts a fresh spin on the formula, adding elements of Agatha Christie's "10 Little Indians," as well as presenting the viewer with the moral dilemma of how far someone is willing to go to make all their problems go away. The ending left something to be desired, and Sasha Grey's acting is memorably atrocious, but I still highly recommend this to fans of suspenseful horror films. It really gets under your skin.
Mark B

Super Reviewer

September 16, 2014
Forget the mainstream critics reviews.This movie will mostly be enjoyable to horror fans. Not to bash the critics, but don't they read the movie description before watching, like: "She arrives to find herself ... forced to play a sadistic game of Would You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive." That line should either turn them off completely, or at least force them to review it from a fan's perspective.

The movie has a great premise AND original story with fine acting to boot (rare in a B-movie). Budget limits are effectively managed so that you barely notice the low budget impact. In fact, because some of the more horrific scenes are not shown they are more cringe-worthy as your mind gets to fill in the details.

But the standout is Jeffrey Combs of Reanimator/From Beyond fame that plays the host of the WORST DINNER PARTY GAME EVER! He balances his sociopathic morality with a genteel propriety that makes his character stand out from the disposable extras.

The twist ending is predictable and you wish the more dastardly character deaths were more horrific, but overall it is a very entertaining horror flick. The late, excellent Roger Ebert, would hate this movie, but I would never use his review for a horror movie. The average soul just wants to be entertained, and this flick, if you can handle a razor blade near the eye, does just that.
August 30, 2014
This is pure sadism and the script is not enough to justify all this stuff. But the direction is good and Britanny Snow is perfect. In a way, "Would you Rather" is perfect if you are searching for a movie like "Saw".
January 29, 2013
A sinking sense of dread keeps this low-budget thriller on its feet as the number of guests diminishes one by one. It maintains its chilling ambiance by growing increasingly horrific without ever devolving into full-on "torture porn". Jeffery Combs is the true star of this movie, easily outshining the rest of the cast with his sadistic delight as the ironically named Shepard Lambrick.
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile