Joker Reviews

Feb 3, 2023
What makes this world so successful is the message. ... Negativity, like the trash, builds up over time when people are too stubborn to see the other perspective and compromise. There's a social divide in Gotham City that feels very real.
Nov 22, 2022
In the simply titled Joker, we get yet another version and this one is probably the most toxic of them all and not in a satisfying way.
Aug 22, 2022
As “Joker” slow-walks us towards its eventual maelstrom of iniquity, it never spells out how we should feel about its titular character.
Aug 20, 2022
Joker is violent, raw, and hits closer to home than many are willing to admit.
Aug 12, 2022
Phoenix's preparation for and commitment to this role honours Ledger and his other predecessors, with an exhausted physicality, contortionist and Gollum-gaunt.
Apr 12, 2022
The Joker is a powerful idea about accountability in our society but it's clear the script wasn't there. Luckily they were able to make it work with improv and interpretive dance.
Feb 23, 2022
It's less a genuinely transgressive approach than one closely modeled on the work of Martin Scorsese, and thus more an exercise in homage than rebellion. Even so, that won't stop people from aggrandizing it.
Feb 12, 2022
Every decade has that one transcendent film that, as time progresses, ultimately becomes a classic for cinephiles. As the 2010s decade comes to a close, the one film that will undoubtedly age like a fine wine is Todd Phillips masterpiece, Joker.
Feb 9, 2022
As committed as I was to Phoenixs performance, I found myself walking out of the theater wondering, why did we need to tell this deeply violent and triggering story now? Where does DC go from here and this standalone film?
Oct 2, 2021
"Joker" a lovely homage to films of a previous era and a subversive take on the "formula" of superhero/comic-book media.
Sep 5, 2021
If cinema's job is to make us feel, to make us reflect upon how we've been living life, and to acknowledge some of its own brand of crazy, then I think Joker did a damn good job.
Aug 10, 2021
It's a disappointing film only because it could have been so much better.
Jul 30, 2021
[Phoenix as the Joker] burns like he were an archangel on heroin, a contorted otherworldly presence that under a different constellation of stars would have ended up a saint.
Jun 24, 2021
Ultimately, Joker is neither deserving of the controversy it's stirred up nor some of the praise it's received. Phoenix's performance is the highlight of what is ultimately a relatively tame film.
Jun 14, 2021
An instant classic that sees Joaquin Phoenix translate a discombobulating sensation from the screen to your senses, while director Todd Phillips creates a melancholic psychodrama...
Apr 3, 2021
A male rage manifesto with ugly societal truths.
Feb 17, 2021
Although it has some of the hallmarks of a mainstream movie, there's little that's entertaining about Joker. Phoenix's version of the character is uncomfortable, and his off-putting nature will likely not inspire many repeat viewings.
Jan 31, 2021
It may not be a deep or realistic study of mental illness but it showcases Arthur's weariness at being treated as the cigarette butt under society's heel.
Jan 29, 2021
Joker is nothing more than a shallow homunculus of better films.
Jan 29, 2021
Phoenix gives the performance of his career, one already filled with admirable, transformative performances. But this one is different. This one is his cry for Oscar gold, and the masses will surely be chanting his name and singing his praises on high.
Do you think we mischaracterized a critic's review?