The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The X-Files: I Want to Believe (The X Files 2) Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 8, 2017
Time has moved on, and it is hard to find a reason to believe in what is presented here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 21, 2017
The movie-a big fat episode, essentially, with a noticeably constrained budget-is a satisfying thriller, with romantic and religious angst substituting for explosions and chase scenes.
August 17, 2017
I Want to Believe will be tossed on the heap with the rest of the unnecessary remakes, adaptations and sequels.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 25, 2016
...this essentially feels like an extended episode of the series...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 15, 2013
There was a lot of secrecy surrounding the new X-Files movie... But the film's big secret is out now: it sucks.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 14, 2012
Even the apologists will have to admit that this is not the X-Files movie they'd hoped for.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 7, 2011
Is it a stirring final hurrah for the show, wrapping up all its dangling plot threads? No. Is it an excellent evocation of what the show was, with a depth of soul and character most thrillers still don't bother with? Yes.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 22, 2010
The X Files: I Want to Believe ... feels like a TV episode that's been stretched out of shape, like a badly washed jumper
August 30, 2009
A sloppy, second-rate entry in the catalog of standalone X-Files adventures.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 15, 2009
It was darker and murkier, and I didn't enjoy spending time with the characters, as I had on Friday nights more than ten years ago.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 14, 2009
A handful of TV series have moved from lengthy small screen runs to the big screen; few can match The X-Files in consistent quality and ability to engage its audience.
Read More | Original Score: 75/100
December 9, 2008
Only a fan would be inclined to tolerate this dunderheaded mystery.
September 8, 2008
Unfortunately for this movie, television has evolved well past this degree of silliness and spoon feeding, leaving our beloved X-Files in the vault. I wanted to believe it would be fun movie, but this was definitely time spent.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 27, 2008
X-Files: I Want to Believe %u2014 it's almost like a mantra that Chris Carter is trying to get the audience to hear. Say it enough times and they will believe. Well, that's not the case.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 17, 2008
The X-Files 2: I Want to Believe isn't a groundbreaking film by any stretch %u2014 but that it challenges the viewer to consider certain moral imperatives in a season devoted to films revolving around explosions and fart jokes makes it a daring pie
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4
August 11, 2008
If you are going to go back to the 90s for source material, it had better come juiced with some modern day action.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 8, 2008
Carter has with The X-Files: I Want to Believe created a mediocre mystery that relies too frequently on coincidence and screenwriting convenience to elicit genuine interest, much less "belief" in its twists and turns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 6, 2008
There's a very strong spiritual underside to The X-Files: I Want to Believe. It gives the story a lot of emotional weight, while also making the creepy stuff that much more disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 2, 2008
Mulder and Scully are finally back on the case, but after six years apart, they could use a little platitude adjustment.
August 1, 2008
It's like an especially gloomy episode of the series, stretched a bit too long. And we miss the ad breaks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 9