Dialogue avec mon jardinier (Conversations with My Gardener) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dialogue avec mon jardinier (Conversations with My Gardener) Reviews

Page 1 of 9
May 2, 2015
the story line was great the whole movie in fact was great you got hints of how the ending was going to be during the movie and i`m a fan of happy endings but it was not to be...but i still rate this movie in my top 10 and i watch and go to a lot of movies...
½ April 23, 2014
Remarkable film --simple story, no Hollywood fanfare, yet touching, and the final hour of the movie was just phenomenally good, complemented by Mozart's Clarinet concerto in A major. Beautiful!!
November 4, 2013
Daniel Auteuil (Dupinceau) et Jean-Pierre Darroussin (Dujardin) nous emmènent ...
November 3, 2013
Heureusement le film est plus intelligent que son postulat de départ. Un parisien redécouvre les joies de la vie grâce au bon sens campagnard au travers des dialogues avec son jardinier, ancien ami d'enfance. Pour être heureux cultivons notre jardin... Le thème est un peu simplet et plein de bon sentiments, mais la réalisation ne l'est pas. Elle met le doigt sur cette étrangeté du caractère humain, on peut être cultivé et con, bête et intelligent, bête et con, cultivé et intelligent. Le bon sens dépend de quoi au fond ? Une chose dont je suis certain on s'enrichit toujours dans la générosité et le partage. (Pourtant parfois si difficile à mettre en pratique). Il y a autre chose aussi de fort dans l'acceptation de l'inéluctable et dans le réconfort de faire ce qu'on aime et d'être fidèle aux valeurs que l'ont s'est fixé.
½ November 12, 2012
I loved how the painter and gardener are both mature enough to accept each others' different values and perspectives on life. The conversations are absolutely superb. This is why I love french cinema.
September 20, 2011
As you would expect for a Daniel Auteuil film, there are some very amusing bits. This one is slightly different from some of his previous lighter films because it is also quite thoughtful and sad. I loved how Daniel's character is impressed by his friend's ability to enjoy the simple things in life and how he expresses this is an art series - the small details of his friend's life are simply represented on canvas - like the pen knife that he carried because you never know when you might need to cut something, the slippers that he used to wear under his gum boots because they were more comfortable than socks and it meant he could take off his boots at the door and already have on the right indoor footwear, etc.

-----------
Conversations With My Gardener [French title: Dialogue avec mon jardinier], 2007, Writer / Director Jean Becker, Starring Daniel Auteuil.

Film seen by me: Sunday 15 July 2007.
Super Reviewer
½ July 22, 2011
This is a gentle film about two school friends who are reunited and spend a summer talking to each other about where their lives have gone. The film is driven by dialogue and is in many ways quintessentially French--a disillusioned French artist on the verge of divorce philosophizes about life with his gardener. On the surface it is as simple as a glass of wine on a Sunday afternoon. But somehow it sustains itself to explore a long-standing friendship.
½ May 8, 2011
A film I have heard very nice things about and it partially turned out to be true. This is a very enjoyable film even if you're just watching a painter and his gardener sharing words between them. They talk about real things. Life, death, love, gardening, art, music and their pasts to name a few topics. The film is very natural and realistic - just as the characters. I sadly lost the first five minutes or so, and having some live sport tournament on my computer screen on mute killed some of the experience. Not much I guess, but a tiny little bit. A film that will make you smile and think - maybe you even will take some advice from that fantastic garden man. Sadly it didn't move me as much as films like this often does.
May 7, 2011
Beautifully soft and gentle. The tale of a warm friendship between two men who are seemingly from two different worlds, but who have merely travelled different paths. The coming together and sharing of warmth and conversation. I laughed, I cried, but mostly I enjoyed the glow that remained once the film had ended. One to be watched over and over again.
February 21, 2011
Great film! Expertly done. Absolutely loved it, watching it on a flight from Chennai to New York.
½ October 26, 2010
This movie was marked as "Comedy" so I was expecting a kind of French farce, but this was far better than I'd hoped: a wonderful look at friendship, what drives us, and finding contentment in the everyday and the routine. Told in a slow, meandering way: much like how a garden grows. And the end result is equally as satisfying.

Great performances by the talented Daniel Auteuil and Jean-Pierre Darroussin also.
September 15, 2010
Loved the birthday cake.
June 27, 2010
Love Daniel Auteuil, and love this feel good film.
February 5, 2010
typical French film; not a great deal happens, no-one gets shot, no spectacular special effects, no big stars, but wonderful acting and staging that draws you in completely.
February 3, 2010
Un tres bon film a regarder tous les 5 ans ou plus, si on aime la campagne francaise....
½ January 29, 2010
I really enjoyed this at the VCU French Film Festival in 2008. The director was there to answer questions and I was quite in awe of his remarks. Few friendship movies are as nuanced as this one.
December 16, 2009
Ce film ne sert vraiment a rien !
October 27, 2009
A really sweet movie. So funny, so sad, so cute ... so French.
½ October 12, 2009
A quiet story, but loved the warm converstation of the two. Hope to find such a friend in my life too.
October 11, 2009
un petit film délicieux
Page 1 of 9