Game of Thrones: Season 5 Episode 10 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 5 Episode 10 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
April 12, 2019

If "Mother's Mercy" offered some familiar frustrations, along with a lot of gruesome and/or morally ambiguous moments, it also offered a lot of great individual moments that let this cast shine.

David Crow
Den of Geek
April 4, 2019

"Mother's Mercy" did not feature anything as visually extravagant as when Drogon lit up dozens of people like immolation was going out of style. But it certainly left the sullied and unsullied alike feeling like they got kicked in the stomach.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Scott Meslow
The Week
April 4, 2019

When a TV show like Game of Thrones piles up bodies, there's only one question left to answer: Who's actually dead, anyway?

Charlie Jane Anders
io9.com
April 4, 2019

The season finale of Game of Thrones was basically a series of vignettes where various characters got their revenge... usually with an ironic twist. It was a lot to take in.

Myles McNutt
AV Club
Top Critic
April 4, 2019

"Mother's Mercy" is a culmination of this narrative, a very typical finale for Game Of Thrones in its conscious look ahead to next season.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Alyssa Rosenberg
Washington Post
Top Critic
April 4, 2019

"Mother's Mercy," though, was a fitting end to a season that asked what we will do to the people we love, and where we go when even family can't save us.

Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
Top Critic
April 4, 2019

But this is "Game of Thrones!" Melisandre is around and there's a direwolf just waiting to be warged. Is he gone or isn't he? Let the debating begin.

Sarah Marrs
Lainey Gossip
April 4, 2019

This is a great episode.

Erik Kain
Forbes
April 4, 2019

I'm still excited for next season, but I find myself slinking back into the book camp now, tail between my legs.

Bridie Roman
SFX Magazine
April 4, 2019

In a finale stuffed with exciting moments it's hard to say what was best. Every single character had a defining scene.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Michael Rougeau
Mashable
April 4, 2019

Oh, and the Benjen thing? Putting it in the "previously on" before the episode? That was just mean.

Dave Trumbore
Collider
April 4, 2019

While the finale was unnecessarily painful to the characters within it and the audiences watching it, each of us has only ourselves to blame because we keep coming back for more. Shame, shame, shame.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michelle Duff
Stuff.co.nz
April 4, 2019

Seriously, so many cliffhangers this episode.

Aaron Riccio
Slant Magazine
April 4, 2019

All men must die, and yet in the North, the White Walkers refuse to do so and across the ocean in Valyria, those with greyscale persist.

Alex Mullane
Digital Spy
April 4, 2019

While it doesn't feature any epic battles, it's nevertheless an episode brimming with bloodshed, and one that sees off a number of characters - whether permanently or just temporarily.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
April 4, 2019

"Mother's Mercy" felt like a final mad scramble to bring it all past the finish line.

Julie McDowall
The Herald (Scotland)
July 16, 2018

I don't object to violence on TV but I resent it when it's simply done for its own sake, rather than to advance a scene or shade a character.

William Evans
Black Nerd Problems
June 22, 2018

THAT GOTDAMN BELL. Cersei ain't gonna remember being called the C-word or having shit thrown on her shoulder. What's gonna keep her up at night is that gotdamn bell ringing, fam.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 15, 2018

Game of Thrones Season 5 has come to the close of its most brutal season yet, dispensing precious little "Mother's Mercy" on any of its core characters.

Betsy Bozdech
Common Sense Media
June 18, 2015

No other show does blindside deaths quite like GoT, and the one at the end of "Mother's Mercy" was up there with the most brutal of them all -- literally and figuratively. With so many characters' arcs irrevocably changed, Season 6 can't come soon enough.

Page 1 of 3