Bridgerton: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 17, 2021
Based on Julia Quinn's tantalizing bodice-rippers. it's perfectly timed frothy, fun escapism...
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 16, 2021
Bridgerton is peddling an insulting brand of aesthetic level justice through the common vocabulary of representation. It's way past time to complicate that vocabulary.
January 13, 2021
Apart from the diverse cast and the regular bouts of bone-bumping, it was largely by the numbers costume drama stuff, the kind of thing a computer programme might have come up with if you typed in "sex, Austen, luxe fabrics".
January 9, 2021
The on-screen information given for individual titles can be infuriatingly unhelpful.
January 8, 2021
Sex, nudity, smoking in sumptuous, diverse period drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 8, 2021
This new Shondaland smash, her first for Netflix, is set in 1813 London and features color-blind casting, a mega-sexy star in Rege-Jean Page and enough ravishing romance to take your mind off the latest Covid surge. Get ready to swoon.
January 7, 2021
Bridgerton is witty, daring, refreshing, and may just have reinvigorated the costume drama.
January 7, 2021
If you're pernickety about how to address nobles, or the correct depth of a curtsy, you won't enjoy this much, but once you relax your grip on the historical data it becomes good fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 7, 2021
Grand in lusciousness and devilishly scandalous creator Chris Van Dusen gives us something old with something new, twists it, reverses it and adds a delicious handful of inclusivity that leaves you wanting more.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 6, 2021
When it comes to quality television, Bridgerton truly offers up a good match.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 5, 2021
Bridgerton gives us everything we're craving right now: extravagant parties, elaborate outfits, salacious gossip, human touch.
January 4, 2021
I was not madly in love with the show, but I was endlessly amused by it.
December 31, 2020
What sets this show above other sexy period dramas of its kind is its emphasis on the relationships between its characters, from friendships and romantic entanglements to familial bonds.
December 30, 2020
An experience I'd definitely recommend to others.
December 29, 2020
Outside of the amazing diversity (which was amazing to see) this show is brilliantly brought to life by the cast of actors. There honestly is not a bad performance in the bunch, something rare given the amount of speaking parts.
December 29, 2020
Addicting, colorful, sexy, and filled with scandal and drama. I can't think of a better way to close out 2020.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 29, 2020
It's brilliantly cast and it all looks gorgeous -- the flower arrangements alone must have cost a bomb. Solid telly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 29, 2020
A wonderfully fun Regency Lite social comedy series.
December 28, 2020
I thought Bridgerton handled well the history connected to high-stakes storylines on race, pregnancy and abortion, and same-sex love, but a few more splashes of history elsewhere might have served the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 28, 2020
My empty, end-of-the-year brain was well served by the burlesque of selfish viscounts, conniving ladies of the house, and enterprising modistes. Less pleasurable were certain attempts at seriousness.
Page 1 of 5