The 6th Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The 6th Day Reviews

Page 1 of 106
September 22, 2018
Passable Arnie action flick. Not Terminator or even Predator, but beats Commando! One of his last roles before becoming governor, this movie is a little nostalgic for being towards the end of the 80-90s Arnold movie train of cheeseball action flicks.
Looking back from 20 years on, this movie is a bit dated, but some of the predictions were pretty well done, and some of the science was thought provoking, although maybe someone should have brought up the 'well if i die and replace myself with a clone, that is still NOT ME AND I AM STILL DEAD'. The alluded to it a bit when Drucker said 'Aren't you doing to wait until I am dead?' That was funny.
Don't expect Oscars, but a decent popcorn movie.
½ January 11, 2018
As Arnie entered the new millennium he served up a cold rehash of one of his brighter days, namely Total Recall.
This is a Total Recall for all the family. It is not a bad movie and for fans of Arnie there is enough going on here to keep you interested...but...you just feel if they went for a darker tone with more gory violence they would have a much better film.

Arnie was reportedly paid 25m for this role, a more apt title would have been The Pay Day!
½ August 12, 2017
really cool idea for a movie. lots of cool concepts and futuristic predictions. the directions that the story took were frequently clever or interesting. this movie was also terrible. lots of old movie qualities, cheesiness, really dumb stuff that happens, plot holes. horrendous dialogue. the acting was terrible as was almost every casting decision. the guy who played the main villain was sooooo lame. that villain had potential. this whole movie could have been minorty-report-esque (about 3 viewings)


SPOILERS


i think i probably would have guessed that he was the clone based on my movie watching experience now, but i'm pretty sure back then that twist gave me the business.
½ July 11, 2017
Le principal apport du 6th Day est que tout le monde semble acquis au fait que le film soit une grosse comédie d'action vaguement sci-fi. Aucune scène du film de Roger Spottiswoode est jouée au sérieux. Il avait matière à faire de ce film une réflexion sur les clones et la course à l'armement, mais ici, on est ici pour voir Schwarzenegger défoncer Terry Crews, Michael Rooker et sa horde, tout en riant. Spottiswoode y arrive presque, mais son film dure malheureusement 2 heures, clairement une demi-heure de trop. Si le film ne perd jamais son sens de l'humour, il tombe parfois dans une vision du futur particulièrement ridicule (car trop proche, le film se passe en 2015) et se reposant bien trop sur des CGI absolument hideux. C'est dommage car Schwarzy se retrouve en double, que Tony Goldwyn (MICHAEL DRUCKER FFS) est un bon méchant et que l'idée générale est sympathique. Le twist marcherait presque s'il n'était téléphoné. The 6th Day est un film du dimanche soir de première catégorie, rien de plus.
July 6, 2017
O sexto dia tece humor, sátira e dilemas éticos em combinação com cenas de ação e ficção científica bem explicada, é leve e aborda questões sociais, apresentando razões pró e contra clonagem. Além disso o roteiro equilibra as cenas de ação e permite que Schwarzenegger desenvolva seu personagem mostrando que o Exterminador pode ser um homem de família normal.
May 26, 2017
The idea of it is great and Arnold Schwarzenegger give yet another great performance. The plot twist was well thought out.
May 7, 2017
Arnold Schwarzenegger mines familiar "Total Recall" reality questioning sci-fi territory with this fun, but routine action film. Set in the near future, where human cloning is a scientific reality, though outlawed, helicopter pilot Arnold wakes up after a corporate gig only to return home and sees a doppelgänger in his home celebrating his birthday with his family and friends. Can he stop this clone from taking his place? Is he the clone? Why would zillionaire Tony Goldwyn do such a thing? Directed by Roger Spottiswoode, the film feature plenty of competently filmed action, which is enough to carry the rather predictable story. Director of photography Pierre Mignot, one of Robert Altman's regular DPs, gives the film a rich look, as well does terrific production design by James Bissell. Overall, this is a pretty forgettable action film from Arnold, but it's entertaining and inoffensive enough.
April 20, 2017
Not sure why this got bad reviews...It has a Interesting premise about the future and human cloning. Solid action movie that makes you think what the world would be like if human cloning was possible. Definitely one of Arnold's best movies.
March 21, 2017
2017-03-21 ok but they copped out on the storyline; wife and kid should have been revealed to be clones or Adam should have been revealed as a 2-dot clone.
½ December 22, 2016
The irony of Schwarzenegger and the special effects are the only successful moves in this film, which could expect a better development
Super Reviewer
June 22, 2016
Still in the time when Arnold was just stuck making bad movies. Has almost a Total Recall meets The Island feel to it. The script just isn't that great and the story really doesn't suck you in as they sometimes do with a story about human clones. Plus Arnold is a helicopter pilot? I've found that the majority of his films (non-comedies) where he's not a soldier, police officer, etc. are not that great. I'd really only watch this one if you're hell bent on watching the entire Schwarzenegger filmography.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ April 30, 2016
I liked this film as it tried its hand at the cloning plot which started good but then just became another Arnie action flick and got abit silly at times, Pretty well acted at times it's far from a bad movie but could of been better perhaps given to the right people but saying that it could of been so much worse too.
April 11, 2016
This movie is AWESOME
March 11, 2016
Has been a long time since I had seen this one. Really wasn't all that good when it first came out and it has not held up well with the passage of time.
February 20, 2016
2/18/2016: Meh. Disappointing overall.
½ January 24, 2016
Interesting movie, average acting as usual from Arnold...
Super Reviewer
½ January 21, 2016
Run-of-the-mill actioner with name brand star headlining, a movie that asks whether or not cloning is morally right while ironically cloning several sequences from other movies. That's a shocker.
December 12, 2015
One of my favorite sci fi movies of all time. Arnold is great in it and its just a great imagination of what clones would be like.
½ November 28, 2015
thought this was made in the 80s
Page 1 of 106