Ben is Back Reviews

Page 1 of 11
August 30, 2019
Lucas [Hedges] delivers another excellent, performance, but Julia Roberts as Holly struggling with her son gives one that is emotionally charged and compelling.
July 8, 2019
Hedges has been a star since his first role and he has had career-making performances in some of the best films of 2017 and 2018 alongside some of Hollywood's biggest names.
June 23, 2019
Nineteen-year-old drug abuser Ben Burns unsettles his family by showing up on the doorstep on Christmas Eve, when he should by rights still have been in rehab.
June 18, 2019
The screenplay flirts with implausibility, but it draws up a compelling plot that squarely falls on mother and son.
May 23, 2019
Very accurate and thrilling depiction of a day in the life of an addicts' recovery with outstanding performances!
May 21, 2019
Hedges and Roberts are a formidable pair that stabilise the flm when it threatens to teeter slightly out of control with an ending that feels a bit too effortful.
May 18, 2019
Roberts delivers one of her finest performances yet as Holly Burns, a ferocious mama bear who exudes a kind of stalwart resolve through her vulnerability.
May 12, 2019
It has a "movie of the week" flavor to it. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 9, 2019
[Director Peter Hedges] mixes the sweet with the most sour. [Full review in Spanish]
May 9, 2019
Strong performances from Hedges and Roberts are where Ben is Back anchors its feelings and relatability. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 7, 2019
A sensible and potent melodrama. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 6, 2019
We must praise [the film's] restraint and emotional balance. [Full review in Spanish]
May 1, 2019
Strives for honesty in its depiction of drug addiction, not just for the user but their family who are, at times, more affected by this crippling disease
April 30, 2019
Oscar-worthy performances from Roberts and Hedges only add to the devastating power of Ben is Back.
April 11, 2019
Ben Is Back successfully skirts cliches and subverts addiction drama conventions, but it eventually veers into quasi-thriller territory built around the search for a stolen dog...
April 3, 2019
For all its good intentions, Ben Is Back is at most a satisfactory watch, but a remarkable showcase for both Lucas Hedges and Julia Roberts.
March 22, 2019
"Roberts is great when she plays characters with certain levels of neurasthenia or even aggressiveness".
March 22, 2019
The portrait that Peter Hedges creates in Ben is Back is genuine, honest and never feels like it's preaching at you. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 22, 2019
An entertaining and heartfelt story about redemption, addiction, familial bonds.
March 20, 2019
A clumsy, meandering film that will test your patience long before it has a chance to break your heart.
Page 1 of 11