Once Upon a Time: Season 5 Reviews

January 18, 2019
Once Upon A Time returned for its fifth season with a fantastic episode centered on Emma's journey to becoming the new Dark One better known as "The Dark Swan."
June 27, 2018
Once Upon A Time threw some real life notions into the mix.
August 10, 2016
It's comforting to know Once Upon a Time is there as an entertainment families can rally around, and one that will challenge them thematically as much as it panders by playing in the Disney sandbox. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 29, 2015
The cast is still superlative and the emotional dynamics between the core characters are still compelling. Everything else (like the plot and the wigs and the Charmings' track record as parents) is at least bad enough to be funny.
September 28, 2015
Fool me once, shame on you, Storybrooke; fool me twice, what the hell, I'm still here, aren't I?
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 28, 2015
Morrison delivered some of her best work on the show to date, and it's terrific to see the plot focus on a member of the regular cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.4/10
September 28, 2015
Once Upon a Time's season 5 premiere starts the season out right, delivering on an Emma gone bad but still showing her struggle to keep ahead of the darkness.
September 28, 2015
With a smart decision to focus on the lead characters and not the overall "gimmick" plot of the season, Once Upon A Time feels renewed with a dark energy in its shockingly sprightly fifth year.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 28, 2015
The fifth season is off to a good start, I just hope they can keep the focus on Emma and not go off onto a bunch of random tangents.
September 28, 2015
The quest to find Emma took several twist and turns.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.4/5
September 28, 2015
I think this was one of the stronger season premieres that Once has had. The new characters worked well, and the introduction of Camelot was intriguing. I cannot wait to see what happens next!
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 27, 2015
This season's first episode [is] one of the best season openers of Once Upon a Time's five seasons.
Full Review | Original Score: B+