Grabbers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grabbers Reviews

Page 1 of 14
March 18, 2017
Watched for B movie night and was pleasantly surprised. Great for fans of Shaun of the Dead.
½ February 25, 2017
Somehow the title didn't enthuse me with much hope from this one, probably because of its lack of originality. You can pretty much tell that this is going to be about a beast with tentacles that grabs and kills people - and that's pretty much the whole concept. Set in a remote area of Ireland, the locals suddenly chance upon some random eggs that have been beamed miraculously down from earth in a ball of light. Once they hatch, they produce a ball of wriggling legs attached to a big hole full of teeth. This poor cast off of an alien type creature then 'grabs' its prey by sending out a long tentacle to attach itself to humans, and suck the blood from them, whilst occasionally ripping their body to shreds in the process. The one catch is that it's tee-total, one drop of alcohol and it has an allergic reaction. Therefore the villages response is to get hammered in the local pub - Genius! It's at this point, that any hope of it developing into a credible film is lost. It's kind of like a Simon Pegg and Nick Frost production, but without the comedy (although I think it tried to be funny, but failed). It's classed as a horror, but isn't scary, nor gruesome, with only a few mild references to gore to wet our appetite. The actual setting creates quite a depressive atmosphere, and despite the large p*ss up in the brewery, it never really gets going at all. More like an after hours version of 'Heartbeat' than an action thriller. Can't say this is particularly recommendable, but just like the pop band B*witched proved to us, occasionally we can be sure something credible will always make it out of Ireland - Just not this time ;)
½ February 6, 2017
Meh. I like monsters, but... Meh.
July 12, 2016
Grabbers 2013. This movie is ton of fun 1 pint at a time. Definitely worth watching #Horror #Horrormovies #Horrorcomedy
½ July 3, 2016
Loved it! Plenty of laughs and a slimy, grabby monster. Can't ask for more than that.
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2016
Absolutely the best Creature Feature I have seen in a good long while, complete with maggot garda.
April 1, 2016
Why has nobody heard of this. Now thats a hidden gem. Silly , funny, and tight.
½ March 13, 2016
Fun at times, the monster scenes are quite good too, but it does show itself as a lower-budget production at times too.
½ March 11, 2016
Solid first half that was undone by the mess that was the second half. A great concept destroyed by poor execution.
½ January 10, 2016
Irish community has to stay drunk to survive..it writes itself
January 1, 2016
haha, if you want to watch a scary movie but don't actually like scary movies, you might like this one -- this was a very light hearted horror film. i don't know whether to categorize this as a monster movie or as a comedy; sort of reminds me of "Mars Attacks!" in that way. the monsters are pretty legit, too -- i've seen more "serious" horror flicks use worse depictions... overall, i enjoyed it!
November 8, 2015
Grabbers is a fun Irish horror-comedy with a like-able cast and a cool Lovecraftian monster. It pokes fun at the Irish love of drink by having the monster allergic to alcohol. In order to survive, the townspeople have to get drunk! Full of good British humor and cool monster action, this film is a can't miss for horror fans.
October 29, 2015
Must get drunk to fight a monster. Sounds like fun right? Grabbers is a comedy/sci-fi film with its smart goofy concept with silly humors at its finest and creatures that are really well designed. However, the film could have been much more better if there's more into the story as it doesn't seem to extend its goofy concept to reach its full potential quite yet and the plot just falls short. There are some GORES but don't expect any memorable or over the top bloody kills which is also quite disappointing as the film could have been much more fun if it's bloodier than this. Some jumpy SCARE scenes but beside that, the creatures look quite terrifying, sometimes quite cute with amazing visual effects that you might not expect it to be this good at first. Overall, this is a nice little FUN sci-fi/comedy film that's consistently funny with its goofy concept and impressive creature effects, but still leaves much more room for improvement
½ October 17, 2015
Hilarious, fun, and totally thrilling with lovely production values. Seven shots of Jameson out of ten.
October 6, 2015
grabbers could just be another crappy monster movie but it isn't.. its intelligent and fun. a little gross and very humorous.
September 12, 2015
Like an Irish Tremors. Gorgeous locale and enjoyable spirit, but not quite as fun as it should be.
August 23, 2015
Fun! Recommended to those who like Shawn of the Dead.
August 17, 2015
Rewatch. An excellent premise but it somehow fails to deliver. In saying that, it has a likeable cast and enough gags to carry it over the finish line.
½ June 19, 2015
A pretty terrible movie. Didn't see the monster as much as I would have liked. Plot was not original. Movie didn't make much sense. The main character reminded me of Simon Pegg a little so that's a plus
½ May 31, 2015
A funny monster movie!
Page 1 of 14