Game of Thrones: Season 8 Episode 3 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 8 Episode 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Huw Saunders
Cultured Vultures
August 22, 2019

A good episode, but also the distinct underlying worry the show may have climaxed too soon.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Ian Thomas Malone
Ian Thomas Malone
July 23, 2019

The setup ended up being far better than the execution.

Jorge Rivera Rubio
QiiBO
June 5, 2019

Game of Thrones has pushed the limits and raised both the standard of what can be done for the "small" screen.[Full review in Spanish]

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mireia Mullor
Fotogramas
May 19, 2019

A clear point of inflection for Game of Thrones as well as a moment to mourn the fallen. [Full Review in Spanish]

Jamie Broadnax
Black Girl Nerds
May 10, 2019

The haunting score filled with a compelling melancholic rhythm was perfect with the tone of this episode. This episode wrapped up beautifully some of the deceased character's story arcs and now we anticipate what is to come next week.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
May 10, 2019

I'm not going to lie: I did not see that coming. But it was kind of perfect.

James Hunt
What Culture
May 6, 2019

This episode is one hell of an experience. In fact, it's Seven Hells of an experience.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Soham Gadre
Film Inquiry
May 5, 2019

The show spent so much time drumming up the battle with the Dead and the prospect of the end of the world, that everything that comes after will be second fiddle in intensity and importance.

Kevin Fallon
The Daily Beast
May 3, 2019

Fans waited eight years for Sunday night's Battle of Winterfell, and I don't want to speak for everyone but I feel like we all kind of thought we'd be able to see it when it aired.

Ani Bundel
NBC News THINK
May 3, 2019

"The Long Night"...managed to live up to the hype, with a strong final twist - and a few hiccups.

Emma Stefansky
Thrillist
May 3, 2019

here were lots of cool moment, but the end result felt weirdly lacking. That's probably because we're only midway through the final season of a show that has no interest in picking apart a lot of interesting things.

Daniel Krauze
El Financiero
May 3, 2019

There are so many dazzling moments that it's easy to forget how confusing the episode was for long stretches. [Full review in Spanish]

Pat Stacey
The Herald (Ireland)
May 1, 2019

Even a relatively disinterested observer like me can tell this was a feeble anticlimax. Still, it wasn't the climax proper.

Genevieve Burgess
Pajiba
April 30, 2019

This episode was about the battle, and it was an effective battle episode in a lot of ways. I spent the entire episode in a state of high anxiety, not sure what the next turn of the battle would bring.

Sarah Larson
New Yorker
Top Critic
April 30, 2019

It was a bloodbath ending in ice chips, and we emerged feeling good.

Ruben Peralta Rigaud
Cocalecas
April 30, 2019

Without a doubt one of the best television episodes in history. [Full review in Spanish]

Jennifer Lind-Westbrook
Tell-Tale TV
April 30, 2019

[It] is a good mix of the inevitable and the unpredictable.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Luis ResÚndiz
Letras Libres
April 30, 2019

Despite its shortcomings, The Long Night had audiences tense, screaming, and releasing tears. [Full Review in Spanish]

Demetrios Matheou
The Arts Desk
April 30, 2019

This is event TV of a scale and impact that's rarely been seen, except in other episodes of 'Game of Thrones.'

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Mark A. Perigard
Boston Herald
April 29, 2019

Some viewers will be disappointed the body count was so (relatively low). Most of our major players are still in place. But it is just like "Game" to go against expectations.

Page 1 of 6