Zero Day Reviews

Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
Variety
July 22, 2008
Top Critic

Denver Post
June 12, 2004
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
May 28, 2004
My reaction to Zero Day closely mirrored my reaction to Gus Van Sant's Elephant. Neither film tries to exploit tragedy, but I'm not sure either succeeds in telling us much we don't already know.
| Original Score: C+
Top Critic
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
May 21, 2004
Murky.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
April 23, 2004
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
January 22, 2004
A pointless and tiresome exercise.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Gary Dowell
Dallas Morning News
January 22, 2004
Mr. Coccio's conclusions -- or lack thereof -- may seem a little pat at times, but as a pseudo-case study of adolescent ego and aimless nihilism channeled into a fit of violence, it's like a bucket of ice water in the face.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
January 9, 2004
Small, often-riveting movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
December 5, 2003
Insidious and haunting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
December 5, 2003
There are images in Zero Day that linger and gnaw.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Glenn Lovell
San Jose Mercury News
December 4, 2003
As a promised 'wake-up call,' it's disturbingly sleep-inducing.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Curt Fields
Washington Post
October 24, 2003
Will chill you to your core.
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
October 24, 2003
Can't help but resonate with a ripped- from-the- headlines topicality.
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 8, 2003
I never found what the Coccio Brothers were saying through their surrogates, Andre and Cal, either convincing or compelling.
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
September 10, 2003
There's a thin line between purposefully banal and simply banal, and Ben Coccio's debut feature too often crosses it.
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
September 5, 2003
Ben Coccio lets the mostly banal Zero Day videos go on much too long. And in having the characters speechify about the futility of postmortems on their motivation, he hits the audience over the head with the proverbial hammer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic

AV Club
September 4, 2003
Top Critic
Elvis Mitchell
New York Times
September 3, 2003
What gives the movie its power is that even the most innocuous scenes in the boys' lives are shadowed by dread.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
September 3, 2003
It has a power and immediacy that makes it much more worthwhile than Home Room.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
September 2, 2003
Zero Day may not explain the reason such crimes are committed but it successfully defines evil as willful cruelty compounded by enormous self-absorption.