Murder on the Orient Express Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 9, 2017
The idea is that everything will be more interesting if Sean Connery or Ingrid Bergman, rather than the characters they play, is suspected of having committed the foul deed. The device does not work, despite the [actors'] occasionally droll efforts.
March 26, 2009
Agatha Christie's 1934 Hercule Poirot novel has been filmed for the first time in a bygone film style as it seems to be some treasure out of a time capsule.
June 24, 2006
The formula can't fail: a first class journey on the '30s Orient Express, meticulous detail, a murder with all suspects aboard. In fact, the most suspect thing is the comfortable complacency of it all.
May 9, 2005
[A] terrifically entertaining super-valentine to a kind of whodunit that may well be one of the last fixed points in our inflationary universe.
October 23, 2004
Lumet overcomes his difficulties in great style, and we're never for a moment confused (except when we're supposed to be, which is most of the time).
January 1, 2000
[Lumet] uses the material only as a pretext for star turns, most of which turn much too heavily and much too slowly.
October 10, 2018
Regardless of the dust that covers its brilliance, this is a mystery film absolutely worth re-jumping on board for.
November 9, 2017
This is easily the best screen adaptation of an Agatha Christie whodunnit and, for those unfamiliar with either book or film, the solution will take your breath away.
November 9, 2017
As with all Agatha Christie stories, the solution to the mystery is rather ingenious. You may or may not see that solution ahead of time, but it hardly matters. The real joy in her work are the questions rather than the answer.
November 9, 2017
Very enjoyable, but frankly, too many stars for its own good.
November 7, 2017
Wonderfully glamorous, classic whodunit still entertains.
October 18, 2017
What it needs to make it work is a strong cast, and this version certainly succeeds in that regard.
June 20, 2015
I'm as fond of "production values" as the next fellow, maybe fonder, but I don't wish to be force-fed them by a soulless dietitian who knows what I as a consumer ought to want.
May 3, 2011
The major fun in watching Sidney Lumet's glitzy version of Agatha Christie is spotting the stars and observing their accents and eccentricties
March 23, 2008
February 13, 2007
Top heavy with suspects but low on thrills.
April 3, 2005
All-star murder-mystery fun.
January 15, 2005
Only Finney goes to extra length here to play the finicky Poirot, though for some reason Bergman was singled out for an Academy Award.
November 19, 2004
November 5, 2004
Though the ending's pretty obvious, even for those who haven't read the book, you can't deny the power of this cast.
Page 1 of 2