The Big Bang Theory: Season 12 Reviews

August 29, 2019
The critical disdain and indifference the show has experienced is its longest, most obsessive running joke, on itself, but also on its detractors. After 12 years, "The Big Bang Theory" gets the final "Bazinga!"
May 21, 2019
I'm going to remember those writing credits, and that little hat tip to the fact that indeed, nobody, not even insanely powerful television showrunners, accomplishes anything alone.
May 20, 2019
The Big Bang Theory says goodbye with an emotional ending to leave fans with a good taste. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 17, 2019
It's the end of an era and I am grateful as a fan to have a finale that provided that emotional value as we bid these characters a final farewell.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 17, 2019
There is no BAZINGA. The moment is sweet, sincere, and lovely. I appreciated the low-key ending of a show that started with a big bang.
May 17, 2019
However big a role pop culture may have played in its stories, the show itself could never have served as a barometer for the rest of pop culture. It's impossible to be a meaningful barometer if the dial only ever reads one thing.
May 17, 2019
A drama-filled episode...
May 17, 2019
It's mostly fizzling out, compared even to the end of HBO's much-less-watched Veep
May 17, 2019
All in all, a sweet, gentle, kind, sentimental and congenial wrap. Exactly what fans would expect.
May 17, 2019
I don't really think the show was about teaching Sheldon Cooper to appreciate friends and to be able to apologize for all of the patience he took advantage of, but if that's how the writers wanted to end construct the finale, I can accept it.
May 17, 2019
I'm not sure if they got the physics exactly right, but The Big Bang Theory somehow ended not with a breakup but an "I love you."
May 17, 2019
The one-hour finish felt satisfying and appropriate, if somewhat low-key, eschewing huge fireworks that which would have likely felt like something of an overreach, to echo what has made the show so popular over the course of its run.
May 17, 2019
The series finale of "The Big Bang Theory" was everything the show did well, and a bit of what it did poorly, wrapped into one hourlong package.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 4, 2019
As The Big Bang Theory enters its final season, and these characters enter new phases of their lives, there are so many possible stories to tell. It just has to stop telling all the same ones.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 4, 2019
It didn't even feel much like season premiere. Instead, it was exactly what showrunner Steve Holland told TV Guide it would be: a solid episode of The Big Bang Theory.
January 4, 2019
[The finale] doesn't create needless drama or focus on characters we don't care about. It zeroes in on the core four (with Howard, Bernadette and Raj as back-up) and gives them the episodic equivalent of a long, warm hug.
September 28, 2018
Nicely played, TBBT writers. That's some Larry David-level petard hoisting right there.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5