Ben is Back - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ben is Back Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 22, 2019
"Roberts is great when she plays characters with certain levels of neurasthenia or even aggressiveness".
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 22, 2019
The portrait that Peter Hedges creates in Ben is Back is genuine, honest and never feels like it's preaching at you. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 21, 2019
An entertaining and heartfelt story about redemption, addiction, familial bonds.
March 20, 2019
A clumsy, meandering film that will test your patience long before it has a chance to break your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 20, 2019
A gripping entertainment that gets across worthwhile truths about contemporary strains of an ancient disease.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 19, 2019
When Julia Roberts is good, she's really good.
March 18, 2019
Expect nice acting from Roberts and Hedges, an awful lot of swearing from the former and a Christmas Eve that seems to go on for ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 18, 2019
Ben is a much more slippery character than you think...but Roberts is at her best in the movie's first hour, when everything is still up in the air, as her megawatt smile flickers with uncertainty and little prickles of dread over what Ben might do next.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 18, 2019
While Roberts and Hedges work together to conjure the sense of a loving, fraught relationship, the film itself rarely takes any risks, either from a narrative or visual standpoint.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 18, 2019
Holly might be a suburban mother but experience has made her a streetfighter in spirit. Never mind Ben, Roberts is back.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 18, 2019
The astonishing chemistry makes you wonder how long Julia Roberts had secretly been Lucas Hedges' mother without telling anyone.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 17, 2019
Roberts is often the best, or one of the best, things about any film she's in - and Ben Is Back is no different.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 17, 2019
The material feels more like a play than a film, its drama shrunk down into a single, digestible day, but it's affecting in its muted seriousness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 15, 2019
This is one of those rare Hollywood movies that keeps you guessing, where you don't see the ending coming 20 minutes in.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 15, 2019
[Roberts] plays Ben's mother with sadness, desperation and inner steel. She is the primary reason to see this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 15, 2019
I enjoyed this, the performances are fantastic - but I preferred it without the drama, if that makes sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 15, 2019
Hedges and Roberts do their substantial best to keep it real, but there's a final-act lurch into melodrama that seems at odds with the earlier sensitivity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 14, 2019
[Lucas Hedges] brings a double-edged quality to his role as the recovering addict.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 14, 2019
[Chalamet] can't save this faux gritty film from its melodramatic plotting or its public-service-announcement-style moralising.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 14, 2019
[Julia Roberts is] at her very best here, playing a fierce and desperate mother determined to stick by her first-born whatever the cost.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 10