Ravenous - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ravenous Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
June 25, 2014
It's a layered and very unique satire on America's consumption of the world...
Top Critic
Simon Abrams
Village Voice
June 17, 2014
Imagine a film that makes A Modest Proposal-style satire out of Dracula's gothic horror tropes in the spaghetti western milieu of The Great Silence. It's a pitch-black comedy about Manifest Destiny and cannibal frontiersmen.
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
June 6, 2014
'He was licking me!' That plaintive, disgusted wail is pretty unforgettable once you've seen this one-of-a-kind tongue-in-cheek/blood-in-mouth historical horror movie that has garnered an appreciative cult audience...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
June 3, 2014
Ravenous is unlike anything else, and even if it's not to my own specific taste, I have great respect for its unrepentant weirdness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Noel Murray
The Dissolve
June 2, 2014
There's an awkwardness to Ravenous' more violent scenes, and while Carlyle and Jones give zesty performances, the rest of the supporting cast is quirky to a fault.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeff Beck
June 2, 2014
"Ravenous" could have turned out to be much more than what it ended up becoming, but thanks to an inability to take advantage of its creepy premise, all we get is a monotonous, forgettable, and worst of all, boring horror film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
October 14, 2013
More than just a gory horror film in period dress, though it bears saying over and over again that even as a simple Western-horror hybrid, this is pretty great.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 31, 2010
Director Antonia Bird and screenwriter Ted Griffin stir up an extremely unsavory concoction about cannibalism here.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
December 23, 2005
The plot begins brazenly, but the story becomes more conventional (though no less bloody) as it goes along.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
June 23, 2003
A terrifically well-made gory horror movie with splashes of humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
December 8, 2002
...one of those rare, genuinely subversive (of Hollywood values) films, like Beyond the Valley of the Dolls or Eating Raoul
Full Review| Original Score: ???
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
April 30, 2001
The one movie of 1999 that looks and feels like nothing you've seen before.
Full Review | Original Score: short
Andrew Howe
April 2, 2001
If you take it with a truckload of salt you may just find something of merit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kevin Lally
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
It's too arty for the genre gang, and too grim for the art crowd, and its tone wavers uncertainly between quirky comedy and blunt violence.
Widgett Walls
January 1, 2000
It'll be on cable soon enough--wait for it and you'll thank me.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Michael Dequina
January 1, 2000
Accomplishes the seemingly impossible task of being overstuffed and undercooked at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Dustin Putman
January 1, 2000
I found myself often shrinking down in my seat, afraid to see what was going to happen next, but not daring to take my eyes off the screen, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David N. Butterworth
January 1, 2000
Without a doubt the best -- and possibly only -- period cannibal horror comedy ever made!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 3