American Horror Story: Apocalypse Episode 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Horror Story: Apocalypse Episode 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Stephen Patterson
What Culture
September 27, 2018

Surprise, b*itch! American Horror Story is back with a vengeance.

Kenneth Broome
Black Nerd Problems
September 18, 2018

I'm a bit more excited about this season, but a large part of that excitement comes from the fact that my personal favorite season from the franchise, Coven, will have my witches coming back to hopefully give me all the magic I need.

Stephanie Archer
Film Inquiry
September 15, 2018

As amazing as this episode was, I did find myself more concerned with the things that I did not see - such as the cast members from Murder House and Coven. My hope for this crossover season is that they will not be confined to one or two episodes.

Megan Reynolds
The Muse/Jezebel
September 14, 2018

This makes for an interesting thought experiment. Maybe it will also be compelling television.

Alci Rengifo
Entertainment Voice
September 14, 2018

The season premiere of Apocalypse starts off as a satirical and hilarious romp.

Caralynn Lippo
Tell-Tale TV
September 14, 2018

It's an aptly-named episode and a fine introduction to what promises to be a campy season, with plenty of fun callbacks to characters and plots of seasons past.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dustin Rowles
Pajiba
September 14, 2018

It's a promising premiere, though it's not exactly clear where it's heading. But that's part of the appeal of AHS. H

Alyse Wax
Syfy Wire
September 14, 2018

There is a lot to like about this season, and a lot to dislike -- so far. In the "like" column, we have the apocalypse. It seems like something we are facing with greater reality every day.

Dan Fienberg
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
September 13, 2018

If I had to describe this season's genre, it wouldn't be end-of-the-world horror. It would be The Simpsons parodies of end-of-the-world movies, as if a seven-minute "Treehouse of Horror" installment will be spread out over a season.

Amanda Steele
Culturess
September 13, 2018

It still remains to be seen how everything ties together this season, but we are intrigued.

Spencer Kornhaber
The Atlantic
Top Critic
September 13, 2018

This is broad satirical stuff, sure, but it's notable that the show's writers can't be bothered to reach past punch lines about our own world's fads of five years ago.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
September 13, 2018

In the hands of long-time AHS director Bradley Buecker, the opening segment is one of the most horrifying things on broadcast television due to just how uncomfortably plausible it all is.

Nick Venable
CinemaBlend
September 13, 2018

Had all the classic trademarks of an American Horror Story opener: big stars, big laughs, big shocks, and some disturbing moments you'd only want to watch between a dead person's fingers.

Daniel D'Addario
Variety
Top Critic
September 13, 2018

The moments of genuine pain gleaned from the first moments of the [premiere] episode redeem the somewhat aimless, camping next 45 minutes.

Andy Swift
TV Line
September 13, 2018

In true Horror Story fashion, the season's first supernatural moment comes paired with the season's first shower scene.

Phil Owen
TheWrap
Top Critic
September 13, 2018

It's "American Horror Story," so I guess we should have expected the first episode of "Apocalypse" to be weird and confusing, but this one feels particularly obtuse. That's not a criticism - just a note about how extra-weird this season is shaping up .

Jackie Strause
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
September 13, 2018

The chaos has won...The eighth season of Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk's horror anthology firmly established a new world with the launch of Apocalypse.

Kevin Fallon
The Daily Beast
September 13, 2018

Wednesday night's premiere of American Horror Story: Apocalypse marked a welcome return to camp for the long-running FX franchise.

Sesali Bowen
Refinery29
September 13, 2018

It's a bad omen if there ever was one and this has secret society written all over it. I'm pretty sure Miriam and Wilhemina served the residents human flesh in order to boost morale after they killed him.

Ed Power
Daily Telegraph (UK)
September 13, 2018

Apocalypse, on the basis of its first hour, will stand shoulder to shoulder with its predecessors. This was a silly, ghastly soufflé that bounced between horrific and hilarious and was never less than completely exhilarating.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2