The Ides of March - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 1 of 258
February 24, 2017
The Ideas of March is always going to have some sort of split of opinion because it's about politics. As a film, I thought it was well directed with interesting, intelligent characters. Everybody in the A list cast were good with Ryan Gosling, Even Rachel Wood, George Clooney, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Paul Giamatti giving particularly compelling performances. As for the screenplay, it make or breaks the film, it was let down on one or two occasions but for the rest, it was fantastic. I thought this was a fascinating, intriguing tale of betrayed and sneakiness that I will watch again.
February 16, 2017
Sayangnya, film ini masih dibawah ekspektasi saya. Pemain-pemain bagus ternyata belum menjadi sebuah jaminan mutlak. Film remake yang banyak menggunakan talent pemenang Academy Awards, seperti Clooney, Hoffmann, dan Tomei, sayangnya kurang terlalu memikat dengan film ini. Sepanjang 101 menit, penonton bukan dibawa untuk ke sebuah tontonan berbau politik yang mudah di cerna khalayak ramai, tetapi lebih ke sebuah tontonan politik yang dikemas begitu serius dan punya nilai intelejensi yang tinggi, sehingga akan sulit dimengerti oleh beberapa kalangan.
January 25, 2017
The Ides of March is a smart political drama with superb acting and a compelling story about power and corruption.
January 20, 2017
Exceptional dramatic political thriller... The Manchurian Candidate of its time. Great performances... On Blu-Ray.
January 3, 2017
Not a good movie to watch
December 29, 2016
Ärligt talat inget vidare. Och om amerikaner tror att det går till så här i politiken förstår jag att 50% stannar hemma när det är dags att gå till val.

Som bekant ger jag inte mycket för den parlamentariska demokratin, men jag vet också att göra en sansad bedömning. Och som thriller? Nope, det här har vi sett förr, och dessutom mycket skickligare utfört.
December 28, 2016
Gripping and engaging with a fascinating story.
December 22, 2016
Excellent acting and some gritty home truths about political morals and principles cannot rescue this good movie from two inescapable facts.

The George Clooney Hollywood democrat liberal fantasy about a pro abortion anti death penalty pro environment anti war atheist Presidential candidate is leftist intellectual day dreaming of the highest virtue signalling order.

Secondly the rather tame script's realism, doesn't sit at all well with 2016. Though I doubt this hyper real serious drama would have countenanced Trump any more than George's Marvellous liberal fantasy medicine candidate was in any way real....as it turns out it was even more unrealistic!
½ November 5, 2016
Cynical, entertaining piffle, but so crammed with movie star royalty (not just Gosling and Clooney, but the latelamented Philip Seymour Hoffman and Paul Giamatti play significant roles) that it would be hard for it not to be entertaining. I wish Giamatti and Hoffman had squared off at some point, but they didn't.
½ September 12, 2016
The acting, writing, and directing are all top notch here in this political drama. I was expecting a little more, it's a very good film that could've been great.
½ September 11, 2016
Half-baked and too cynical.
½ August 28, 2016
How many terrific performances in The Ides of March!
An extremely intriguing and well directed movie, definetely one of my favourite Political thrillers.
Good job George!
½ August 23, 2016
Is this a more authentic version of House of Cards, or is its cynicism just more naïve? The corruption of politics is fascinatingly told in this always great but especially poignant film. It's an argument against seeing any one individual as completely broken or evil, and instead blaming the corrupt system itself. The performances are super strong and the dialogue is endlessly clever in this not-fictional-enough black spot on American idealism (beautiful silhouette on a giant American flag).
August 16, 2016
Um espetáculo! Ryan Gosling está excelente neste drama-suspense político dirigido por Geroge Cloooney (sempre melhor atrás das câmeras). TUDO PELO PODER é envolvente e conta com uma narrativa muito bem amarrada, entre as melhores de 2011.
August 9, 2016
Great movie, well delivered, well acted, great cast.
July 22, 2016
****
Ryan Gosling and George Clooney shine in this political drama, with a great script and interesting characters.
July 19, 2016
A really solid political thriller.
July 16, 2016
Good drama. Little hard to believe at times.
½ June 19, 2016
Smart and well-acted.
May 22, 2016
Despite Clooney's blatant and repeated attempts to insert his own political agenda, the movie is entertaining
Page 1 of 258