Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo Reviews

June 12, 2019
Despite some stimulating scenes, Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo becomes as tedious as ... well, like spending three hours on a nightclub saturated with electronic music, listening to futile conversations about the war of the sexes. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 4, 2019
Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo will surely go down as a footnote as one of the worst films to ever play in competition at Cannes. The movie actually makes cinema worse by its very existence.
May 29, 2019
A fundamental work. [Full review in Spanishi]
May 29, 2019
There is only here the mechanical repetition of self-absorption. [Full review in Spanish]
May 28, 2019
Clearly voyeuristic and slimy. [Full review in Spanish]
May 27, 2019
A monotonous and never ending exploitation. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 27, 2019
We are facing a 'tour de force' at a scant pace of career suicide. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 26, 2019
After about 30 minutes of twerking and its controversial sex scene, "Mektoub, My Love: Intermezzo" begins to feel like a human rights violation.
May 26, 2019
I can only ask myself what kind of substances the director has ingested and how they have affected his brain to perpetrate such endless stupidity. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 26, 2019
"Intermezzo" is the darker, more ambitious companion to "Canto Uno." It can feel overwrought at times, but the urban naturalism Kechiche pushes for is damn-near breathtaking to behold.
May 25, 2019
Beyond being tiresome, Intermezzo is just plain ugly, with seemingly little care given to the image - odd, perhaps, given that the film is so clearly and confrontationally about its own director's gaze.
Top Critic
May 24, 2019
In practice, however, the film is a slog of epic proportions, its trancelike repetitiveness threatening to destroy this critic's fragile grasp on time itself, ushering me into a new plane of star-child boredom.
May 24, 2019
Kechiche devotes about 60% of its runtime to extreme close-ups of jiggling female derrieres. And while that horrifyingly unexaggerated statistic may sound like a bit of a red flag to begin with, it only gets worse...
May 24, 2019
So little happens. [Full review in Spanish]
May 24, 2019
If only there was some point of interest for us to cling to, as the film seems merely a titillating safe space for leering heterosexual men content with watching scantily clad young women vibrate themselves against dance poles.
May 24, 2019
Almost the very first shot is of a woman's naked bottom, massively filling the screen, like an inflatable by Terry Gilliam.
May 24, 2019
Kechiche has always been an admirer of the female posterior, but here he shifts styles into what could be called gluteus maximalism, filling the screen with frantically gyrating hindquarters for literal hours on end.
May 24, 2019
While it's important to have seen Canto Uno in order to savour Intermezzo, this film in itself doesn't seem remotely essential.
May 24, 2019
[A] terminally indulgent macho doodle posing as a movie.
Top Critic
May 24, 2019
A dismaying creative dead end from an abundantly gifted filmmaker, the new film escalates its predecessor's cheeky protest to a form of acute auteur trolling.