Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Episode 8 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Episode 8 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
María Garduño
Geeks of Color
August 15, 2018

... as it is not sure what it wants to be (a landing party adventure, build up for the "climax" of the war or an interesting way of presenting subplots) it makes difficult to really become invested in what's going on.

Swapna Krishna
Syfy Wire
July 9, 2018

The intensity didn't let up throughout the episode, and it was a wild ride from beginning to end.

Monique Jones
Slashfilm
March 14, 2018

Saru is an angry being, and I think we as audience members - and the members of the Discovery - fail to remember that to be in constant fear is also to be in constant anger.

DaVette See
Black Girl Nerds
November 13, 2017

We did find out more about who some of these characters are, what they want, and what they are willing to do to get it. At least I think we did.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark Trammell
TV Equals
November 8, 2017

The most recent episode was the first one for me that actually felt sort of like old-school Star Trek. Not that the other episodes were bad or anything, or felt that much out of character with the previous series.

Leon Hurley
SFX Magazine
November 6, 2017

It's a bit of a placeholder episode for Star Trek Discovery this week via a self contained story with no larger ramifications other than to set up the finale. That said, it poses plenty of interesting questions.

Kayti Burt
Den of Geek
November 6, 2017

If this episode proved anything, it's that Discovery is willing to go weird when it comes to its forms of wonder.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrew Lowry
Independent (UK)
Top Critic
November 6, 2017

I keep saying to not sweat the details of this episode, so let's not start now - but let's do consider that in delivering its funniest episode so far, STD also delivered its best. Let's hope the creators take that lesson on board.

Megan Davies
Digital Spy
November 6, 2017

'Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum' may have been a choppy episode, but it has led the series into its mid-season finale on a strong note and set up the scene for an epic confrontation between the Discovery and the Klingons to follow.

Sopan Deb
New York Times
Top Critic
November 6, 2017

The Klingon story moved in ways I didn't expect.

Diana Keng
TV Fanatic
November 6, 2017

The series began with a two-part introduction to the war and Burnham. It seems apt that the first arc of the season ends with a two-parter that brings the war's two enemy flagships and Burnham into direct conflict.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ed Gross
Empire Magazine
November 6, 2017

Star Trek Discovery should not let staff writer Kirsten Beyer go. Cutting her teeth in the final frontier on a series of Voyager novels, her teleplay for Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum is without a doubt Discovery's strongest episode to date.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Mallory Ortberg
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
November 6, 2017

Over the weekend I saw Event Horizon for the very first time (I know!) and it has given me an entirely new way to feel creeped out by Captain Lorca. How did you escape from the Event Horizon, Jason Isaacs?

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Scott Collura
IGN Movies
November 5, 2017

"Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum" is a very nice mix of old and new Star Trek styles, taking the Klingon War arc and all the attendant drama of that situation and grafting on to it a planet-based story that is about as TOS Trek as it gets.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Zack Handlen
AV Club
Top Critic
November 5, 2017

While "Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum" isn't perfect, it continues the show's slow process of discovering itself. Most importantly, it has a certain kind of energy that I associate mostly with the original Trek.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Liz Shannon Miller
indieWire
Top Critic
November 5, 2017

Spending significant time on an alien planet, discovering a new alien species, was quite a welcome change of pace, one that invoked many fond memories of previous Trek series. However, it still had a Discovery feel.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Eric Renner Brown
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
November 5, 2017

While the episode developed the plot in some significant ways, making it likely next week's "Into the Forest I Go" will be a doozy, it wasn't tremendously compelling in its own right.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
George Thomas
Akron Beacon Journal
November 5, 2017

The second to last episode of the fall slate, it's establishing something much larger, how much larger remains to be seen.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5-of-4
Page 1 of 1