Navy Seals - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Navy Seals Reviews

Page 1 of 22
January 31, 2016
America's elite (Charlie Sheen and friends) are keeping the world safe from terrorists. Hopefully, these fratboys are not indicative of type of character the real Navy Seals seek. Good for unintended laughs.
½ November 22, 2015
Bad camp and too uninvolving to keep an interest in the proceedings
September 8, 2015
A standard action film.
May 18, 2015
I loved this film and though Charlie Sheen was brilliant.
March 25, 2015
The agenda is just too loud in this blusterbuss of a movie.
October 3, 2014
Starts off okay but just gets really dumb. This movie believes that it's still totally in the 80s, and tries to be Top Gun so hard. But Top Gun, despite it's dumb scenes, had some pretty cool moments, which this film lacks.
June 29, 2014
Underrated action flick, don't get the hate, it's as cheesy as action films of its era can get,
If you expect something deep and meaningful from this film, then you're shit out of luck.
This is a wonderful mix of Top Gun and Delta Force.
½ April 7, 2014
4/6/2013: Just an average 80's type action movie.
Super Reviewer
½ February 18, 2014
This is probably one of the best over the top kick ass gung ho testosterone filled alpha male fests. You want ice cool shade wearing showing off with ridiculously dangerous stunts then this is it. The cast is what really rocks here with a classic list of 80's action stars...Sheen, Biehn, Paxton and Rossovich, can't get much better than that right.

The plot is pretty much one set piece after another with little plot in between which normally would be poor but this film is practically a late entry in the 80's action genre so its easily forgiven. The plot tends to circle around the good guys trying to pick up these missiles before the bad guys (Middle Eastern chaps) can get a hold of em. A few hostage rescues in there too of course...God bless America etc...Its gloriously silly in places clearly leaning more towards a hyped up action man vibe over simulated realism...this film has a high popcorn count, no thinking required.

Well I say that but there is a small amount of semi realism here, these guys aren't totally inflated versions of SEAL's. The film does attempt to bring some real life issues into the fold from time to time, family problems etc...barely touched on but its there. There is of course the obligatory tension between certain members of the team at one point, Biehn being the by the books leader where as Sheen is his typical rebellious self.

Again this also leads to the obligatory death of a fellow team member due to Sheen's reckless actions in the field, its all very predictable and we've seen this type of thing before. Here its cheesed up to the max with Sheen getting out of control and becoming a loose cannon whilst the others must all band together and be even more macho and stoic than ever before. Watch those tanned jawlines clench as they bare the weight of their high profile responsibilities.

Plenty of flashy stunts, many witty one liners and quips and a suitably kick ass finale as the guys run around in war torn Beirut. Its not over the top with blood or profanity which shows you don't need that to be cool (Expendables take note), but it isn't for the younger viewers that's for sure (everything modern take note).

The films gives you exactly what you'd expect with a cast line up like this, pure slick action with extra man nipples. Think of this as the 'Top Gun' of cliched special forces macho porn, but its oh so good at the same time, undiluted awesomeness fuel.
January 20, 2014
This movie wasn't good in 1990 and it's still not good today. Generic action sequences. A horrible 80's esque soundtrack. Weak script.

For me it's a reminder that just because a Blu Ray/DVD purchase is a good deal, does not always mean it's a smart buy.
September 1, 2013
Hasn't aged well :'(
½ August 14, 2013
Big, dumb, cliche-ridden relic of the early '90s. Thoroughly boring. It has not aged well, and it kind of sucked to begin with.
August 14, 2013
michael biehn and charlie sheen thats enough to watch it right there
August 7, 2013
This film was one of those films that my brother and I would hire on VHS on a quarterly basis. Charlie Sheen, Michael Beihn, Bill Paxton...the guy from Major League who had all the crazy voodoo rituals...what more could you have wanted. Many years later, watching it again it's exactly as clichéd as you'd expect, however it contained a lot of stylistic nods to the films of Tony Scott...the score almost ripped straight from Top Gun. Not to mention the weird mid-movie montage sequence taking place with all the lads running riot on a golf course.
July 16, 2013
Pretty un-fucking-believably bad.
½ July 10, 2013
i just threw up. give this movie a body bag.
June 7, 2013
I liked it for how slapstick it was
Super Reviewer
½ May 6, 2013
I've been meaning to watch this for years, had some of the big names of actions films from the 90's and 80's even. It has a very simple plot and to be honest doe's look a bit dated compared to more recent action films, not bad for the time it was made.
May 1, 2013
MY NO:1 FILM OF ALL TIME. Terrific line up :)
½ February 16, 2013
The were some good action scenes, but I can't imagine it holding up at all today.
Page 1 of 22