The Age of Adaline Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 1, 2020
The joy of Lively's performance is that she creates a sympathetic and appealing character out of Adaline.
July 15, 2020
Gorgeous on a visual basis, but remains empty behind a heavily contrived plot, preposterous scientific mumbo jumbo, and unabashed romantic exaggeration.
April 28, 2020
One minute I'm baffled and the next minute I'm quite literally falling asleep.
April 28, 2020
This movie is so bizarre.
April 23, 2020
It is a film with a good technical polishing that takes great care to be an elegant production, but has much less success in achieving a content that at least approaches the level of its form. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 23, 2020
Ross's voice resonates in our heads with the same intensity as it did in Dominik's film, capturing the essence of the story with its kind, direct and serious tone. Unfortunately, the images say otherwise. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 15, 2019
The unhurried storytelling matches Adaline's endless life, making this a respectable date movie.
August 5, 2019
The audience is certainly offered plenty of beautiful bone structure featured in languid close-ups of the two leads, along with jewel-like, memorable moments of acting prowess from the older actors.
July 5, 2019
Takes its premise and squanders it on a run-of-the-mill romance that doesn't have the courage to tackle its themes head on.
May 10, 2019
The plot is both ridiculous and overly convenient, stealing screentime from the deserving thorough period production design.
March 14, 2019
The film's greatest gift might be that it harbors one of Ford's best performances in years. You can never tell these days how invested he'll be in any given project, but Krieger must have the magic touch.
March 12, 2019
I thought Lively was strong enough in the role and the chemistry between all was so good I enjoyed it.
February 15, 2019
If you are looking for a romance film with hints of science fiction, this is it. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 1, 2019
It's a lovely idea, but the film misses the mark.
January 25, 2019
The Age of Adaline is a plushly packaged and has its fantasy charms, but it could have been infinitely more impactful.
January 23, 2019
It's a film that takes itself way too seriously, even when there are campy elements that keep creeping into the material. It kept me interested to a point, before ultimately collapsing under the weight of its own silliness.
December 10, 2018
For a movie about a woman who has lived for more than a hundred years, it's disappointing - and more than a little bit baffling - that Adaline is so lacking in dimension.
August 31, 2018
It has the powerful tang of nostalgia, memory for things we knew or didn't know. It reminds us that time is precious and it's never too late to make a good life.
August 22, 2018
Director Lee Toland Krieger has achieved a rich and warm palette, with fascinating inside looks at rarely seen historic San Francisco sites. Really, there is so much to love about this film.
August 21, 2018
There's really very little passion conveyed which makes the story lackluster. It's just completely flat.
Page 1 of 9