The Thing About My Folks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Thing About My Folks Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 2, 2006
Reiser has given us a film that makes us laugh while contemplating the ways we understand and misunderstand those we love.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 1, 2006
Moderately appealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 13, 2006
The film is a little saccharine and never as moving as Reiser expected. I know Reiser loves his father, but I didn't need to pay to be told it.
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
December 31, 2005
The Thing About My Folks contains more sap than a Vermont maple.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
December 15, 2005
...provides [Falk] with an opportunity for his best work in a a Hollywood film since the hilarious and underrated Big Trouble (1986).
November 23, 2005
The truth about this sweet, rather shambling little movie is somewhere between the gush and the criticism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 4, 2005
It's a slow enjoyable ride where you aren't asking "are we there yet?" all the way through it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 20, 2005
Before I saw this film, only one movie, Field of Dreams, had ever made me cry. Now there are two.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 8, 2005
A lot of the humor is forced and unfunny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 7, 2005
If Reiser's smart, he'll hire Falk for a new Columbo episode, 'The Case of the Roadkill Movie.'
October 7, 2005
[Falk turns] a stereotyped curmudgeon into a warm and winning character and the only reason to watch.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 6, 2005
Formulaic to the max, it's never as funny nor as insightful as it wants to be.
October 4, 2005
Back when this flick was called "Big Fish," it was a great movie.
Full Review
September 30, 2005
Reiser, a famous face from the long-running TV series Mad About You, here proves himself to be a skilful writer and actor for the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2005
A straight-up case of really bad filmmaking, all mangled punchlines and sitcom setups and all of it too long in the telling.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 30, 2005
Two men of very different generations coming to understand and appreciate each other makes for some fine moments. And that's just the actors.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 30, 2005
Director Raymond De Felitta's clinical visual treatment renders the tone too cold.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 30, 2005
A 'Mad About Gramps' episode that requires Falk to line-dance to Travis Tritt and otherwise demonstrate that old people sure are funny and cute and flatulent.
Read More | Original Score: '1/4'
September 29, 2005
If you've ever wondered what it would feel like to be trapped in a '36 Ford convertible for 47 years with a Yiddish theater version of Dr. Phil and the runaway bride, this is the movie for you.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/4
September 28, 2005
Takes Reiser's good screenplay, adds a veteran actor who nails his performance, and comes up with a perfectly charming comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 4