Star Trek: Discovery: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 22, 2019
This season sees the crew discover whether there's still material to be squeezed out of the original series.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
April 24, 2019
Star Trek has never adequately applied its own philosophy of IDIC-'Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations'-to gender and sexuality. Discovery attempts to rectify that.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 19, 2019
I have no idea where we're going, or when, or why.
April 19, 2019
With a course correction and a potential spin-off, this new age of Star Trek finally achieves escape velocity from the old.
March 26, 2019
Season two uses fan favorite characters to bolster its strong cast without relying too heavily on the franchise's existing lore.
March 21, 2019
Tilly, meanwhile, was just as delightful as always... Stamets might want her to "say fewer things," but I don't!
March 21, 2019
I enjoyed it precisely because it was an episode of Star Trek: Discovery and not a slavish attempt to revisit old Trek favorites.
March 21, 2019
Discovery is working as hard as it can to shake off the stigma of its gritty, unfocused first season and bring fans back in, but perhaps at the cost of some of its personality.
March 21, 2019
The "Discovery" season premiere...offers a mix of resetting characters and action sequences. But it also embraces Pike's mandate for a lighter tone thanks largely to the Pike character.
March 21, 2019
The premiere's central action scene is stunning, demonstrating that Trek doesn't need phaser fire and battle scenes to be viscerally exciting.
March 21, 2019
A confusing, although entertaining, new beginning.
March 21, 2019
The digital effects are cinematic.
Top Critic
March 21, 2019
A fun, nostalgic, energetic re-entry that makes up for that sometimes bloated bore of a first season.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2019
Star Trek: Discovery appears to be rejoining the explorer's path - a gentler one, maybe, but no less invigorating and perhaps a bit freer from fear.
February 6, 2019
While we wait for an indefinite time for the further adventures of the Enterprise crew on the big screen, Star Trek Discovery more than makes up for that absence on your television.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 1, 2019
After introducing new characters and new mysteries, the sci-fi series risks stalling out with a pivot back to its worst storylines.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 31, 2019
Season 2 feels like it has already struck a better balance between the essence of what Star Trek is at its core and its requirement to reform for the modern age.
January 24, 2019
The latest episode left me disappointed... I had forgotten the names of many of Star Trek: Discovery's main characters, felt myself scrolling through my phone during 'emotional' moments and found things more laughable than I did engaging.
January 23, 2019
Fast-moving, exciting, building on what went before. But the thing that concerns me is that the writers seem very hung up on how their show relates to the rest of Star Trek.
January 18, 2019
I really like how much money whoever in charge is spending on Star Trek Discovery.
Page 1 of 2