The Walking Dead: Season 1, Episode 5 Reviews

Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
June 6, 2018

Shane wants protection from the problem, and that's absolutely understandable, but Rick wants to solve the problem.

Ciara Monya
TV Equals
July 7, 2015

It's still nowhere near great, and the characters aren't half as interesting as the characters on other television shows.

Logan Hill
New York Magazine/Vulture
July 7, 2015

This episode delivers some of the series' best moments yet.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
July 7, 2015

The surface similarities [to Lost] do make me hope that, given more hours to tell its story, The Walking Dead will be able to develop characters to match its already deeply absorbing plot.

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
June 12, 2015

"Wildfire," the fifth episode of AMC's The Walking Dead spends most of its first half doing something that no zombie movie has ever had time for-mourning.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.1/10
Eric Goldman
IGN Movies
June 12, 2015

Still, this was very strong material overall, with Laurie Holden again doing great work.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
June 12, 2015

This episode is the one which is low on zombies, but packed with the human drama which has underpinned the show from the beginning. It is a dramatic and heartfelt episode.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
June 12, 2015

Even more than last week's episode, "Wildfire" has me thinking I might want to stick with The Walking Dead for a good while... And it was two sequences - one near the beginning, and one near the end - that have me firmly on the hook.

Michelle Kung
Wall Street Journal
June 12, 2015

The Walking Dead makes its biggest departure from Robert Kirkman's comic book series yet with tonight's episode, "Wildfire."

Leonard Pierce
AV Club
June 12, 2015

A fair assessment of The Walking Dead's first season may have to wait a while, but "Wildfire" gave me hope that its creators really do know what they're doing.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Dan Snierson
Entertainment Weekly
June 12, 2015

If you're thinking what I'm thinking, we certainly won't be having a calm discussion about this week's episode of The Walking Dead, which proved to be a startling, emotionally rich, game-changing hour of TV.